We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom family room which was an amazing surprise. Clean, quite and very comfortable. Loved the personal touches especially the pumis stone and toiletries.
Friendly hosts. Central location, great rates. Will be returning.

Room Tip: Wish we had time but they have an onsite spa as well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan and Darry... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Hi Megan & Darryl,
Thank you for taking the time top post a review on TripAdvisor, we appreciate it. Wonderful to hear you had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Silver Fern.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,017)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

652 - 658 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

When you stay in Rotorua, you want a nice place to stay as sometimes you might just want to escape the sulphur stink of the town! Silver Fern is a great place to give that respite!

We had a superior suite with a queen room and sofa bed, The double room was extremely comfy and had it's own tv. The bathroom was huge, with a giant spa bath (although be careful...the bubble button is very close to where you might think a light switch is...) and they provide lots of toiletries, including makeup remover wipes which I thought was a nice touch. The sofa bed I'm told was not the MOST comfortable ever, but then again, when are they ever?! The kitchenette was well stocked.

There was the option of borrowing some DVDs from reception to watch on the tv in the living room, but there was also Sky Movies channel, so we never got around to watching any.

Would not hesitate to stay again. We had a car, so did not need to walk anywhere, but it might be a bit of a walk into the "centre" if you don't have your own transport.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orourkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We have stayed at Silver Fern on four occasions, most recently with our children and three times as a couple for the Rotorua marathon. It has never disappointed. The rooms are clean, quite and of a high standard. The separate and in-room spa pools are a bonus. Alan and Shirley are very friendly and helpful. We highly recommend it and will return again.

Room Tip: Request a room with a separate spa pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyalRunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Upgraded to the corner executive room away from the street. Very quiet, comfortable and loved the spa. Was recommended a restaurant in the city to eat at which was very good, thanks. If you are a light sleeper I would recommend you stay upstairs and away from the road. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: upstairs, spa, away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ.metge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My wife and I stayed in a superior suite. Very well appointed with everything we required. Very tidy rooms, serviced daily. Friendly, helpful staff made for a wonderful "get-away". Thoroughly enjoyed and have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We had a 2-brm suite - everything very nice, clean, mostly well-maintained. One minor problem was fixed immediately we reported it. Breakfasts were delicious - I can highly recommend the porridge with sugar and cinnamon, yum ! Staff all very friendly and helpful and a selection of DVDs to borrow.
We had a lovely spa experience here also, see separate review.

Room Tip: Further away from the street is probably a good idea as Fenton Street can get quite busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hinemoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This was the best place to stay compared to all the star accommodation we took. Excellent room, with a private spa, Very friendly and helpful front desk. The rooms were not of the highest star hotel standards, but neat well maintained . Regular room services, excellent coupon and discount for many places of attraction. Best for the value and price.

Room Tip: Has a private spa, cooking facilities. and hotel offers excellent discounts for many places of attra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalpana61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Silver Fern and that you thought we were the best place you had stayed at. Thank you very much for writing a review - we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
736 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
886 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
455 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Address: 326 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £84 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star motel accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. The Silver Fern offers free wi-fi, free parking, free DVD hire,free bicycle hire and an on site Day Spa. Spa bath or spa pool in every room, and high quality fittings and furnishings make Silver Fern the best choice for accommodation in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Silver Fern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing