We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, luxurious and friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Noosa, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Spacious, luxurious and friendly.”
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Recently refurbished to a very high standard with useful kitchenette, large spa bath in the bathroom (not the bedroom). A proper double fold-out bed in the lounge-room was ideal for our 6 year old. Tvs in lounge-room and bedroom. You could even watch tv from the spa-bath if that's your thing.

Little touches like the ground coffee and plunger (cafetiere) coffee pot, umbrella and high quality, fluffy towels make a good stay great.

We found it very quiet although the motel wasn't full.
Occasional distant sound of other spa bath pumps was about all we heard.

Recommended if you want a cut above the usual.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noosa_Crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    242
    44
    8
    3
See reviews for
240
544
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed here two nights. Very clean and tidy, Great service. Will definitely recommend staying here, worth it!

We based our stay on the comments on here.....very happy we did, as they all live up to the postive feedback given.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2011

I stay in many motels as part of my work. When I open your eyes in the early morning darkness I often wonder where I am now ... all motel rooms are the same. Never have that problem at the Silver Ferns. The service, the style, the cleanliness, the welcoming atmosphere, the huge spa, the decor, the everything is just outstanding. I cannot recommend Allan and Shirley too highly.

The only ‘problem’ I have is this: I don’t want too many people to discover this upmarket, wonderful place at very average rate ... I may not be able to find a room next time I am in Rotorua. And that will be a real disaster.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are equally great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulReyneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

I stay at the Silver Fern motel often on business and have found it to be consistanly well clean and just a stylish comfortable place to stay. The rooms have a great big spa bath and nice big beds. Really good to get night sleep.

Room Tip: Down stairs hve big spa pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig_fisho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

I have FINALLY found the motel in Rotorua that I will return to everytime. This place has wonderful decor, clean, awesome super large spa bath, friendly owners, comfy beds and lovely linen & towels. Free Wifi to boot (that works!) Would definately go back for sure and highly recommend to others. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denisej025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We enjoyed a lovely stay at the Silver Fern in April, 2011. The room was comfortable and pleasant, and the bathtub spa was amazing. It was one of the only places where we had free WiFi in a hotel in New Zealand. A BIG help!!! The manager was the BEST. Gave us good insights about what to see and do not just in Rotorua, but along our route south as well. I would highly recommend this property to anyone visiting Rotorua.
Be sure to see the Maori performance, cultural tour, and beautiful nighttime geysers at Te Puia.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NRPNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Silver Fern Motel in March 2011. We were so impressed that we returned in May 2011, when my partner's mother was with us. The location is right on the main street close to all the attractions. The units are clean, spacious, and the owners have really paid attention to every detail. Everything we needed was there for us. The owner was friendly, helpful and went beyond expectations to do all he could to ensure our stay was comfortable.

If we are back in Rotorua we will definitely stay there again and have already recommended the Silver Fern to friends.

Lynette
USA

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDJ12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Property: Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Address: 326 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star motel accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. The Silver Fern offers free wi-fi, free parking, free DVD hire,free bicycle hire and an on site Day Spa. Spa bath or spa pool in every room, and high quality fittings and furnishings make Silver Fern the best choice for accommodation in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Silver Fern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing