We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Base Rotorua
Nearby Hotels
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arista of Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$558
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$472
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedarwood Lakeside(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
86
79
68
49
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
79
68
49
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslava barbar next doordorm roomheated poolprivate bathroomlarge kitchenreception staffgeothermal parkrecommend staying herewould stay here againfree wifigood nights sleepstayed here for one nightchecking outgreat facilitiesclose to townhostel
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is by far the worst hostel we've stayed at in both NZ and Australia.

First of all, after one night in the hostel we found out that our room had bedbugs. When we went down to reception to change rooms we expected an apology and some sort of compensation, instead the receptionist denied the fact that there were bedbugs and tried to tell us that it was some other insect which came into the room when it was raining.

After a while, the staff admitted that there were bedbugs in the room, but instead of an apology we were forced to go out into the nearby public park and go through our luggage to check if we had brought the bugs with us. We tried to be helpful and also wanted to make sure we hadn't got any bedbugs in our stuff (we later had everything we owned dry-cleaned just to make sure, at our own expense of course...) so we went with it even though we had never seen a bedbug before in our lives. When we came back and had found nothing, the staff tried to shift the blame to another girl who stayed in our room.

After this we had to ASK to switch rooms, and when we got to our new room we had been downgraded from a four-bed ensuite to a six-bed. They tried to explain this with telling us that we would probably have the room to ourselves. After a long discussion and still no apology or any form of compensation we got changed to a new 4-bed dorm.

Apart from our horrible experience, the hostel is located right in town, and next-door to the Kuirau park. The hostel was generally pretty clean but the kitchen lacked the most basic things and the food storage was full of ants.

Room Tip: Just don't!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EllenEkberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Hi There,
Thanks for taking to time to review our hostel.
Our reviews help us to see what we do well, and also in some cases, the areas in which we need to improve.
I understand how much of an inconvinence this situation was for you. Bed Bugs are extreamly rare in our hostel which is why perhaps our reception staff may have not delt with the situation the best way possible. Since your stay with us, our staff have been trained fully on understanding bed bugs and the procedures we need to follow shall this situation arise again. I believe that with the training we each have recieved all staff will be able to deal with this situation in a more helpful and understanding way.
We do apologize for the inconvinence we caused you and for the way that you were treated by our staff. If you return to Rotorua please email us on rotorua@stayatbase.com as we would like to offer you some sort of compensation for you troubles!

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Basic hostel as you would expect for backpackers. Good communal area for eating and TV. Staff weren't full of knowledge but were friendly. Bar next door is great and not too loud of your on the right room :)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyBlue01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Hi There,
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel!!
We hope you will keep us in mind if you return to Rotorua. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

stayed here on my travelling about.. stayed in a 5 bed dorm. the room was very tidy and always maintained. the showers are totally awesome too they are nice and hot and unlike other hostels, don't dribble onto you! the kitchen is also very neat and a great spot to socialise with other people over breakfast etc. the pool outside is heated, its so great! finishing your day full of activites off with a nice hot swim, YES! The staff here were very very welcoming and incredibly helpful! and were able to give me plenty of information about activities I was interested in, free and paid and were great for a good old banter. the placement of the hostel is also very convenient and everything you need is only a couple of blocks away. Next door is the bar, number one party bar in Rotorua. had a great time here also, cheap as chips drinks, great company and great djing. Would definitely stay here again. Base, you are AWESOME!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helend1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I Stayed in Base back in May 2014, had a twin room for myself and a friend. The hostel is great, doesn't appear to be the most modern of places from the outside but inside its warm, clean, tidy and comfortable. The room was our favorite Base room that we stayed in on our trip around the north Island, the beds were freshly made and soooo comfy, modern clean bathroom and very hot showers. We had more space in the room than we knew what to do with, plus a balcony which I'm pretty sure most of the other rooms had too! There's also a heated spa and swimming pool which we spent a lot of time in, it's just like getting into the biggest bath ever at the end of the day (which after freezing white water rafting was very appreciated)
The staff were super friendly when we arrived with lots of knowledge about the area, my favorite feature though was the massive map on the wall pointing out all the free stuff you could do around the town, saved us a few dollars on activities. The location was great 2 minute walk into town and of course right next door to the only party bar in town (free entry if you get a wristband from reception). Would stay here again! Thanks Base

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Hi There,
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! And of course to hear we were your favourite!!!
Hope to see you back again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Took the mrs down for her bday and we stayed in an ensuite room. Couldnt have asked for a better room to stay in. it had everything we needed, it was quiet and clean. The hot pool and spa was a bonus and was a great way to start the day! Definitely a great place to stay!!

Room Tip: If you are going as a couple then the ensuite is the best way to go!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntzPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi There,

Thanks for your awesome review!!!!!!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews