We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel to stay at!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Base Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Base Rotorua
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hostel to stay at!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

stayed here on my travelling about.. stayed in a 5 bed dorm. the room was very tidy and always maintained. the showers are totally awesome too they are nice and hot and unlike other hostels, don't dribble onto you! the kitchen is also very neat and a great spot to socialise with other people over breakfast etc. the pool outside is heated, its so great! finishing your day full of activites off with a nice hot swim, YES! The staff here were very very welcoming and incredibly helpful! and were able to give me plenty of information about activities I was interested in, free and paid and were great for a good old banter. the placement of the hostel is also very convenient and everything you need is only a couple of blocks away. Next door is the bar, number one party bar in Rotorua. had a great time here also, cheap as chips drinks, great company and great djing. Would definitely stay here again. Base, you are AWESOME!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helend1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    59
    51
    37
    25
See reviews for
8
61
71
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I Stayed in Base back in May 2014, had a twin room for myself and a friend. The hostel is great, doesn't appear to be the most modern of places from the outside but inside its warm, clean, tidy and comfortable. The room was our favorite Base room that we stayed in on our trip around the north Island, the beds were freshly made and soooo comfy, modern clean bathroom and very hot showers. We had more space in the room than we knew what to do with, plus a balcony which I'm pretty sure most of the other rooms had too! There's also a heated spa and swimming pool which we spent a lot of time in, it's just like getting into the biggest bath ever at the end of the day (which after freezing white water rafting was very appreciated)
The staff were super friendly when we arrived with lots of knowledge about the area, my favorite feature though was the massive map on the wall pointing out all the free stuff you could do around the town, saved us a few dollars on activities. The location was great 2 minute walk into town and of course right next door to the only party bar in town (free entry if you get a wristband from reception). Would stay here again! Thanks Base

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi There,
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! And of course to hear we were your favourite!!!
Hope to see you back again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Took the mrs down for her bday and we stayed in an ensuite room. Couldnt have asked for a better room to stay in. it had everything we needed, it was quiet and clean. The hot pool and spa was a bonus and was a great way to start the day! Definitely a great place to stay!!

Room Tip: If you are going as a couple then the ensuite is the best way to go!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AntzPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi There,

Thanks for your awesome review!!!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

This is a terrific place to stay, I've been to hostels all over the world and this place was quite terrific! The staff was very polite and helpful. I stayed in an 8 bed dorm and only 1 other bed was taken. The entire facility was better than clean and the bath ensuite was an added bonus instead of having to walk down a hall at night! Highly recommend this one!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MM27APR20154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi There,

Thank you for your awesome review!!!

We would love to have you back if your ever back in Rotorua :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

we stayed here for a couple of nights, we had a double shared bathroom.
i understand that there is a lot of people coming through everyday. But the bathroom was dirty most of the time.
we only saw it clean once while we where there for 4 nights.
the room otherwise was ok, nice bed and good tv.
But for me as the bathrooms are shared they should be maintained more than what they where.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi There,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel.
Our reviews are important because they help us to grow and improve our facilities and the experiences of our guests.
We clean our communal bathrooms daily, in the morning and in the mid afternoon, hovever due to the regular use of the bathrooms they do tend to get dirty fast!!!

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Riwaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

$18 per night for 2 people is definitely the cheapest camping in the area. With that you get use of all their facilities - kitchen, toilets, TV room, hot pool etc.

They were even nice enough to let us take our kayaks into the swimming pool to practice our eskimo rolls in nice warm water!

Excellent customer service, great location and, again, cheap as chips.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_the_Squid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hey Guys,
Thanks for your awesome review!!!!!
Hope you keep us in mind if you are ever back in Rotorua!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hostel was very large, and generally very clean, I stayed in a 6 bed with ensuite facilities. Great value for money! The outdoor pool was great!! Really good location for the town itself!
I found some members of the reception staff a little hostile at times.
The kitchen was rather chaotic, was often very dirty, nothing seemed to have a place.
My room unfortunately was at the front of the hostel right next to the bar, so I generally didn't have a great nights sleep whilst I was there. I did request a quieter room, but nothing could be done. I wouldn't have minded the late night music too much if you actually had a decent dj.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyV92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi There,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. The reviews are important to us, both the good and the bad so that we can see what we do well and also where we need to improve.
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the facilities at our hostel.
We were not so happy to hear you found some of our reception staff a bit hostile. Usually we are a friendly and perky bunch whom are more than happy to help out in whatever ways that we can.
we do ask our guests to clean up after themselves in our kitchen, and we also clean it ourselves 3 times a day, however with so many people coming in and out things do get put away in different places at times.
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#13 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 57 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#6 of 57 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#4 of 57 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rotorua Planet Backpackers
Rotorua Planet Backpackers
#24 of 57 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rotorua Downtown Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Rotorua

Property: Base Rotorua
Address: 1286 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Hot Rock Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Rotorua 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Base Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hot Rock Backpackers Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing