We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for Campervans”
Review of Base Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Base Rotorua
Green Valley, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good for Campervans”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Liked the place! Very reasonable and great location relative to the park and downtown. FRIENDLY HELPFUL STAFF. Great to lie there in the hot tub and soak in the evenings.
Yes it's a hostel and yes there are lots of kids sometimes and yes some of the people in another van were too loud to late. But get over it! LOL Thought breakfast was a bit expensive so went to the Fat Dog, mistake, should have eaten at Base!

Room Tip: Sorry. I was in a campervan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    63
    52
    38
    27
See reviews for
8
63
74
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Robin Hood's Bay
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in their car park in our camper van for $9pp. We got to use the kitchen, pool, laundry, tv room, wifi etc. It was well worth it as we'd normally stay at DOC sites for $6pp and for that you usually just get a long drop toilet (we couldn't freedom camp as we weren't self contained ie didn't have our own toilet and had received an official warning from the police). So we got to keep our food cold in the fridge and freeze some water bottles for our cool box. Chilling out in the pool was great and being able to do our laundry. Also booking activities such as the luge through Base is good as they seam to offer the best deals.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ohyoubetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during my basejumping throughout new zealand.Clean, good facilities and close to everything. Would recommend anyone staying in rotorua to stay here. Bar next door has some good deals on food and drinks. Friendly service.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bolandandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

So this is meant to be a no alcohol hostel (as all the base's that we stayed in are) but on one of the day's there was a members of the members of staff's friend's birthday and there were a large number of people in the swimming pool area and they were all very drunk... Now I'm well up for a drink - but one rule for guests, and another for staff doesn't seem right...

Apart from that it was aright - clean(ish) room - not bad for the money. Some of the hobs didn't work and for a large hostel there wasn't much space in the kitchen to cook. Paper thin walls between rooms means that its hard to sleep if your neighbours are having a party...

Very helpful and friendly staff though and on the whole not a terrible place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed here a couple of nights ago. My first impression wasn't the greatest as I was asked for I.D. when checking in. I had not bought it with me and wasn't informed at any point during the booking through Naked Sleep that it would be required, however the receptionist told me not to worry about it. The room was down a rabbit warren, which we didn't mind with nice bathrooms next to our rooms, they weren't the cleanest but weren't bad. Our room was really basic with only a bed, towel rail, painting and one power point. Good thing we bought a multi-box. The added toiletries and towels were a bonus, however it seemed that it was needed as the bathrooms had neither soap or towels supplied which got to be very irritating. The bed was okay, not the most comfy but very clean.
The biggest detractors for me were the oppressive heat and noise. We were on the other side of the building to the bar but this meant that we got A LOT of traffic noise throughout the night and the sound of drunks, possibly on the balconies below us. The heat was unbearable, it was a reasonably warm day but not that bad and it was so ridiculously hot on the top floor, it hit you as soon as you walked off the stairs. This would be okay in winter but it would be terrible in summer. They seriously need to invest in some air conditioning.
The hot pool was a nice feature especially after travel, part of me wished that it was cold which would have been far more refreshing.
Next time I am going to book somewhere else so that I get more than 3 hours of sleep.

Room Tip: Get a room far away from the bar and on a lower floor so it isn't so hot. Be aware that by havin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desert Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The dorm room in this hostel had eight beds overall in the room and had an ensuite toilet and shower. There were also communal showers and toilets I believe but I didn't use them so I had no idea where they were. The biggest problem was that we only found two outlets so there were only four plugs for the eight of us in the room. One of the heaters in the room also did not work but it wasn't a big deal as it wasn't that cold when I was there.

There is just enough room in the kitchen to prepare and cook your food and a large dining table and a smaller table to enjoy your meal. The hostel is near the main area of town and near food places though so if you don't feel like cooking, it's a short walk to find food.

I spent a lot of time in the kitchen area but only because I was using the internet. I heard that once you were in the room, it was a lot harder to receive a signal so I just used it in the kitchen area. They do use Global Gossip Wi-Fi here.

The hostel is a short walk to the lake and down to the spa. There is a nice running trail that goes along the lake if you can stand the smell. The smell is quite strong near the lake but at the hostel, we never had any problems.

There is also a park right across the street from the hostel and someone told me there were some good trails that way also. The hostel does have a bar next door and they do events or specials every night of the week.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilPiggyQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

So my sister and I stayed here for 6 days. It's right across from a beautiful park. The staff were amazing and very helpful. They were always interested in our daily events and were very informative with different activities available around Rotorua, and were very happy to book places for us. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. I really liked the heated swimming pool! :) It's in a great location, a bus stop right outside, and a 5 minute walk to the town centre! They have a great variety of leaflets/brochures for activities, and decent priced drinks behind the counter. I'd happily stay here again. - Thank you to the staff who made our experience an enjoyable one!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eckyba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 57 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#26 of 57 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#5 of 57 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rotorua Downtown Backpackers
0.5 mi away
Rotorua Planet Backpackers
Rotorua Planet Backpackers
#22 of 57 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cactus Jacks Backpackers
Cactus Jacks Backpackers
#48 of 57 in Rotorua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Rotorua

Property: Base Rotorua
Address: 1286 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Hot Rock Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Rotorua 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Base Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hot Rock Backpackers Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing