We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out - WIFI $30 / 24 hr !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oakville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Watch out - WIFI $30 / 24 hr !!!!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I booked two rooms and when we checked in and got to our rooms we found out they were at opposite ends of the hotel corridor ( you would like to think that when two rooms are booked together they would be next to each other) . However , when we contacted the front desk they arranged two rooms next to each other in another part of the hotel. These rooms were situated on 7th floor with a view over Whaka and were superior to our original rooms. I would recommend booking on floors 6, 7 & 8 as this part of the hotel appears to be newer , quieter and with better views.
The front office staff were extremely helpful in sorting this out.
The rooms were very comfortable with superior furnishings. The only negative at the hotel was the extremely high charge for WIFI. Almost every review I have read, comments on this and every time the manager says the same thing - ''next year there will be no charge" . However , this does not help people who stay there now and have to pay $30 /24hr. As this is so obviously a major negative why has the charge not been removed before ? These charges were by far the highest we encountered in our month trip around NZ.
When you drive into downtown from the hotel virtually every hotel on the way in advertises free WIFI , so obviously it is a big deal.

Room Tip: Rooms on floors 6, 7 & 8 are superior to main part of hotel . Choose room with view over Whaka i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Colin J,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed the rooms our Front Desk team arranged for you. In line with our Holiday Inn brand standard, we presently offer free internet access for Gold and Platinum IHG Rewards club members, and from 01 January 2014 will also offer free internet access for all IHG Rewards club members. We also offer Free Wifi in our Lobby area for 30 minutes or 30mb per 24 hours. Thank you for mentioning our helpful staff, and for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    387
    176
    35
    12
See reviews for
244
382
29
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

An excellent stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua.
We stayed there for 2 nights.

About the Hotel/Room :
Hotel is located in a nice quite part of the town, right next to the thermal village.

We booked a Standard Room that was quite big with two full sized queen beds and astonishing array of pillows from soft to hard.
Room was well made, clean and with its own Coffee/Tea maker and cable TV.
Only concern – Free internet in standard rooms would have been perfect.


Staff :
Staff was one of the friendliest and cheerful I have ever met.
Reception desk staff were great. They gave us tips on places to visit and eat.
They took the trouble of dropping/picking us to the town center and back in their shuttle even if we were the only two people.
That was a nice gesture and we really appreciate it.
Please convey our thanks and regards to the staff.


The sulphur smell in the hallways was a bit strong (I did not mind though as it reminded me of the chemistry lab in college)
Overall a great place to stay in Rotorua.

Thanks and warm regards – from India.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nimbleguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Nimbleguru,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. We presently offer free internet access for Gold and Platinum IHG Rewards club members, and from 01 January 2014 will also offer free internet access for all IHG Rewards club members. Thank you for mentioning our friendly and helpful staff, it is good to know they were able to help you to make the most of your time here and I will enjoy sharing your appreciation with them. Thank you again for sharing your experience, we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paeroa, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Check in was a breeze, and the front staff were very friendly. Found the room very hot even with the air conditioning on. Shower was very powerful, which I liked.
If being really picky would like to have had a hairdryer in the bathroom.

Room Tip: If getting a taxi/cab into the city its about $14
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ganeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Ganeli,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you come to stay.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We. Enjoyed our one night stay - room was clean, comfortable and had tea/coffee making facilities. Excellent Buffett dinner with fresh seafood but $47 each seemed very expensive - however many locals were enjoyed the meal! Only complaint was only. 1 hr free WiFi in the lobby and none in your room without a charge.

Room Tip: All the floors were quiet even though the hotel was busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaClearwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Anna Clearwater,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you had a comfortable stay with us, and enjoyed your buffet dinner.
We presently offer free internet access for Gold and Platinum IHG Rewards club members, and from 01 January 2014 will also offer free internet access for all IHG Rewards club members. Thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you come to stay.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is a clean and spacious hotel located in a great part of town. The lobby and other public areas appear modern as do the beds and furniture. This has to be the most comfortable Holiday Inn bed and pillow set that I have ever slept in. Only the bathtub gives away the true age of the property (or perhaps the less than hyper-speed elevators). My room had a walk out balcony overlooking the local thermal happenings and was a pleasant if slightly aromatic experience.

The hotel has a large lobby and restaurant / bar area, which makes this an idea hotel to deal with the bus loads of tourists that the hotel caters to most of which seem to change daily. The night I stayed there were 2 groups – one overly polite group of very quiet Japanese and one less than polite group of mainland Chinese, who seemed to have missed the fact that modern cell phones have settings other than Speakerphone, which several of them proceeded to shout into in the public areas. It looked to be by far the busiest hotel in town but was well able to deal with the numbers. Other less popular hotels looked positively deserted, even the ultra-budget ones.

The reception staff has to be the hotel’s single best asset and its single best advert for quality customer service. For someone who stays over 100 nights a year in much more expensive business hotels I was very pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome and extremely helpful staff members who checked me in, then assisted me to plan my time to the fullest while visiting Rotorua. I normally ‘expect’ good service but these guys deserve a special mention.

Off of the reception is a large bar and public seating area and behind that a large buffet restaurant. The buffet breakfast was NZ$25 (NZ$22 for continental) which I thought was little over the top, and its popularity was probably only reflective of the free breakfast that the coachloads of tourists were receiving. I ate in town for considerably less.

The only negative thing about this hotel and the only thing that prevents me from giving it full marks, is that fact that it appears to be only one of a few remaining Holiday Inns that still charge for Internet access. Ethernet access is available in guest rooms for a fee (I didn’t purchase) and WiFi was available in the public areas of the ground floor – free for 30 minutes per day or 18MB of traffic whichever was hit first. Speed was adequate for checking email and some of the mainland Chinese appear to have been able to Skype their relatives back home from their WiFi connected cell phones although I didn’t verify this.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor overlooking the thermal vents
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear RichardS,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

It is good to know you enjoyed your stay with us and had the most comfortable Holiday Inn bed and pillow set ever! Getting a good night’s sleep is so important when you are travelling and I am pleased you rested well here.
Our breakfast buffet is quite popular and usually prepaid by the people on coach tours, or by the Tour Companies that the groups are travelling with – who mostly dine together as a group due to their volume and early tour schedules.
On the Wifi front, we presently offer free internet access for Gold and Platinum IHG Rewards club members, and from 01 January 2014 will also offer free internet access for all IHG Rewards club members – this is free to join if you are not already a member.
Thank you very much for making special mention of our Reception staff and their helpful and welcoming natures, we are grateful for your comments and will be sharing these with the team. Thanks again for sharing your experience. We appreciate your views and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umina Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had stayed in another hotel for 2 nights and wished we had stayed at the holiday inn the whole time. The staff were so helpful & happy,nothing was a problem so helpful.
And the Buffet was amazing,highly recommended.
The room was clean & comfortable,the whole package made our holiday a wonderful stay.
thank you holiday inn,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaKali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear LisaKali,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

It is good to know you wished you could have stayed longer here, and I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, NZ
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This hotel would have to have amongst the most friendly, helpful, customer-focussed staff anywhere. Very warm and welcoming. They gave the impression that nothing would be too much trouble for them. My room had a lovely view and was very well appointed and very comfortable.I wished I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear valnz,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

It is a shame you weren’t able to stay longer, and it is good to know you enjoyed a comfortable room with a lovely view.

Thank you for the mentioning our friendly and helpful staff. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
1.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.8 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
170 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotorua

Property: Holiday Inn Rotorua
Address: 10 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Rotorua is a modern hotel overlooking the Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve and Historical Village. It features: • A free to use heated swimming pool and health club. • Free parking. • Kids Eat and Stay Free. (Up to 2 children under 12.) • Free Wifi for IHG Rewards Club Members. The air-conditioned rooms of Holiday Inn Rotorua offer a modern design and cable TV with free movies and 2 children's channels. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided. The award winning Chapman’s Restaurant and Bar offers an a la carte menu, and buffet, and serves contemporary New Zealand cuisine, matched with a fine wine selection. Room service is available 24/7. The Rotorua Holiday Inn is situated close to all the city's attractions and offers free shuttle pickup from the Rotorua Tourism Information Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing