We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,076)
Filter reviews
1,076 results
Traveller rating
323
491
205
42
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
491
205
42
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thermal village shuttle bus te puia whakarewarewa maori living maori village room service thermal reserve geothermal area buffet dinner free wifi sulphur smell heated pool hot springs comfortable hotel hotel restaurant stayed here for nights town centre
Filter
Updating list...
869 - 874 of 1,076 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the Holiday Inn Rotorua as part of a group. Our room was on the small side as was the bathroom but perfectly adequate for our needs. The beds and pillows were exceptionally comfortable which made for a good night's sleep. The buffet breakfast was tasty and there was a wide variety of food options. What really made this hotel stand out for me was the friendliness of the staff from the cleaning staff to the front desk. Everyone was welcoming and happy to help in any way. I have no hesitation in recommending a stay here...it may be 3kms from the centre but there is always a shuttle on hand to drop you off and pick you up as well. It actually only took us 30 minutes to walk back one night anyway.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyT117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Dear Penny T117,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and slept well while you were here. Thank you for mentioning our friendly and welcoming staff; I will enjoy sharing your feedback with them, and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Spent two nights here Feb 2013. Been a while since here last and if I remember rightly it was a Crwne Plaza back then. Rebranded as a Holiday Inn has been successful in my opinion. The Hotel staff are very friendly and efficient. The Reataurant isa ver popular - the Friday night buffet we went to was just lovely. Great choice of food - well attended by staff considering how busy it was, and food was always replenished in a timely fashion.
We stayed in their toer blovk - only 5 storeys but we had an executive suite front and centre with views out to Lake Rotorua and the hills to the left of it. The suite was very comfortable and has separate bedroom. Bed was comfy as were the pillow choices.
The room was nicely kept, clean with modern flatscreenTVs and dvd player as standard. Loved the fact they continued the tradition of the free slip-on slippers that many hotels have abandoned.
Another plus is the free self parking in the hotel grounds. Not undercover, but most cars were rentals anyway. Street parking available as overflow.
The hotel backs onto the entrance to Whakarewarewa Maori Villiage and Thermal area. A must see for all tourists and right on your doorstep. Literally 2-3 minutes walk away. Hotel is well serviced by tour buses and tour companies.
My only dislikes were the continued rip-off we see in most IHG hotels in Oceania - no free internet or wireless. Even wireless access in rooms and lobby and computers set up in lobby were all "pay to use". C'mon IHG - if MacDonlads can give free wireless while you eat your burger, surely wireless for a room costing hundreds per night is not too much to ask.
Also, I wanted assistance from a Concierge one morning. I waited at the "rostrum" I assumed was there for that purpose, yet no one ever came to help. Reception was flat out with checkouts, so I did not interupt them and in the end I gave up and sorted things myself - over the internet at MacDonalds.
Hotel is not right in the city - it is set back a couple of Klms, bit if you have a car or are doig tours, no problem - and Whakarewarewa is just right there. Also a very good souvenir and NZcrafts shop across the road. There is also a small souvenir shop in the lobby area, which is quite reasonable and very convenient.
Will I go back - yes.Overall a very pleasant and enjoyable experience. Rotorua has a lot to see and do.

Room tip: Go for floors 4 or 5 in tower, recommend the executive suites. Lower floors are the ones the tour bus groups get from what I could determine.
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Good_onya_Mate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Dear Good_onya_Mate,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the views from the Executive Suite.
Thank you for mentioning our popular Restaurant; it is good to know you found a great choice of food and were well looked after by our friendly staff. Morning check-out can be a very busy time and I thank you for being so patient. I can appreciate why you didn’t approach Reception for help and I am sorry no one was available to be of service to you at the rostrum. Our Front Office Reception staff are well versed in local services and attractions and are more than happy to provide assistance when needed.
Thank you for your Wi Fi comments. We are continually investigating ways of improving our Wi Fi service and presently offer complimentary Wi Fi access in our Hotel Lobby area only, (where Wi Fi is for 30 MB or 30 minutes, whichever is used first). The rates we charge for usage outside of the free Wi Fi, is in line with other hotels in this destination who are also charged by the local internet providers. From our experience, it is common practice in Hotels across Australasia for Wi Fi to be charged for – this has certainly been the case when we have stayed in other hotels across the Tasman. Going forward our charges may well change; for the moment though, our Wi Fi service remains as is, in line with IHG policy.
Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.
Kindest regards,
Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed there for 1 night during our Honeymoon roadtrip. We passed from Rotorua as gateway heading from Auckland to Wellington, in order to see the hot springs.
The hotel is outside the center with many parking spaces. The lobby is average but the rooms are renovated. From our room we had a view to a geothermal spring. We didn't try any other hotel facility, but we noticed that there was a swimming pool.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dleliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear dleliot,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This Hotel is what every hotel should aspire to be. We were met with wet towels and bottles of water. The staff treated us like we were their long lost family. I loved this hotel. The restaurant service and food was exceptional. Everything about this place is fantastic. We felt very welcome.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wren5758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear Wren5758,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. It sounds like you were very much at home at our hotel and it is good to know you really enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your high praises; I look forward to sharing your comments with our Team and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We enjoy Platinum Elite status and we took two reward nights here in late January 2013.

We were received and welcomed and given a second floor double bedded room facing the Thermal complex. The room had TWO armchairs and a large picture window + air conditioning that worked quietly The room facilities were spotless ( and maintained that way in spite of us !!!) We slept well and enjoyed spectacular views of the thermal area outside.

We ate Dinner both evenings from the 'Buffet' menu and enjoyed all the seafood variety offered. Staff were attentive and friendly throughout.. We heard from others that the 'a la carte' was also enjoyable.
A feature of this Hotel is that several (perhaps many) of the staff were employees with a number of years service -- and they were good! It would account for the quiet way in which this hotel efficiently 'ticked along' unobtrusively ! There is a 'safe' pool outside for Junior to swim in safely and it was maintained at about 35C and there were hot-tubs as well. Of course WE forgot to pack our swim-wear !!!!!

We have stayed in some of the best Hotels in Europe (at great expense!),-- but this Hotel is the equal of the best and better than some where we have stayed and regretted our choice We recommend this hotel for any kind of visitors: -- week-end away; longer holidays; and especially tourists;) as there is plenty to do in the Rotorua environs

Room tip: Do pay the extra for a second floor new wing room facing Thermal area. Worth it !!
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotelinspector72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Dear HotelInspector72,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed the spectacular thermal views from your room in our Whaka Wing, and rate us as equal of the best and better than some of the hotels you have stayed at. It is a shame you forgot your swimwear as I am sure you would have liked our pool & spa too! Thank you for mentioning our attentive and friendly staff, they really appreciate the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you come to stay (remember your swimmers!).

Kindest regards,
Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews