We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (1,095)
Filter reviews
1,095 results
Traveller rating
327
504
207
42
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
504
207
42
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thermal village shuttle bus te puia whakarewarewa maori living maori village room service buffet dinner thermal reserve geothermal area free wifi sulphur smell heated pool hot springs hotel restaurant stayed here for nights town centre minute drive
Filter
Updating list...
891 - 896 of 1,095 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Stayed here in late December 2012 for just one night and enjoyed the hot pool with the family. Very good place and location. Try to get the Skyline combo price, works out quite well. Breakfast was also good.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobeTrotDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Dear Globe TrotDad,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua, it is good to know you enjoyed your stay and made the most of the hot pool. I am pleased the Skyline Combo worked for you; that really is a good deal, particularly for those staying with children. Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated on the edge of the city next the Maori thermal village. There's eggy smell everywhere here and several steam holes within a few feet of the hotel which makes for a dramatic backdrop.
The place with the strongest egg smell in Rotorua is in the corridor outside room 608 in this hotel. However the air con inside mitigates this.
Lavinia the breakfast manager is worth a mention for her excellent service.
There were a lot of Japanese staying and it's worth looking at their table manners to thank heaven they didn't win the war.

Date of stay: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaF140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Dear Linda F,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. It is good to know you received excellent service and I have passed Lavinia’s name on to our Human Resources Coordinator to ensure that she is appropriately recognised. Again, thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua the next time you travel our way.


Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

Situated more or less at the end of Fenton street so about 2.5 k from the centre of Rotorua. It is close to a Maori village and geyser...they all have funny names.
Our room was spacious with fridge, no kitchen. It might have been a disabled room as the shower was wet room concept and it certainly made the room VERY wet when using it no matter how careful. Looking out of our ground floor window you could see steam belching out of the ground just the other side of the fence, very weird. However, the smell in the corridor was absolutely overpowering sulphur. Luckily little of this seemed to enter the room.
Breakfast buffet was quite good and the star of the show was Lavinia the breakfast buffet manager. Always exceptionally polite and efficient. Thank you.
Drinks in the bar were quite expensive with cocktails nz $15 and took quite a while to prepare but were very good.
So overall a good stay but not so good if you want to amble to a restaurant. With lots of Japanese staying it can also be a din and you hardly know if they are having a row or pleased to see one another. Best not to observe too closely their esting habits either!

Date of stay: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProblemPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear ProblemPage,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua, it is good to know you enjoyed a good stay overall. Thank you for mentioning Lavinia as the star of the show, I will ensure your feedback is shared with her, and that she is appropriately recognised for her exceptional service. It is good to be appreciated, and we appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Travel safely and we will look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed here for 1 night as we had a meeting in one of the big halls, we had a nice room, comfy bed, halls were a bit old fashioned, but nice. The pool and spa's were excellent, however one of the jacusi switches didn't work, the games room had only 5 machines which were ALL out of order. But when I asked the staff to give my money back from a broken machine, they did so without hesitating. Hotel was nice, had nice bar, but a bit far out of town. Would stay for up to 5 nights.

Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank SammyTheGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Dear Sam G,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua, it is good to know you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor, and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We were after an upmarket (but not too pricey) hotel with an outdoor pool to escape the summer heat, had to have a comfortable bed and decent shower. The Holiday Inn Rotorua delivered on all counts. What a pleasant surprise. We drove down to Rotorua with this hotel in mind, after doing our research, found a good rate with breakfast included (if you book directly with the hotel). We were unable to make a phone booking without our credit card being charged, so we took the chance and just drove down. On arrival asked to see a standard room and a superior room, were shown a superior room in the Whaka wing with a view of the geothermal area and bush/trees. They didn't have a standard room available for one of the nights we wanted, so were not shown a standard room. That was ok; as soon as we saw the "superior" room we were sold.

So the following review applies to the superior room in the Whaka wing - we had 2 ultra-comfy beds with excellent hotel quality linen, soft and firm pillow types (they each had a sash around them with a tag that said "FIRM" or "SOFT". The mattresses had a feather/down topper, so you are lying on a bed of feathers, then the layers of sheets on top containing the duvet inner. I love this because you can be assured that all your bedding is freshly clean. (unlike a bedspread in a motel that is probably not washed between guests).

The bathroom was spacious, and contained a bath with overhead shower, water pressure was good. The rest of the room was very modern, either it is a fairly new wing of the hotel, or else been refurbished (not sure). Only a small amount of wear and tear in the bathroom, and a shower curtain over the bath, not glass. We didn't see the rooms in the other parts of the hotel, so cannot compare to any other room types.

The outdoor pool was quite big and was really nice, it's heated so it's never cold, there were also 2 spa pools, a handful of sunloungers and a seating area with tables and chairs around the pool. If your room is near the pool, expect a bit of noise from guests till around 10pm.

Things the hotel can improve on:

- Our room did NOT have an in-room safe. A safe is available at reception, but what a hassle to have to bring keys/watch/cash to reception every time you wanted to use the pool, or go out.

- We were disturbed 3 times by someone entering our room uninvited:

First a cleaner came in AFTER our room had already been serviced, upon seeing we were in they quickly left. The hotel managment must really trust their cleaning staff seeing they don't provide in room safes.

Secondly, we had newly arrived guests enter our room on day 2 with a swipe card, they had mistakenly been assigned our room when we were still there for another night! Hotel reception staff dealt with this professionally, we were offered a bottle of wine and an apology.

Thirdly, on the last day, a man knocked on the door and tried to enter.... we had secured the door with the door chain by this time, after the previous disturbances. He did not wait for a response, which I thought was rude, he wanted to check some kind of security light at the entrance. Management please train these servicemen to wait for a response to their knock before trying to open the door. I had just come out of the bath.

A note to management: please install in room safes. I have stayed at worse hotels and always had a safe in the room. If something valuable goes missing... who can be held accountable?

About the restaurant - the buffet breakfast was fairly standard, but no tomatoes or mushrooms - they did have chocolate milk for the kids. The tea/coffee machines, one of them broke down so we could not have our cup of tea on day 2. The other machine only dispensed coffee and hot chocolate. We'd had hot chocolate from the machine the day before but it was very dilute and weak, not really drinkable, and also way too sweet.

The buffet dinner was average, coming from a big city we have been to better buffets back home. Did not have a lot of salads to choose from but did have sashimi which we love. The dessert selection was good.

All in all, if you stay here you will NOT be disappointed with the room, providing you choose a "superior" room overlooking the geothermal park. Cannot speak for the standard room types, or any of the rooms in the main part of the hotel. If in doubt, ask. The Whaka wing where we stayed is separate from the taller, main part of this hotel.

There are supermarkets within a 4 min drive from the hotel, and a new shopping mall with the standard Nz department stores. Unless you were part of a tour group, you wouldn't come to Rotorua without a car, so distance to the lake front is not really an issue, it's a quick and easy drive. I also don't understand why people moan about internet costs at hotels. We used our iPhone the entire stay to check email, and so on. Get a local (Nz) SIM card if you are a tourist, and get internet this way on your smartphone. I do the same when I go to Australia and never need to use the hotel internet.

Room tip: A superior room in the Whaka wing, ask for a view of the geothermal area. I don't think the view costs more at this hotel. Ask for one towards the end of the corridor, away from the pool which can get noisy in the evenings.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AklTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Dear AklTraveler,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed the superior room overlooking the geothermal reserve and the ‘ultra-comfy’ bedding. Thank you for your suggestions; we have taken your comments on board and will be considering how we can improve these moving forward. Again, thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua the next time you come to stay.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews