We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
GreenLeadersBronze level
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel”
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

This is a comfortable standard hotel. Bathrooms are a little small and dated. Breakfast is nothing special. Good venue for a conference. Gym and pool facilities are good. Staff are vey helpful and friendly. TIP: If you do stay here on business ask for the breakfast and Internet upgrade its a good deal to include breakfast and 12 hours Internet.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrivey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Scrivey,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. It is good to know you enjoyed the breakfast and internet upgrades and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,

Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    380
    175
    35
    12
See reviews for
236
376
28
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stayed in this hotel during the week for approximately 5 months. On every occasion I was welcomed warmly. The rooms were always clean and well presented. Everything always worked well and the services were as advertised. There was a fridge in every room with tea and coffee facilities. The restaurant (Chapmans) was great and the buffet excellent. Most times I used Room service as I am not a fan of eating in a restaurant on my own. The Room Service menu was fine and the prices ok. In general I enjoyed staying in the Hotel and it made being away from home each week bearable.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandFlyingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear AucklandFlyingKiwi,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. It is good to know you have consistently received a warm welcome and a clean, well presented, perfectly functional room each time you have stayed over the last 5 months. It is also good to know that our Hotel makes being away from home each week bearable – that is most rewarding feedback, thank you. We appreciate you sharing your experience, and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you come to stay.

Kind regards,

Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed in this hotel under its different names over 20+ years and found it to be a well appointed and good service establishment. In all those years we did not have one issue to raise with staff or management. On our first we were up graded to the suite and that began our pleasant experience.

Room Tip: City side view or Whaka view, hard to choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Gavin C,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. To read that you have been staying at this hotel for over twenty years without issue is fantastic! I am pleased that your stays continue to be a pleasant experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back over the next twenty years!

Kind regards,

Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warkworth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

we have just had another weekend at this top location, the room we had this time was in the newer built part overlooking the pool and thermal area. the rooms are large with two big comfortable beds,spotless bathrooms and top rate service from all the staff that take time to explain every part of the hotel.breakfast in the dining room was layed out so that your choice of cooked or continental was made easy. we where with a group that played golf on saturday at arikikapapapa [rotorua golf club] over the road from the hotel then came back to the hotel for a dinner in the kauri room that was nothing short of fantastic.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the newer part as it is low rise although nothing wrong with the older part
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albanybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear albanybloke,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. It is good to know you really enjoyed your weekend here and I am pleased you appreciated the features of the rooms in the newer wing of the Hotel. Thanks again for sharing your feedback. We appreciate your views and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

For the chain, this Holiday Inn is probably slightly better than the others I've stayed at: clean, spacious, next door to the town's main attraction (the Te Puia geysers), and very reasonably priced. It's not close to the center, which is about 5-10 minutes' drive. There seems to be plenty of fun things to do in Rotorua, but we were only there for a night to see Te Puia, so if you're going to Rotorua for more than just the geyser, you're probably better off closer to the center.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edmarchnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear edmarchHK,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you found our Hotel to be reasonably priced and among the better of the Holiday Inns you have experienced. There are certainly plenty of fun things to do in Rotorua, and we hope you will return one day to experience more of them. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back then!

Kind regards,

Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This is by far one of the best Holiday Inns I have ever stayed at. I think it really ranks with Crowne Plaza. The hotel is great value with large very clean rooms, friendly staff, good dining with and free car parking. I would definately stay here again

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the thermal springs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swannie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Swannie47,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. It is good to know you rate us one of the best Holiday Inns you have ever stayed at. I am pleased you found great value here with our large clean rooms and friendly staff, and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,

Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Only stayed 1 night, 2 adults and 2 children in 1 spacious room, stunning view of thermal area from our window. Very pleasant staff, helpful with directions and things to do. Offered 2 for the price of 1 drinks vouchers. Children eat free with adults, which is a special bonus especially when 1 only eats a slice of bacon! We would have likedto stay longer and would certainly choose this well priced hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the thermal activity
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Gerry H,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. It sounds like you experienced good value for money during your recent stay with us, and I am pleased you enjoyed the stunning view from your room, and the helpfulness of our staff. It is good to know that the extra value packages we offered were well utilised and appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
690 reviews
1.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
385 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotorua

Property: Holiday Inn Rotorua
Address: 10 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Rotorua is a modern hotel overlooking the Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve and Historical Village. It features: • A free to use heated swimming pool and health club. • Free parking. • Kids Eat and Stay Free. (Up to 2 children under 12.) • Free Wifi for IHG Rewards Club Members. The air-conditioned rooms of Holiday Inn Rotorua offer a modern design and cable TV with free movies and 2 children's channels. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided. The award winning Chapman’s Restaurant and Bar offers an a la carte menu, and buffet, and serves contemporary New Zealand cuisine, matched with a fine wine selection. Room service is available 24/7. The Rotorua Holiday Inn is situated close to all the city's attractions and offers free shuttle pickup from the Rotorua Tourism Information Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing