We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good base, cheap, clean.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Base Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Base Rotorua
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good base, cheap, clean.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is the best hostel I've stayed in, cheap, has a pool which is hot, clean, spacious, decent kitchen although not very modern. Staff where very nice and happy, stayed in an 8 bed dorm as a couple, and no one else was in the room so had a very peaceful sleep! Bathroom was clean. Cheap and decent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BackpackingJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi There,
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel!!! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    60
    51
    38
    25
See reviews for
8
62
71
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have been on the road for quiet some time now so have lots of experience with hostels,staff and locations
After our 3 day stay at the base Rotorua we left going wow that was the best stay we have experience to date..so looking forward to the rest of the Bases.
The place was so clean i would eat my dinner off the bathroom floor, the rooms were spacious and the beds comfortable, we had the luxury of a double bed inside a dorm room but it was separated into our own little space..nice thinking.
The staff were friendly,helpful but what stood out the most were the housekeeping ladies who obviously enjoy their work, you could hear them laughing and at times singing, very polite and engaging in conversation offering advice on activities what a lovely change from some of the housekeeping staff we have come across.
We will certainly visit again and be telling all our friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Preci0us22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Awesome pool and very central to town.

Staff were friendly especially Helen she way supercool but had a terrible sense of humor.

Lava bar is right next door, so there was always something on in the evenings.

Have stayed here a couple of times now and I would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi There,
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel.
We hope to see you back soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I loved my stay here, brought a few out of town friends to stay and we all thought it was the best experience, staff were friendly, rooms were clean and super handy with the bar next door. The location was a bonus aswel being right in town.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank peacelovehappinessx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi There,
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel!!! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you see you back again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

came down to Rotorua to visit my family and stayed here at base with my 3 kids. I was fortunate enough to have a room with a double bed, great for me, and bunks for the kids. the room was very well arranged and tidy.. the kitchen was close to my room which made meal time easy and convenient. the cleaning and reception staff were very good with my kids and I, they were all churpy, very helpful and amazingly patient with the kids! the pool area was perfect for me to relax while they all entertained themselves with the pool toys. so glad I finally found somewhere they are able to escape the computer/tv etc without complaining. overall was a great stay. going to choose this location when travelling!

Room Tip: family friendly!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnm20202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi There,
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel!!!
We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is by far the worst hostel we've stayed at in both NZ and Australia.

First of all, after one night in the hostel we found out that our room had bedbugs. When we went down to reception to change rooms we expected an apology and some sort of compensation, instead the receptionist denied the fact that there were bedbugs and tried to tell us that it was some other insect which came into the room when it was raining.

After a while, the staff admitted that there were bedbugs in the room, but instead of an apology we were forced to go out into the nearby public park and go through our luggage to check if we had brought the bugs with us. We tried to be helpful and also wanted to make sure we hadn't got any bedbugs in our stuff (we later had everything we owned dry-cleaned just to make sure, at our own expense of course...) so we went with it even though we had never seen a bedbug before in our lives. When we came back and had found nothing, the staff tried to shift the blame to another girl who stayed in our room.

After this we had to ASK to switch rooms, and when we got to our new room we had been downgraded from a four-bed ensuite to a six-bed. They tried to explain this with telling us that we would probably have the room to ourselves. After a long discussion and still no apology or any form of compensation we got changed to a new 4-bed dorm.

Apart from our horrible experience, the hostel is located right in town, and next-door to the Kuirau park. The hostel was generally pretty clean but the kitchen lacked the most basic things and the food storage was full of ants.

Room Tip: Just don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenEkberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi There,
Thanks for taking to time to review our hostel.
Our reviews help us to see what we do well, and also in some cases, the areas in which we need to improve.
I understand how much of an inconvinence this situation was for you. Bed Bugs are extreamly rare in our hostel which is why perhaps our reception staff may have not delt with the situation the best way possible. Since your stay with us, our staff have been trained fully on understanding bed bugs and the procedures we need to follow shall this situation arise again. I believe that with the training we each have recieved all staff will be able to deal with this situation in a more helpful and understanding way.
We do apologize for the inconvinence we caused you and for the way that you were treated by our staff. If you return to Rotorua please email us on rotorua@stayatbase.com as we would like to offer you some sort of compensation for you troubles!

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Basic hostel as you would expect for backpackers. Good communal area for eating and TV. Staff weren't full of knowledge but were friendly. Bar next door is great and not too loud of your on the right room :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyBlue01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi There,
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel!!
We hope you will keep us in mind if you return to Rotorua. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 55 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#5 of 55 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#4 of 55 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rotorua Downtown Backpackers
0.5 mi away
Rotorua Planet Backpackers
Rotorua Planet Backpackers
#24 of 55 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cactus Jacks Backpackers
Cactus Jacks Backpackers
#46 of 55 in Rotorua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Rotorua

Property: Base Rotorua
Address: 1286 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Hot Rock Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Rotorua 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Base Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hot Rock Backpackers Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing