We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location and price”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Fantastic location in the beautiful town of Rotorua.
Our room overlooked the thermal village pool and Maori village. The hotel is on the outskirts of town however still close to shops, supermarkets and attractions.
Room was luxurious, clean and comfortable.
Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TessaBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear TessaBu,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed our location and the great views from your room. It is good to know you had a comfortable stay and found excellent value for money here. We appreciate you sharing your experience and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    391
    178
    36
    13
See reviews for
245
387
29
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed for three nights. great hotel, very clean and well maintained. staff were very friendly and helpful. We booked the double queen bed room and found the room very spacious and well serviced. buffet breakfast was excellent. room service meals were excellent. pool and two spas were great. Overall totally recommended !!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Ben W,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed the room, buffet and room service, and it is good to know you made the most of our pool and spas. We appreciate you sharing your experience and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I chose the Holiday Inn as I had points to available to use to book accommodation. I was really pleased I chose this hotel. The room was a typical Holiday Inn room, so it was what I expected - well appointed, modern decor, clean, large. We had two Queen beds to sleep 3 of us. We had the added bonus of overlooking the thermal wonderland that is Whakarewarewa. The window overlooked the hotel's large hot pool & spa and the hot springs and mud pools of the Village. We had a rental car and as the Holiday inn is at the end of Fenton St, this was needed to get to the hotel. If you do not have you won car, you would be better off staying in town. We ate both dinner and breakfast in town so I cannot review the hotel restaurant but they do have a dinner show if you wish to see traditional dancing. I would stay here again when in Rotorua. (If it is important to you, there were lots of Chinese tourists staying here - obviously a hotel of choice for tour groups. Didn't worry us, though).

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the thermal village
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2tvl8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Luv2tvl8888,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

It is good to know you were pleased with your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Usually stay at Novotel but it was fully booked the night we arrived so booked a night at Holiday Inn. Would have preferred to have stayed the whole duration at HI with no status in a 2 queen room with 2 kids as opposed to a suite at Novotel with platinum status.

Room was on top level of tower by pool. Clean, spacious 2x queen room. Spacious enough for a family of 4 on a brief stay..

Pool was excellent. Good size and great temperature.

Excellent stay for a family with a 2 and 4yr old

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidSubritzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Doogiehowser_md,

Thank you for returning to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you and the kids enjoyed your time here and had an excellent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We booked rooms with 2 double beds as advertised. On arrival we found each room with 2 single beds. It was with great difficulty that we managed to sleep through the night with a couple and a child. We complained at the front desk and they said they can't help as the hotel had no double bed rooms available. The building and carpet are very old hence the continuous bad smell. Could do with some TLC.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bubbanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Bubbanc,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry to read you did not have a good hotel stay. We do not have any room types that match your description of ‘each room with 2 single beds’ though, so I think you must have posted feedback about our hotel in error.

We look forward to welcoming you to Holiday Inn Rotorua the next time you travel our way.



Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Staff were nice on arrival,
Rooms were ok, in need of a revamp.

Our toilet smelt of urine, asked the cleaners to come back they did but still smelt.
The toilet filled with water every time you flushed.

Flounder a condom box under the bed. ( gave that to house keeping)

Also the air con was so loud.



Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Abba1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Abba 1976,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry that the toilet and room cleanliness was less than satisfactory, it is disappointing that we weren’t able to get that right for you and I apologise for the inconvenience caused.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Second time we stayed at the hotel. Great staff, friendly front desk! Awesome pool, the kids enjoyed their stay too. Breakfast is average but it's what you expect from most hotels. Creme brûlée was amazing though, the candied macadamias were awesome!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank hbassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Hbassett,

Thank you for returning to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you and the kids enjoyed your time with us; it is good to know how much you enjoyed the dessert buffet too. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
706 reviews
2.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.8 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
185 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotorua

Property: Holiday Inn Rotorua
Address: 10 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Rotorua is a modern hotel overlooking the Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve and Historical Village. It features: • A free to use heated swimming pool and health club. • Free parking. • Kids Eat and Stay Free. (Up to 2 children under 12.) • Free Wifi for IHG Rewards Club Members. The air-conditioned rooms of Holiday Inn Rotorua offer a modern design and cable TV with free movies and 2 children's channels. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided. The award winning Chapman’s Restaurant and Bar offers an a la carte menu, and buffet, and serves contemporary New Zealand cuisine, matched with a fine wine selection. Room service is available 24/7. The Rotorua Holiday Inn is situated close to all the city's attractions and offers free shuttle pickup from the Rotorua Tourism Information Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing