We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing & Enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Ranked #19 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
GreenLeadersBronze level
Indooroopilly, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Relaxing & Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

We spent three nights, upon arrival we were greeted by Sam, charming and personable, gave us a room with a pleasant view. To add to this pleasant experience, Alex, the courtesy bus driver was an absolute delight, amiable and affable, she couldn't do enough for us, we really began to get into the holiday mood, thanks to these two staff members.

We did experience a slight mishap, the beds were far too soft and my partner's single bed had seen better days, during the first night he slid off and hit his head on the night table. The manager responded, 'quick smart' when we complained the next day. We were immediately offered a different room, but re packing was a hassle, so we just shared the larger bed and were offered complimentary buffet breakfasts for the next two days.

Outdoor parking is secure, didn't need the car, the courtesy bus runs every hour and lets you off in the town centre where everything is available. Buy your booze at the 'Coundown' (Woolies) supermarket, damn good bargains. Thursday markets are good value, the food stalls offer a good variety, you can take it back to your room and save some bucks, I went downstairs and asked for plates and cutlery, not a problem.

Thank you Holiday Inn

Room Tip: Request a firm bed if you don't want to wake up with back ache.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philwarner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear QuechanAustralia,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. It is great to read that you were well looked after by our friendly staff, and that they helped to put you into the holiday mood. I am disappointed that our beds were too soft for you; that must have been most frustrating for you. The bed is relatively new, having been installed shortly before our rebranding as a Holiday Inn in March 2011. Our Facilities Manager inspected the bed to see whether any fault was apparent, and was unable to find one. Possibly the mattress may not have been flush with the base of the bed (?). I am at a loss to provide any other explanation, and I am pleased you still enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    366
    171
    35
    10
See reviews for
228
365
26
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

Holiday Inn Rotorua is great. We had a room in the upper levels of the hotel, and we had a view on the geiser, which was quite unique.

The room was quite big, and very clean. The bathroom was nice and have everything we wanted. But the best feature of the room was the bed. It felt enormous, and was very very good. If I wanted a new bed at home I would definitely pick this one!

Oh wait, the bed was not the best feature really... The very best part of the hotel was the pool, which was warmed with the warm water springs. That was such a pleasant surprise!

Room Tip: Ask for a room which has a view on the thermal park, you will see the geiser!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear wildelinda,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed the fantastic view from your room, and were able to relax in our thermally heated pool. We receive an abundance of positive feedback about our beds and pillows and it’s good to know you enjoyed them too. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

After a few days traveling i decided to stay at the Holiday Inn for a night which was very pleasant. Whilst i didnt use most of the facilities there, the ones i did use were good.

The superior room was very comfortable and clean. The choice of soft / firm pillows is a great.

The location is good depending on what you want to do (I was there mountain biking and its very close to Redwoods). The Holiday Inn is located at the opposite end of town, if you were to walk into town it would take approx 20-30 mins. However, they do have a free shuttle which operates every hour and drop off and pick up is at the information centre in town. I used this a number of times and found it great, the guys driving the shuttle were also very friendly and helpful.

I used the thermal pools one evening which was very pleasant! Nice and warm.

I did order room service for lunch which came in a timely manner, however when i put the tray outside my room it wasnt removed until the next day.

Rotorua does have a slight odour (which i have noticed some people have commented on in the hotel), my room did not smell, the hotel in parts at times had a slight odour but it was not strong nor was it all the time. If you are going to travel to Rotorua understand and accept there is a smell to it, its not everywhere, but there are places where it is stronger than other places.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear LCC20,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. I agree with you that we are in a good location for Mountain Biking in the Redwoods, and I am pleased you were able to take advantage of the local trails while you were here. It was disappointing to see the length of time it took for your room service tray to be removed; that was definitely a shortfall on our expected standards of service and I apologise for the inconvenience caused. Thank you again for providing your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

This hotel is on the outskirts of town which has some pros and cons. A con would be that you cannot just walk out the door and be in the thick of things. Some pre-planning on your part is a must. The hotel offers free shuttle rides to the center of town which is nice but of course you have to work around the shuttle schedule. We were given a ride within 10 minutes every time we requested the shuttle and were picked up with 10 minutes of calling from town. I'm not sure if that's how it always is or was it because it was low tourist season. The Pro to this being away from town is that it was quiet. Our room faced a street through a residential area but we were never disturbed by traffic noise. The only noise we heard was the fireworks EVERY night around 8:30pm - 10pm. Seems that's normal around November time frame. Another con is there's no dining choices since there aren't any restaurants within walking distance. So we opted to eat at the hotel both nights. The first night we had their (over-priced) buffet. I noticed this brings in the locals as well as hotel guests. The second night we just ordered off the menu. The meal was fine but it was a much slower night then Buffet Night so our wait to be served even a glass of water was LONG. A Pro for the hotel being in this location is you're within walking distance to the Redwood Forest. Its free to both park and explore this forest. The trails are very well marked and there are trails that'll fit all levels and time constraints. My daughter and I absolutely loved walking around here. There are thermal pools directly behind the hotel. Our room didn't smell of sulpher (aka rotten eggs) but the hallways did. I'll let you decide if that's a pro or con.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Dear AndreaV,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed our quiet location close to the Geothermal Reserve and Redwood Forest, and were able to experience some of our local walks with your daughter. Our Hotel courtesy shuttle operates on the hour into town and return, subject to demand; so most likely your request was made close to these times leaving a minimal waiting period. Our buffet is competitively priced compared to other eateries in our region, which is one of the reasons that make it a popular choice for locals and hotel guests alike. It was disappointing to see that you received slow a la carte service during your second evening in the restaurant; that must have been very frustrating for you and I apologise for the inconvenience caused. Thank you again for taking the time to place feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

I had a great stay at the Holiday Inn Rotorua. First the highlights. Our room had a fantastic view of the smokey sulfur pits. Was definitely a unique view.

Bed was very comfortable and I slept really well. Staff always attempted to help whenever possible and the gift shop staff member was particularly friendly. Also there was always someone available to answer questions.

It was in a great location and all the great activities was very easy to get to from there.

The buffet breakfast was delicious and there were lots of choices. I liked the look of the swimming pool as well which is heated from the sulfur pits but I didn't have time to try. There is just so much to do in Rotorua.

There were only a few minor things that could have made the stay even better. I would have loved a power point by the bedside. These days I would think most people would like to plug in their phones/computers and be able to use them while on the bed. Not have to plug them in at the desk. Also I know most hotels don't have it but free wifi in the rooms even if it was only the 30mins of free wifi that you get in the lobby would have been excellent.

However these are only minor issues and if I get a chance to come back to Rotorua I will be sure to look at staying at the Holiday Inn again.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a view of the Sulfur park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear bethybobs,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. It is very good to know you had a great stay here with us, and enjoyed the fantastic view from your room. I am not surprised that you didn’t have time to try our thermally heated pools; like you say, there is so much to do in Rotorua. Hopefully you will get to relax in them the next time you come to stay. Thank you for your suggestions on how we could improve our guest room amenities, and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

We got a Stay & Luge Family Deal from Tourism Rotorua i-SITE in March 2012. The deal came with 2-nights saty in Holiday Inn Rotorua and a Skyline Family Pass for 2 adults and 2 children.
We had a very pleasant stay in this hotel. The Superior Room came with 2 queen size beds, which is perfect for our family of 4. Our room overlooked the neighbouring Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve, where there were a lot of steam from the geyser.
We had a wonderful time relaxing at the heated outdoor swimming pool and the spa pool during our stay. The deal also included breakfast, which has a good variety of food. Our children really enjoyed the breakfast.
There was a Pohutu Cultural Theatre in this hotel, which offered Maori Cultural Show with feast. Again, we took up a hot deal from Tourism Rotorua, which gave us the tickets to the cultural show at the same price of the hotel's list price, plus a free visit to Paradise Valley Spring for family of four.
We found it was value for money where we enjoyed both cultural show and the visit to Paradise Valley Spring under the Tourism Rotorua's hot deal. However, for that price we felt it would be a bit on the high side if it was for the cultural show alone.
The location of this hotel is a bit out of town, so it is better to have own transport.
We would recommand this hotel to those travel with family. The hotel room is very clean and spacious, and the breakfast is nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkokeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear tkokeng,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. It sounds like you and your family had a real fun filled time during your stay with us. I am pleased you were able to enjoy all of our facilities, and also experience some of our popular local attractions. Thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Average Hotel all round. Busy buffet restaurant at night and popular with the locals. Check if there is a birthday celebration on before booking or you may get run over in the rush for food. Breakfast has good choice of food but not cheap. Staff can be a bit intimidating at front desks but restaurant wait staff great. Located by Whakarewarewa and Te Puia at south end of town so need transport to CBD There is a shuttle available. Nice pool area but can be busy in the evening with tour groups.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear Chris H,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you sharing your experience and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotorua

Property: Holiday Inn Rotorua
Address: 10 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rotorua
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Rotorua is a modern hotel overlooking the Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve and Historical Village. It features: • A free to use heated swimming pool and health club. • Free parking. • Kids Eat and Stay Free. (Up to 2 children under 12.) • Free Wifi for IHG Rewards Club Members. The air-conditioned rooms of Holiday Inn Rotorua offer a modern design and cable TV with free movies and 2 children's channels. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided. The award winning Chapman’s Restaurant and Bar offers an a la carte menu, and buffet, and serves contemporary New Zealand cuisine, matched with a fine wine selection. Room service is available 24/7. The Rotorua Holiday Inn is situated close to all the city's attractions and offers free shuttle pickup from the Rotorua Tourism Information Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing