We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Cheap Campervan Parking”
Review of Base Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Base Rotorua
Reviewed 9 June 2014

$18 per night for 2 people is definitely the cheapest camping in the area. With that you get use of all their facilities - kitchen, toilets, TV room, hot pool etc.

They were even nice enough to let us take our kayaks into the swimming pool to practice our eskimo rolls in nice warm water!

Excellent customer service, great location and, again, cheap as chips.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_the_Squid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hey Guys,
Thanks for your awesome review!!!!!
Hope you keep us in mind if you are ever back in Rotorua!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
There are newer reviews for Base Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hostel was very large, and generally very clean, I stayed in a 6 bed with ensuite facilities. Great value for money! The outdoor pool was great!! Really good location for the town itself!
I found some members of the reception staff a little hostile at times.
The kitchen was rather chaotic, was often very dirty, nothing seemed to have a place.
My room unfortunately was at the front of the hostel right next to the bar, so I generally didn't have a great nights sleep whilst I was there. I did request a quieter room, but nothing could be done. I wouldn't have minded the late night music too much if you actually had a decent dj.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyV92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi There,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. The reviews are important to us, both the good and the bad so that we can see what we do well and also where we need to improve.
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the facilities at our hostel.
We were not so happy to hear you found some of our reception staff a bit hostile. Usually we are a friendly and perky bunch whom are more than happy to help out in whatever ways that we can.
we do ask our guests to clean up after themselves in our kitchen, and we also clean it ourselves 3 times a day, however with so many people coming in and out things do get put away in different places at times.
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at a few base hostels around New Zealand, they're usually pretty clean and well equipped and you know what you're going to be getting. This hostel however, was bloody awful. Being above a bar, all I could hear was God awful pop music till the early hours. After the music stopped a load of, what can only be described as, drunken baffoons made there way into the corridors and preceded to keep me awake until my early morning activities. Because of the lack of sleep, I ended up missing my afternoon activity as I went in search of some shut eye instead.
In addition to this, the reception staff seem to be a little bit air heady. They were lovely, I'll give them that...but trying to ask for directions or any help at all ended in me being frustrated at the lack knowledge.
Go there if you want to get drunk and stay up all night...but if you need to be up early in the morning then I really don't recommend.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank DIX11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi There,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel.
I was sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We do have the Lava Bar next door which does tend to play the music a little loud at times. We do try to accomodate for this by booking people into rooms at the back of the hostel but sometimes over busy times we do need to use those rooms.
Our staff at reception are usually more than happy to help out with directions and information. We get asked the same questions quite a lot so our answers are usually pretty accurate. We have all read your review so will try to give more detailed descriptions in future.
As for the "drunken baffoons", well most of the time our guests have enough respect for other travellors to treat them with the respect that they deserve, but sometimes, like all hostels, we do have a few come through who cross over that line. We do have night security on site who usually deal with these circumstances quickly.
Once again we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Excellent Hostel, the double room we had was both en suite as well as having its own television. We also had access to the geothermal heated swimming pool which meant that even though it was winter we could swim. They front desk was great for booking activities for us and advising us generally on what we could do in Rotorua

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian_C_35_45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi There,

Thank you for your awesome review!!!!

Hope we see you back sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Base in Rotorua in our campervan on the parking lot behind the hostel (most of the campervan sites are on a slope, so anything but ideal for sleeping).
The kitchen was far from well equipped and the staff couldn't even find a working tin opener on our request. The entire hostel seems in need for a proper scrub.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank TamiNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi There,
Thank you for your review. Our reviews are important, both the good and the bad as they help us to see what we do right and also the areas which we can sometimes improve on. But your review has got me slightly confused. We do offer campervan parking, but were you aware that we do have 2 carparks. One is sloped and for our car parking, the other is completly flat and is better suited for campervan parking. Perhaps this is a case where you may have simply parked in the wrong area :) And as for a can opener... as we have a can opener permanently attached to the kitchen bench I can't quite see why this was failed to be seen.
If you ever come back to Rotorua to stay, pop in and see us. One of our staff will be happy to show you around properly so you can make full use of our facilities and Im sure you will enjoy your stay!!

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed here when I was on the kiwi experince . The 8 bed dorm I was in was nice and it had a balcony. As the bar is separate from the hostel it is not loud at night, and it was close to the main shopping area. Visit the Maori church nearby-really pretty and worth a look.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank TippElle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Hi There,
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel!! we were happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!!!

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed here for one night during our three week tour of New Zealand. We had booked a twin room but got one that slept 5, with private bathroom. The room itself was a little tired and shabby, the bathroom definitely required updating and he kitchenette modernising. However it had all the facilities we needed. Wifi was available and was fast. Car park around the back was very handy. Close enough to the town to walk out in the evening. The noise from the rowdy drunks upstairs in the evening was a bit too much but we were that tired we slept through it. Good value for money for what we required.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank sarahrO7155PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Hi There,
Thanks for your review reguarding your stay at Base Rotorua. Our reviews are important as they help us to see the things we do well and also the areas in which we can improve. We are planning to have our private rooms renovated later this year so hopefully if you come back to visit they will be much more up to date!
We would love to see you back!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
1,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#5 of 58 in Rotorua
388 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 58 in Rotorua
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Rotorua

Address: 1286 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Hot Rock Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: £21 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Rotorua 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Base Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hot Rock Backpackers Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing