We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arista of Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sport of Kings Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
91
80
68
49
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
80
68
49
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslava barbar next doordorm roomheated poollarge kitchengeothermal parkreception staffrecommend staying herewould stay here againfree wifigood nights sleepstayed here for one nightchecking outgreat facilitieshostelcampervankiwi
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017

The staff during the day anyway are lovely, (Peyton in particular is warm and welcoming) but I encountered staff at night who were loud and noisey when I was trying to sleep (doing washing right next to my room) talking loudly on phone. Others didn't know were to find replacement coffee or milk. The rooms had little or no facilities, nothing available should I want to cook, At night bright lights from the hallway shining under crack in the door meant I had to put clothing in front of door to limit light.
I hope that some one invests in a revamp and spends some money on the place. The carpark and gates etc give you an indication of lack of maintenance.There are no longer any computers in the computer room, so don't bank on saving any data on your phone.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Slartybartfast58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Stayed at Base Rotorua for the 2nd time, this time was as friendly and great as I remembered the time previous!
On check in was told all about the hostel, all the usual (check in/out times, breakfast, kitchen, laundry, swimming pool opening times..) but this was explained in such a happy manner. The pool was kept at a steady 37 degrees, although I didn't take a dip it looked so appealing!!

The lava bar is literally next door and although this was on a Saturday night the noise was well concealed in the hostel in my opinion.

A friend of mine had actually injured herself prior to our stay and we needed some advice. The night receptionist Selina was a huge help and would like to say thanks to her for the advice and phoning the A+E dept at the hospital for us too.
No question seemed too much for any member of staff at the hostel and would definitely recommend to friends etc in the future!

Room Tip: Accessibility rooms available, worth asking! Private rooms also definitely great value for money
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALBTravellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed in an 16 bed dorm but there was only 6 of us in it. The room was split into two with a wall dividing a section of 6 beds. There were no plug sockets in our side at all so I felt a little uneasy leaving my phone to charge next to the door on its own. Staff were very friendly and we got a room for $20 each for the night which is a cheaper price we've paid during our time in NZ. Wi-Fi is terrible. Breakfast is amiable for $5 but is on a random table in reception where there is no tables and chairs so you have to grab your breakfast then walk upstairs to the kitchen? Would be quite difficult if reception was full of people checking out (which it was the morning we left) Very random and not well thought out at all.

Heated pool was lovely and a great way to end the night. If you're a light sleeper it's not the place for you as the pub plays music very loud until very late and the constant shouting and singing will keep you awake.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank zoe892015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

If you like booming music, parties, split infinitives and geothermal swimming pools then this place is for you. However, if you generally like civilisation then perhaps it's not? The showers spit out artic temperature water rendering you glacial, the Wifi is maliciously limited and aggressively underpowered, the beds are as lumpy as the French Alps and paper mache falls off the ceiling onto your face as music rattles the walls. Stay again? Does a cow walk into an electric fence more than once?

Yours indefatigably,
Clopin Gopr

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Clopin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

This hostel is awesome. I was in a 8 beds dorm, and all was very clean. The changed to a 16 beds dorm and it was empty, which was even better. Private showers and toilets on both, everything very clean. Great kitchen, with everything you might need to cook and even free stuff. The best thing was the hot pool. Great on winter days, you can chill around. The only negative thing is that they don't have free WI-FI in the bedrooms, only at the reception. Bought a one day wifi password, and was only 4$ and it's high speed(netlix and chill by the pool in it's literal meaning). If I comeback, will definitely stay there, Thank you!!

Room Tip: Free hot pool
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 September 2017

Hey Andre, Thanks so much for the perfect review! We really appreciate the positive feedback. Glad to hear you enjoyed the cleanliness of our rooms and the geothermally heated pool to relax in at the end of a busy day sightseeing.
We hope to see you again on your travels in NZ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews