We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Our room was clean and spacious , and we were pleased to find a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel is quite a distance from the town centre , and there is a shuttle bus if you do not want to drive. The pool was an added bonus, and it was free to park at the hotel. There were a few noisy groups staying, but our sleep was not disturbed.

Room Tip: Try not to be near the pool area.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Anne W,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed the pool and spa area, and your clean and spacious room. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (857)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

575 - 581 of 857 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay and especially the staff service. Tipene on the front desk was especially helpful. The breakfast buffet was the best I've experienced in New Zealand. I will stay again-I think this hotel is best in rotorua.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldylocksNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear goldylocksNZ,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and made the most of our Breakfast buffet.
Thank you for making special mention of Tipene, I will ensure he is appropriately recognised.

Thanks again for sharing your experience, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed in hotel for our honeymoon. I found stay at this hotel very pleasant, only thing was annoying front office staff ettiquetes. At the check in at arnd 3:30pm female staff told room will be ready in 5mins, after 25 I asked her again and she said letme check and then it she said room ready and here is ur keys 702. Eventhough there were about four staff at the reception but none of them really bothered to help to carry our luggage. My wife is pregnant and I ended up carrying all luggage by myself. It is my bad luck that I met the same receptionist when we checked out. She was on phone and did not even bothered to acknowledge me, later other female guest was also waiting for abt 5mins. She looked at her and was about to serve her instead the guest had to show her that I was first. When she chceked in the system and she just said that is FINE. No thank you no hospitality no nothing. Other than that I found bar tender (russian/european) vry knowledgable and well behaved.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Swappybhate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Swappybhate,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry that the service from reception fell short of your expectations, that must have been frustrating for you and I apologise for the inconvenience caused. Thank you for sharing your experience, it is good to have your feedback to share with the team.

It is pleasing to read that you otherwise enjoyed a pleasant stay, and I hope you enjoyed your honeymoon here.

Safe journeys and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Very welcoming and personable staff who are willing and able to help with any queries and issues. There is a decent gym albeit some of the machines were requiring maintenance, these were scheduled to be done.
Along with a nice sized swimming pool, there are two spa's, one of which again was requiring maintenance. The area around the pool was extensive, clean, quiet and secluded.
Breakfast wasn't included in the booking so one can't offer any advice as to the quality of the food.
Overall, a very nice experience that one would expect from an international hotel.

Room Tip: It's strongly suggested that you upgrade to one of the better rooms to get the space and quality...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0_Khalid_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear 0_Khalid_0,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed our outdoor pool and spa area, and thank you for mentioning our welcoming and personable staff. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Arrived around 9 in the evening after a delay in our flight and more than 2-hour drive from Auckland to find my request for an upper level room to not be available due to the hotel being fully booked for the long weekend. Fair enough. I have, however, also previously requested and brought up again the matter of being away from the noise. I was only worried about the noise which would potentially come out of the pool, I should have done more research and requested to be away from floors where tour groups appear to be normally situated. Front desk was blunt and had a no-nonsense attitude. All my requests were denied though she was efficient in booking us a table at the restaurant. We were situated at the ground level to the left side of the building facing the parking lot so it was awkward having the curtains drawn as people from the outside could look inside the room. The smell of stinky rotten egg, as is the case of sulphur, was strong along the corridor but greatly diminished once inside the room.

We were initially amused at the sign on the entrance of the hallway advising guests to be mindful of the noise. These were written in, I believe, 4 languages (English, Korean, Japanese and Chinese). Our amusement vanished at 12 midnight when a babble of loud voices were heard outside the room continuing on for the next 30 minutes. In the early morning, another of the tour members started yelling out the name of possibly another tour member ignoring the fact that people were still sleeping around that time. From the time we were there until we checked out, there were a constant stream of tour groups checking in and checking out at the lobby.

I would suggest bringing in a pair of earplugs if you do happen to check in at the hotel.

The hotel is a bit away from the city centre. Restaurants and cafes are near the Town Hall or along Fenton Street.

Aside from the noise and smell of sulphur, the hotel does have its pluses. The restaurant offers a buffet service which appears to be very popular among the locals. Do not, however, order a la carte at the height of the buffet service as you would have to wait 30 minutes before your meal arrives. We have had the opportunity to try both services and would prefer the a la carte. While the buffet had many selections, the food got cold very quickly. The only thing warm food that I managed to taste was the Seafood Chowder. On the other hand, the dessert selection was amazing.

There is a small outdoor swimming pool which appears to be very popular among the kids but not big enough for adults to swim in. Wifi is free at the lobby for 30 minutes or 30 MB whichever gets consumed first. At the back of the hotel is the Whakarewarewa Living Village where you could see sulphur rising out of the earth (we didn't go in as we ran out of time). A laundry room is available for use by guests and is coin-operated. Iron and ironing board are also available in the room as are complimentary teas (2 choices).

Would I be going back again to Holiday Inn? Probably not. I would probably choose a small boutique hotel to avoid tour groups.

Room Tip: Try the higher floors
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shemivad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Shemivad,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry that the noise of other guests impacted negatively on your stay. That must have been most frustrating for you and I apologise for the disappointment caused.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, we hope you enjoyed your time in Rotorua and wish you safe travels.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We booked a studio room with a king size bed on the 5th floor for 204 NZD including breakfast.
The room was smelly and I don't mean the Rotorua's sulfur smell.
The air con did not work properly ( and no one came to check it when I informed the reception)
The buffet breakfast was average; the food quality was not impressive.
Now positive points:
The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet.
The spa pool was nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sepi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Sepi I,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed the comfortable bed and quiet room. I am sorry that the air con wasn’t tended to, that must have been frustrating for you and I apologise for the inconvenience caused.

We appreciate you sharing your experience and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Great Holiday Inn kit out, slightly tired in parts. Lovely thermal outdoor pool and spa. One drawback you need a car. This hotel is right on the outskirts of the town and about a seven minute drive to the central location. However, it offers good, clean and welcoming facilities with a guest laundry and business centre.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Bardswalk,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed our outdoor pool and spa. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
2.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
206 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
0.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotorua

Address: 10 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £63 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Rotorua is a modern hotel overlooking the Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve and Historical Village. It features: • A free to use heated swimming pool and health club. • Free parking. • Kids Eat and Stay Free. (Up to 2 children under 12.) • Free Wifi for IHG Rewards Club Members. The air-conditioned rooms of Holiday Inn Rotorua offer a modern design and cable TV with free movies and 2 children's channels. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided. The award winning Chapman’s Restaurant and Bar offers an a la carte menu, and buffet, and serves contemporary New Zealand cuisine, matched with a fine wine selection. Room service is available 24/7. The Rotorua Holiday Inn is situated close to all the city's attractions and offers free shuttle pickup from the Rotorua Tourism Information Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing