We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveller rating
99
80
68
49
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
80
68
49
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar next doorlava barheated poolgeothermal parkreception stafflarge kitchenbed roomwould stay here againrecommend staying heregood nights sleepa great staystayed here for one nightfree wifichecking outhosteldormcampervan
Filter
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 329 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My partner and I stayed there for 3 nights and we both have mixed feelings about it. On the plus side our room was very warm and it is quite centrally located and we met some great people there. On the negative, well the walls are paper thin, the kiwi experience bus stops there regularly and the noise from the Lava bar goes until 3am Friday and Saturday. It is very much a younger crowd and if you want to meet people and party then this is the place for you. If you want some down time then try Cranks or YHA.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoe82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We arrived in Rotorua in the afternoon and were grateful that we could check in to our room straight away. We booked an 8 bed mixed dorm with an en-suite bathroom which also had a balcony overlooking the pool area. The beds were comfortable and surprisingly, the bathrooms were kept relatively clean as well. This hostel caters mainly for Kiwi Experience guests and so, during our 3 night stay, the other people in our room were back late from their night out and getting up early for their tours which was slightly irritating. The hostel had kitchen facilities which seemed to be well used by the other guests, however for convenience we chose to eat on the main restaurant street which was only 5 minutes walk and had a great selection of places to eat. The main shopping area was only a 5/10 minute walk away as well which as ideal and the bus stop for going to attractions such as the Mauri village were a short distance away too.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
Thank lovetotravel10099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

This hostel is in a descent location and the room was fairly clean, except the kitchen. The staff were not very accommodating when we arrived either. Still, with the fair online prices and location I'd give it a go. Just don't get ripped off by the rack rate on arrival!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller32canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

I've been backpacking for four months now so like to think I've got a gauge on hostels and budget hotels around the world. In New Zealand there are many, including some fantastic Base hostels, but this one is a health hazard.

Upon arrival, service was very friendly. When we got into our room we found it damp and smelly, extremely dated, dirty and very disappointing. The cover on the bed was stained with god knows what and the flies were landing on our bed, despite the room having four other beds.

When we complained we were offered another poor standard room, so I asked for a refund so I could go and stay somewhere else. The receptionist didn't just do it and apologise, she decided to get a bit moody about it and became very rude.

We walked around the corner to the YHA and found it to be 10x better value than the Base hostel. So much cleaner with modern facilities, better reception staff and no flies!!

Base in Wanaka is fantastic. Base in Rotorua should be avoided - go to YHA Treks round the corner.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I realise this place is designed for backpackers, with a no frills approach to accommodation. However, this place is just disgusting. The rooms dont appear to have ever been cleaned. The sink was full on arrival, with a nasty smell and creamy film on top of the water. The shower was dirty and the shower mat had not been replaced. The toilet was horrible and there were parts of the wall hanging off inside. The floor still had rubbish on from the last guests. The windows to the balcony were dirty and the doors dirty. The roof was even dirty, with black filth all over it. And to top it off. The beds in the room were horrendous. They were stained with all kinds of things. Who knows what has happened in this place, but it was absolutely terrible. I appreciate it is cheap accommodation. But i still expect a certain level of cleanliness. Would not book with a Base hostel again. Fortunately there is a hospital across the way, just in case you become ill. We decided to move on within an hour of being there. And the response from the staff was, well we cant give you your money back. Thats fine, you can keep it!!

Room Tip: Avoid it if you value your health.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyMandefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews