We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Backpackers in Rotorua”
Review of Base Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Base Rotorua
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I Stayed in Base back in May 2014, had a twin room for myself and a friend. The hostel is great, doesn't appear to be the most modern of places from the outside but inside its warm, clean, tidy and comfortable. The room was our favorite Base room that we stayed in on our trip around the north Island, the beds were freshly made and soooo comfy, modern clean bathroom and very hot showers. We had more space in the room than we knew what to do with, plus a balcony which I'm pretty sure most of the other rooms had too! There's also a heated spa and swimming pool which we spent a lot of time in, it's just like getting into the biggest bath ever at the end of the day (which after freezing white water rafting was very appreciated)
The staff were super friendly when we arrived with lots of knowledge about the area, my favorite feature though was the massive map on the wall pointing out all the free stuff you could do around the town, saved us a few dollars on activities. The location was great 2 minute walk into town and of course right next door to the only party bar in town (free entry if you get a wristband from reception). Would stay here again! Thanks Base

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Hi There,
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! And of course to hear we were your favourite!!!
Hope to see you back again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Took the mrs down for her bday and we stayed in an ensuite room. Couldnt have asked for a better room to stay in. it had everything we needed, it was quiet and clean. The hot pool and spa was a bonus and was a great way to start the day! Definitely a great place to stay!!

Room Tip: If you are going as a couple then the ensuite is the best way to go!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntzPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi There,

Thanks for your awesome review!!!!!!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

This is a terrific place to stay, I've been to hostels all over the world and this place was quite terrific! The staff was very polite and helpful. I stayed in an 8 bed dorm and only 1 other bed was taken. The entire facility was better than clean and the bath ensuite was an added bonus instead of having to walk down a hall at night! Highly recommend this one!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank MM27APR20154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi There,

Thank you for your awesome review!!!

We would love to have you back if your ever back in Rotorua :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

we stayed here for a couple of nights, we had a double shared bathroom.
i understand that there is a lot of people coming through everyday. But the bathroom was dirty most of the time.
we only saw it clean once while we where there for 4 nights.
the room otherwise was ok, nice bed and good tv.
But for me as the bathrooms are shared they should be maintained more than what they where.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi There,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel.
Our reviews are important because they help us to grow and improve our facilities and the experiences of our guests.
We clean our communal bathrooms daily, in the morning and in the mid afternoon, hovever due to the regular use of the bathrooms they do tend to get dirty fast!!!

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

$18 per night for 2 people is definitely the cheapest camping in the area. With that you get use of all their facilities - kitchen, toilets, TV room, hot pool etc.

They were even nice enough to let us take our kayaks into the swimming pool to practice our eskimo rolls in nice warm water!

Excellent customer service, great location and, again, cheap as chips.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_the_Squid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hey Guys,
Thanks for your awesome review!!!!!
Hope you keep us in mind if you are ever back in Rotorua!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hostel was very large, and generally very clean, I stayed in a 6 bed with ensuite facilities. Great value for money! The outdoor pool was great!! Really good location for the town itself!
I found some members of the reception staff a little hostile at times.
The kitchen was rather chaotic, was often very dirty, nothing seemed to have a place.
My room unfortunately was at the front of the hostel right next to the bar, so I generally didn't have a great nights sleep whilst I was there. I did request a quieter room, but nothing could be done. I wouldn't have minded the late night music too much if you actually had a decent dj.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyV92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi There,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. The reviews are important to us, both the good and the bad so that we can see what we do well and also where we need to improve.
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the facilities at our hostel.
We were not so happy to hear you found some of our reception staff a bit hostile. Usually we are a friendly and perky bunch whom are more than happy to help out in whatever ways that we can.
we do ask our guests to clean up after themselves in our kitchen, and we also clean it ourselves 3 times a day, however with so many people coming in and out things do get put away in different places at times.
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at a few base hostels around New Zealand, they're usually pretty clean and well equipped and you know what you're going to be getting. This hostel however, was bloody awful. Being above a bar, all I could hear was God awful pop music till the early hours. After the music stopped a load of, what can only be described as, drunken baffoons made there way into the corridors and preceded to keep me awake until my early morning activities. Because of the lack of sleep, I ended up missing my afternoon activity as I went in search of some shut eye instead.
In addition to this, the reception staff seem to be a little bit air heady. They were lovely, I'll give them that...but trying to ask for directions or any help at all ended in me being frustrated at the lack knowledge.
Go there if you want to get drunk and stay up all night...but if you need to be up early in the morning then I really don't recommend.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank DIX11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi There,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel.
I was sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We do have the Lava Bar next door which does tend to play the music a little loud at times. We do try to accomodate for this by booking people into rooms at the back of the hostel but sometimes over busy times we do need to use those rooms.
Our staff at reception are usually more than happy to help out with directions and information. We get asked the same questions quite a lot so our answers are usually pretty accurate. We have all read your review so will try to give more detailed descriptions in future.
As for the "drunken baffoons", well most of the time our guests have enough respect for other travellors to treat them with the respect that they deserve, but sometimes, like all hostels, we do have a few come through who cross over that line. We do have night security on site who usually deal with these circumstances quickly.
Once again we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#3 of 59 in Rotorua
412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#8 of 59 in Rotorua
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#7 of 59 in Rotorua
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Spa Lodge
Spa Lodge
#12 of 59 in Rotorua
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rotorua Downtown Backpackers
0.2 mi away
Cactus Jacks Backpackers
Cactus Jacks Backpackers
#50 of 59 in Rotorua
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Rotorua

Address: 1286 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Hot Rock Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: £17 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Rotorua 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Base Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hot Rock Backpackers Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing