We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We decided to try the Holiday Inn again after a period of time and we are glad that we did. The staff were great, the rooms are good, the pools very good. The bed was comfortable with the usual selection of pillows. We ate at Chapman's Restaurant and had the Sunday Night Buffet which was outstanding. I have to say it was the buffet we have had in a very long time. Congratulations Chapmans. We also had breakfast which again was excellent. Thanks Holiday Inn, you needed to up your game since we were last there and you did. We will return.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room and you get a view - either towards the city or over Whakarewarewa and you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liliannz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear liliannz,

Thank you for returning to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua again, and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

It is good to know that you enjoyed another comfortable stay, and liked the buffet meals on offer.

We appreciate you sharing your experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

563 - 569 of 868 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

I've stayed at several other hotels in Rotorua and been pretty dissapointed with the quality versus the price. The Holiday Inn was a pleasant surprise. Reasonably priced, comfortable, recently refurbished rooms, and good service. The food was a little average, but overall a good place to stay for business.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZGAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear NZGAM,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

It is pleasing to read that you had a comfortable stay with us, and found good value for money here.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here before Holiday Inn took over - so it was great to be back. Friendly helpful staff. Fantastic food - the buffet at Chapman restaurant is as good as it gets. Nice hot pools. The bed was comfortable and the pillow selection meant we slept very well. Only thing was our room was very warm and we couldn't get the air-conditioning to work properly - so slept with the doors to our balcony open!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear John S,

Thank you for returning to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

It is good to know you still find ours a great place to stay, though it is disappointing to read that the air conditioning wasn’t working properly in your room this time, that must have been frustrating for you and I apologise for the inconvenience caused.

Thank you for mentioning our friendly and helpful staff. We are pleased you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I just stayed 3 nights in Rotorua at the Holiday Inn. My room view was spectacular. Mountain view overlooking the geisers, the steam and Tepuia. Internet worked flawlessly. Breakfast buffet was awesome. Dinner was incredible, specially with all the seafood variety and some beautiful desserts. They had all the facilities for bikes, which makes it a great option for sports lovers. We will go back for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maurorisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear maurorisch,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

It is good to know that you appreciated the spectacular view from your room, and enjoyed the offerings on the Breakfast and Dinner Buffets.

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your time with us, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We travelled to Rotarua from Auckland and found the hotel quite easily. Parking at the front of the hotel was not a problem. Reception staff were extremely helpful. There was a free courtesy bus which ran from the hotel to the town centre every hour; this needed to be booked with reception. We made sure we took advantage of the happy hour in the hotel bar before heading off into the town on the courtesy bus. Laundry facilities were available as were a thermally heated pool and spa, as well as a well equipped gym. Our room was gorgeous with two queen beds and a lovely bathroom. The reputation of a Holiday Inn hotel is intact.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pollyposhpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear pollyposhpup,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your room and made the most of Happy Hour in our Lobby Bar.

Thank you for mentioning our helpful Reception staff. We are pleased you had a pleasant time here and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The holiday Inn is located around 3k from the centre of Rotorua. The area is quiet which is what we wanted. It is next door to the Whakarewarewa Maori village (a great place to visit) but of course that means next to a geothermal area which is a bit smelly. No problem that's what Rotorua is about.
The room should have been ready at 2pm but we tried to check in at 2.20 & it wasn't-mildly irritating. The room was a standard chain hotel type (bathroom a bit tight) but otherwise OK. My gripe was the cleanliness. Lots of cobwebs at top of curtains & a lovely line of thick dust below air con. I sympathise that the sulphurous air probably makes dust but this was too much. Also the dark brown carpet on the back stairs was covered with dust too. I'm no house proud woman but give me a Hoover!
On the plus side the breakfast was brilliant and the staff in the restaurant were lovely.
No one asked me at check out if all was OK.
So come on sort out these simple issues then I might return.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank francophile5310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear francophile,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry that you had to wait for your room to be ready. Our check in time is from 2pm onward, and we endeavour to have all rooms ready by this time, however in periods of high occupancy this is not always possible.

It is disappointing to read that the cleanliness was lacking in your room. Our housekeeping team are working to improve this and we apologise for your room not being presented to standard.

Thank you for mentioning our lovely restaurant staff. I am pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast here and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I totally recommend this hotel. F&B, Housekeeping, front office, maintenance, etc. all of them did a wonderful job. we used the shuttle a few times, and the driver it was so nice and kind all the time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lua8050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear melisaem,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for mentioning our friendly staff.

We appreciate you sharing your experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
2.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
222 reviews
0.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
444 reviews
1.8 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotorua

Address: 10 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £73 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Rotorua is a modern hotel overlooking the Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve and Historical Village. It features: • A free to use heated swimming pool and health club. • Free parking. • Kids Eat and Stay Free. (Up to 2 children under 12.) • Free Wifi for IHG Rewards Club Members. The air-conditioned rooms of Holiday Inn Rotorua offer a modern design and cable TV with free movies and 2 children's channels. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided. The award winning Chapman’s Restaurant and Bar offers an a la carte menu, and buffet, and serves contemporary New Zealand cuisine, matched with a fine wine selection. Room service is available 24/7. The Rotorua Holiday Inn is situated close to all the city's attractions and offers free shuttle pickup from the Rotorua Tourism Information Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing