We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Ranked #18 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night as we had a meeting in one of the big halls, we had a nice room, comfy bed, halls were a bit old fashioned, but nice. The pool and spa's were excellent, however one of the jacusi switches didn't work, the games room had only 5 machines which were ALL out of order. But when I asked the staff to give my money back from a broken machine, they did so without hesitating. Hotel was nice, had nice bar, but a bit far out of town. Would stay for up to 5 nights.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JaffaBoyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Sam G,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua, it is good to know you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor, and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    367
    171
    35
    10
See reviews for
229
366
26
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

We were after an upmarket (but not too pricey) hotel with an outdoor pool to escape the summer heat, had to have a comfortable bed and decent shower. The Holiday Inn Rotorua delivered on all counts. What a pleasant surprise. We drove down to Rotorua with this hotel in mind, after doing our research, found a good rate with breakfast included (if you book directly with the hotel). We were unable to make a phone booking without our credit card being charged, so we took the chance and just drove down. On arrival asked to see a standard room and a superior room, were shown a superior room in the Whaka wing with a view of the geothermal area and bush/trees. They didn't have a standard room available for one of the nights we wanted, so were not shown a standard room. That was ok; as soon as we saw the "superior" room we were sold.

So the following review applies to the superior room in the Whaka wing - we had 2 ultra-comfy beds with excellent hotel quality linen, soft and firm pillow types (they each had a sash around them with a tag that said "FIRM" or "SOFT". The mattresses had a feather/down topper, so you are lying on a bed of feathers, then the layers of sheets on top containing the duvet inner. I love this because you can be assured that all your bedding is freshly clean. (unlike a bedspread in a motel that is probably not washed between guests).

The bathroom was spacious, and contained a bath with overhead shower, water pressure was good. The rest of the room was very modern, either it is a fairly new wing of the hotel, or else been refurbished (not sure). Only a small amount of wear and tear in the bathroom, and a shower curtain over the bath, not glass. We didn't see the rooms in the other parts of the hotel, so cannot compare to any other room types.

The outdoor pool was quite big and was really nice, it's heated so it's never cold, there were also 2 spa pools, a handful of sunloungers and a seating area with tables and chairs around the pool. If your room is near the pool, expect a bit of noise from guests till around 10pm.

Things the hotel can improve on:

- Our room did NOT have an in-room safe. A safe is available at reception, but what a hassle to have to bring keys/watch/cash to reception every time you wanted to use the pool, or go out.

- We were disturbed 3 times by someone entering our room uninvited:

First a cleaner came in AFTER our room had already been serviced, upon seeing we were in they quickly left. The hotel managment must really trust their cleaning staff seeing they don't provide in room safes.

Secondly, we had newly arrived guests enter our room on day 2 with a swipe card, they had mistakenly been assigned our room when we were still there for another night! Hotel reception staff dealt with this professionally, we were offered a bottle of wine and an apology.

Thirdly, on the last day, a man knocked on the door and tried to enter.... we had secured the door with the door chain by this time, after the previous disturbances. He did not wait for a response, which I thought was rude, he wanted to check some kind of security light at the entrance. Management please train these servicemen to wait for a response to their knock before trying to open the door. I had just come out of the bath.

A note to management: please install in room safes. I have stayed at worse hotels and always had a safe in the room. If something valuable goes missing... who can be held accountable?

About the restaurant - the buffet breakfast was fairly standard, but no tomatoes or mushrooms - they did have chocolate milk for the kids. The tea/coffee machines, one of them broke down so we could not have our cup of tea on day 2. The other machine only dispensed coffee and hot chocolate. We'd had hot chocolate from the machine the day before but it was very dilute and weak, not really drinkable, and also way too sweet.

The buffet dinner was average, coming from a big city we have been to better buffets back home. Did not have a lot of salads to choose from but did have sashimi which we love. The dessert selection was good.

All in all, if you stay here you will NOT be disappointed with the room, providing you choose a "superior" room overlooking the geothermal park. Cannot speak for the standard room types, or any of the rooms in the main part of the hotel. If in doubt, ask. The Whaka wing where we stayed is separate from the taller, main part of this hotel.

There are supermarkets within a 4 min drive from the hotel, and a new shopping mall with the standard Nz department stores. Unless you were part of a tour group, you wouldn't come to Rotorua without a car, so distance to the lake front is not really an issue, it's a quick and easy drive. I also don't understand why people moan about internet costs at hotels. We used our iPhone the entire stay to check email, and so on. Get a local (Nz) SIM card if you are a tourist, and get internet this way on your smartphone. I do the same when I go to Australia and never need to use the hotel internet.

Room Tip: A superior room in the Whaka wing, ask for a view of the geothermal area. I don't think the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AklTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear AklTraveler,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed the superior room overlooking the geothermal reserve and the ‘ultra-comfy’ bedding. Thank you for your suggestions; we have taken your comments on board and will be considering how we can improve these moving forward. Again, thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua the next time you come to stay.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

We loved this hotel. The location is great for the thermal areas and close to the bike tracks, but too far from town to walk. This made no difference to us as we had a car. The staff are very accommodating and friendly, they really value their customers it seems to me. The premium room had two very very comfortable beds an the whole place was perfectly clean.

Perfect for a trip to Rotorua. Back again with the kids next time!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayaker_auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear kayaker_auckland

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to complete feedback on TripAdvisor. Feedback such as you have provided allows us to monitor our performance from our customer’s perspective, highlighting if we are keeping our focus in the right areas.

I was really pleased to read that you “loved” the Holiday Inn Rotorua and that you found the hotels location great for easy access to the Redwood forest for mountain biking. Also really pleasing to see that you found our team to be very accommodating and friendly, we do have a strong customer focus and I’m glad that this showed through for you. All hotels beds have been replaced recently, we understand the need for a restful sleep in a comfortable, quiet and clean room.

Again thank you for taking the time to share your experience.



Kindest Regards

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, Northumberland, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

The hotel stays close to the Holiday Brand. It delivered what is expected from a mid range hotel that caters for both the tourist and business trade. The room was a good size but the bathroom was on the small size but adequate.
In general the décor was looking slightly tired and could do with a re-vamp. Nevertheless it is clean, the staff are efficient and it is still worthwhile considering as a place to stay in Rotorua.
The location is at the southern end of Rotorua close to the thermal parks. Indeed two parks are within walking distance. Conversely this puts it at the opposite end of town from the central area of restaurants etc. There is a courtesy coach available but we did not use it as we had our own transport and I am not sure whether there is a charge for using it.
The real disappointment was the breakfast, where I felt there could have been more variation. There were no mushrooms or tomatoes available on view and on the first morning spaghetti in tomato sauce was offered in place of baked beans.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikewhillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Mikewhillis

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to complete feedback on TripAdvisor.

It was pleasing to read that you found Holiday Inn Rotorua stays close to the Holiday Inn Brand promise and delivers what is expected in a hotel with a diverse customer mix such as we have. I do apologise that you didn’t find breakfast to be varied enough; along with a full cold buffet selection including cereals, fresh fruit, cheese, yoghurt, fruit juices etc, we do offer a minimum of at least 6 different hot dishes daily including; sausages (2 x varieties), bacon (2 x varieties), hash browns, pancakes, scrambled eggs (eggs can also be cooked to order), savoury mince and a chef’s choice, which alternates daily. We do also offer an a la carte breakfast option, which allows you to order what you want including tomatoes, mushrooms and baked beans. I’m sorry that my team didn’t communicate this option to you.

Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on-line.



Kindest Regards

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights with family, rooms are good - routine Holiday Inn quality but nothing exceptional. Customer service was poor. no good views of geothermal park, Next visit I am staying in a smaller warmer hotel NZ is famous for.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VM2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear VM2001

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to complete feedback on TripAdvisor.

It was pleasing to read that found that we maintained our Brand Standards; However I would like to offer my apologies for the poor customer service you experience, we pride ourselves on providing a good level of customer service and I am disappointed that we didn’t give you that positive experience when you stayed with us. A large number of our rooms have geothermal views, however without knowing the room type that you booked and the room you were actually allocated I can’t give an exact reason why you didn’t get a geothermal view. If you booked this room type it should be what you receive, I’m happy for you to contact me personally to investigate whether you stayed in a room type reserved or whether we didn’t allocate what was booked. gm@holidayinnrotorua.co.nz

Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience and I apologise that we didn’t meet your expectations.



Kindest Regards

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Ok so the hotel is a little old, but all areas are clean and comfortable. Our room had 2 queen beds, with a choice of pillows, bed linen was clean and fresh. The room was on the first floor overlooking the geyser, the smell from the thermals is there, but not as bad as expected from reading other reviews in fact we hardly noticed it. Plenty of parking at the hotel and also in the surrounding areas. Good selection of food offered for breakfast and evening buffet and our son particularly enjoyed the ice cream and deserts. The hotel is a little out of the centre, but is situated next to the thermal village which is well worth a visit. A good time had by all the family.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaH219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Dear JoannaH219

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to complete feedback on TripAdvisor. As our service is our benchmark, it is only through feedback such as you have provided that we are able to monitor ourselves to see if we are keeping on track.

It was interesting to read that you found the hotel a little odd, I’m unsure in what way? – but I’m pleased that you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. It was also good to read that you enjoyed Chapman’s Restaurant for both breakfast and dinner, it’s true the desserts are a favourite with all children, particularly the make your own ice cream selection. I was pleased to read that overall your family had a good time at Holiday Inn Rotorua.

It is most satisfying receiving positive feedback such as your own. We look forward to hopefully being able to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Rotorua in the future.



Kindest Regards

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in a standard room. The room had a single bed and a double bed. It seemed like an odd arrangement, but the beds were comfortable and linens soft so no complaints about the beds. The room was compact, but had a large bench for our luggage so we could move about easily. The bathroom is a standard size and the toiletries were surprisingly good, but there was quite a bit of mildew where the tub and tiles meet. I found the room to be rather humid so I'm not surprised there is mildew in the tub.

Wifi is expensive but the hotel offers 30 minutes of free access per day in the lobby. There is not much around the hotel in terms of dining but this can be accessed with a short drive.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladylolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Dear ladylolo

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to complete feedback on TripAdvisor. Feedback such as you have provided allows us to monitor our performance from our customer’s perspective, highlighting if we are keeping our focus in the right areas.

I was really pleased that although you found the bed arrangement odd, overall you enjoyed your room and in-particular our comfortable beds. It is hard to know which room your were in to investigate the comment around mildew, having said that our facilities team are looking into all bathrooms, in the room type you mention, to rectify what you found.

Again thank you for taking the time to share your experience.



Kindest Regards

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#15 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotorua

Property: Holiday Inn Rotorua
Address: 10 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Rotorua is a modern hotel overlooking the Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve and Historical Village. It features: • A free to use heated swimming pool and health club. • Free parking. • Kids Eat and Stay Free. (Up to 2 children under 12.) • Free Wifi for IHG Rewards Club Members. The air-conditioned rooms of Holiday Inn Rotorua offer a modern design and cable TV with free movies and 2 children's channels. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided. The award winning Chapman’s Restaurant and Bar offers an a la carte menu, and buffet, and serves contemporary New Zealand cuisine, matched with a fine wine selection. Room service is available 24/7. The Rotorua Holiday Inn is situated close to all the city's attractions and offers free shuttle pickup from the Rotorua Tourism Information Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, IHG, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing