We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfy stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Ranked #16 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 September 2013

so if you really don't like the smell of sulfur there are probably other hotels further into town that are not as close to the action. There is a spot in the foyer that is really on the nose, but it really is just part of the experience. Easy checkin, friendly staff. We had breakfast included, which was good, but not outstanding. We also took the dinner and internet package. Dinner was nice, but definitely 'buffet' style food, so again not outstanding. Internet package was fine as it was 12h, but only 150mb so ran out before the hours ran out - the good thing was that it was a cumulative 12h. be warned though, that if you need more time (we bought another 12h and a lot more download), that it is a sequential time, which we started at 9:30 at night only to find there was nothing left in the morning!!! Room was clean, bed was comfy. It was not a huge room but was quite adequate for our needs. I would have liked to have a swim, the water was a great temperature, but the husband had the aversion to the sulfur so I may need to go back on my own :) It is a bit out of the city and on the edge of town, so you either need your own car to get round, or you can catch a shuttle bus which runs thru the day. What was lovely was to look out the window to the geothermal valley and the rising gases of Whakarewerewe Village and the Forest beyond.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the valley side rather than looking onto suburbia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mousey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Dear mousey 84,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

It is good to know you enjoyed the view over the geothermal valley, and thank you for sharing many useful tips from your stay.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

I booked the deal that includes breakfast which worked out well for us.

Check-in procedures smooth, room comfortable.

The hotel provides the impression of being tidy, comfortable and well appointed without being pretentious, which I really like. EG being able to relax as if you were at home.

Had a bit of an issue on the first night with a clown in the next room and noise - mentioned in passing to the duty manager Nick the next morning and boom just like that he arranged a new room which proved to be much better for the second night. Thanks Nick.

My daughter loved the pool and the buffet, especially the dessert (go figure). Have to say though it was all good; very nice. And good to relax in a 33 degree pool at the end of a long day.

The aspect that made the biggest and best impression was the staff though. Thinking in the restaurant as well as elsewhere, these people were practical, approachable and genuinely friendly and held guest comfort as very important, it was plain to see.

The weekend away was to celebrate my daughter's birthday so I was keen for the accommodation to be up to scratch. In hindsight now I am very happy to have selected the Holiday Inn at Rotorua and will do so without hesitation again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwiplod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Dear kiwiplod,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us, and it is good to know that the room move was appreciated! Thank you for making special mention of Nick, and for your praise of our friendly staff. I will enjoy sharing your feedback with the team and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back the next time you come to stay.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

wasn't expecting a 4.5 star hotel would charge a surcharge on credit payment (first time ever). The room and bathroom was small, even my bathroom is more luxury. not a 4.5 star standard bathroom. carpet was dirty and the buffet food was not fresh. over price for such poor facilities. not recommonded to go nor stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosypin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

It is standard practice for Hotels in this region to charge a surcharge on credit card payments, and I am sorry for the disappointment you experienced with the room size and buffet.

Thanks again for your comments. All feedback helps us to improve our products and services.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We visited with multiple families to ride the mountain bike trails. It's a typical Holiday Inn - what you'd expect. Not too dated. They're set up for the mountain biking visitors and can store bikes at the back, you can ride to the forest from here and the hot pool's great for when you get back. They even let us set up their bar TV to watch the rugby.

Room Tip: You're going to get the sulpher small everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biff3ridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Biff3ridge,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you made the most of our hot pool, and enjoyed our handy location near the mountain biking trails. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next Rotorua mountain bike adventure!


Kind regards,

Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights in this busy hotel. Comfy beds and a choice of pillow was good. I really enjoyed the breakfast and dinner buffets and the restaurant staff were lovely (and entertaining to watch as they coped wonderfully with a lot of non-English speaking tourists). I loved the location with the steam rising from the thermal village next door. The sulphur smell didn't bother me at all. Would definitely stay here again - excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spoll12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua, and for taking the time to place feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed our location next to the Whakarewarewa Thermal Valley, and appreciated all the steamy views. It is good to know you found value for money here, and enjoyed the dining facilities and service from our lovely staff. We look forwarded to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Thank you very much for your feedback,

Kent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights in a twin room.
Noticeable sulphur smell as soon as you walked in to the lobby but not as strong in our actual room so it didn't really bother us.

Room was nice, comfy beds with a choice of pillows. Bathroom was ok though rather small. Shower over bath. View of hotel pool and a thermal pool out the back.

Dinner and breakfast in the restaurant was really nice and staff were friendly and helpful.

30 mins free wifi available in the lobby/bar each day which was nice but would have preferred unlimited free wifi in rooms.

Housekeeping took ages to service our room the first day so we complained and got some complementary fruit to apologise. No worries about housekeeping after that.

Would have no problem staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 29Jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear 29 Jetsetter,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed the comfortable bed and warm hospitality of our staff.
I am sorry you experienced undue delay with your room housekeeping, and thank you for allowing us the opportunity to make things right again! We hope you took away happy memories of your time in Rotorua, and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you come to stay.

Kind regards,

Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We scored an upgrade to a room overlooking the Whakarewarewa thermal area. It was tremendous to see the changing steam patterns as the weather changed.
The buffet breakfast included was up to standard, with an omolet or other special egg as an alternative to the scrambled eggs, which were actually ok, not the dried out sort that sometimes arrives.
The pool was well untilised, although we didn't make it - a bit too cold.
A very pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of a corridor - kids running up and down the corridors make quite a racket...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiBobCambodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Dear Kiwibobcambidia,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor, great to hear that you enjoyed your say with us, the pool at the moment is set to be about 36 - 38 Degrees Centigrade, so even though it is cold out side it is very warm once you are in the pool which is why you would have seen many children and their parents sharing in the fun.

Have a great day, thank you, Kent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
787 reviews
1.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 91 in Rotorua
499 reviews
1.8 mi away
Prince's Gate Hotel
Prince's Gate Hotel
#23 of 91 in Rotorua
863 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotorua

Address: 10 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rotorua
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#21 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £87 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Rotorua is a modern hotel overlooking the Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve and Historical Village. It features: • A free to use heated swimming pool and health club. • Free parking. • Kids Eat and Stay Free. (Up to 2 children under 12.) • Free Wifi for IHG Rewards Club Members. The air-conditioned rooms of Holiday Inn Rotorua offer a modern design and cable TV with free movies and 2 children's channels. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided. The award winning Chapman’s Restaurant and Bar offers an a la carte menu, and buffet, and serves contemporary New Zealand cuisine, matched with a fine wine selection. Room service is available 24/7. The Rotorua Holiday Inn is situated close to all the city's attractions and offers free shuttle pickup from the Rotorua Tourism Information Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing