We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxe motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Luxe motel”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Had a very nice stay at Silver Fern. The place was much nicer than we expected. In a town filled with motels, this one really stood out as being much classier looking than the rest (if there is such a thing as a posh motel, this would be it). The rooms was very impressive, we booked the one bedroom suite and it was very nicely decorated, cosy, clean, spacious and comfortable; perfect for 3 people. Loved the bathroom; and the toiletries and bedding were 5 star hotel standard. You can borrow dvd's from the front office, and they were very helpful with arranging a last minute spa session for us when we called them really late and asked if we could do it past opening hours because we were driving from Auckland in the rain and arriving at the hotel late.
We did not have breakfast at Silver Fern as we went out to eat at Third Place Cafe instead which I highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
We are pleased you had a great time with us at The Silver Fern and really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you to stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    243
    44
    8
    3
See reviews for
240
545
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We couldn't fault the accommodation - clean, spacious and perfect for 4 people staying together. 2 bedrooms and a living area. The friendly, helpful service we received from Shirley and Allan. was above and beyond the call of duty. Found us a bottle of wine when we arrived later at night and helped when we split up. Three of us went and did the Canopy tour (fanfastic!) and my mother went to the cultural centre. Shirley very kindly pick her up as she didn't have a car. We had a great couple of days.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Hi Jenny,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay at the Silver Fern. It is great to hear our rooms worked so well for your group, and that you enjoyed the service on offer. We would love to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Hi, we stayed at the Silver Fern last weekend, two couples. Lovely clean rooms, with two king size beds. Some times it is hard to get two rooms with two kings! Alan the owner was very friendly and accommodating, even giving us a ride to town when we asked to order a taxi!
Service above and beyond!
Thanks again Fiona, Chris, Steve and Pauline, Unit 23

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fefifo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Hi Fiona, Chris, Steve and Pauline,
We are so pleased how happy you were with your stay and the availability of a room with two king beds. We look forward to seeing you back at the Silver Fern, and thank you for your review.
Kind regards,
Allan & Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wessex
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were upgraded to an Executive Studio with Spa on the ground floor, which was a treat. Our room was very spacious and clean with a lovely shower room and a large private spa. Free wi-fi. Didn't notice any sulphur smell particularly. No problems overnight with noise from the room above or from the road, slept well in the comfortable bed. Didn't want to drive out to restaurant for dinner so ordered pizza in and it was very tasty. Very helpful owners and a delicious breakfast delivered to our room. Smart place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
It is wonderful to hear your positive feedback about your stay at the Silver Fern while in Rotorua. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate it as this feedback helps us to grow and develop. We look forward to being able to welcome you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed here with my wife for her birthday weekend. The superior room we stayed in was very spacious and clean and tidy. The spa was great and we used this every night we stayed there, a great way to relax and nice and private.
Had free DVDs at reception which was a nice touch as some motels/hotels charge for this.
We didn't use it but they have a beauty spa on site which is another great feature.

Would stay again and was on the main strip so worked well for all our destinations that we went to while in Rotorua.

Room Tip: Superior Suite, get the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girvatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
It is great to hear your positive feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your Superior Suite, the in-room spa, and the free DVD's. Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney, australia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stayed here for just a night towards the beginning of September, 2012, as just a stopover in Rotorua on the way down to Wellington from Auckland. I had taken the bus from Auckland and stopped at the tourist centre. From there, a taxi took me to the motel and I proceeded to the reception area, which was right on the driveway.

The attendant was extremely friendly but my booking for the night could not be found. Somehow, in a terrible oversight, I had booked for the next night instead of the current one. The reception very graciously moved the booking to the present date.

The standard suite was located on the ground level near the driveway and the reception area, although it wasn’t particularly busy at the time so it was still reasonably quiet. The room was clean upon arrival and looked to be well-maintained. It wasn’t the most luxurious room but I also wasn’t expecting that, given the motel type and the rate charged.

The bed was also quite alright in terms of comfort. There was also a glass-top dining table which had two seats, located next to the kitchenette. In addition, the room had two comfortable sofa-type seats near the bed. The dining table could also function as a workdesk area and it was good to see that the room also had complimentary wi-fi internet access. The kitchenette was well-equipped with cutlery and utensils and also included a microwave oven.

I appreciated the good-quality Sony flat-screen TV with a large channel selection. In addition, there were many DVDs available from the reception area. The room directory included a menu book with menus from local restaurants, which could deliver to the motel, so that was a thoughtful addition. The sulfur smell present throughout Rotorua could be found in the room as well but that was to be expected. The weather was still cold in September in Rotorua so the heating in the room was appreciated.

The bathroom was very large and it’s one of the main features of the motel. My room was an accessible one so the shower was not on top of the bath but separate and contained a rail. The spa bath was very large and a simple switch enabled the spa function but it was time-limited. A pumice was supplied along with some good-quality toiletries and many towels, all of them being nice and fluffy.

There wasn’t really much of a public area in my experience. I didn’t try the Silver Fern Spa Studio, which is the Day Spa located onsite. The reception area contained a great deal of tourist information and I also received assistance in trying to find out if I could go on a lake cruise in the afternoon but the weather didn’t co-operate. Nevertheless, the reception was definitely very friendly and helpful.

The location of the motel along Fenton Street was reasonably central but it wasn’t right in the centre of anything and a car drive was still needed to access the restaurants and places of interest. In my case, a car was not hired so the taxi was the only realistic option and it wasn’t helped by the fact that it was raining for part of the time that day. It took about 10 minutes for the taxi to reach the centre of Rotorua.

Overall, it was a very comfortable stay and I received what I’d expected from the room with good value. The owners were friendly so overall, it was a good place to stay in Rotorua.


NOTE: I have a video of the motel room, which can be found through the link in my profile section.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comprehensive review, as it is with this feedback we can continually improve the Silver Fern. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to seeing you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterdown, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Such a wonderful value with so many things available: free wifi, private hot tub in each room, lots of DVD's available for free borrowing from the front desk. Beds are comfortable, with clean and well maintained rooms. Allan and Shirley are extremely friendly and helpful.
The best part is the available breakfast brought right to your room - only $10-15 each and wonderfully made to order. Try the pancakes!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Hi Phil,
Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on the Silver Fern, we really appreciate it. Thrilled to hear you had such a great time and enjoyed the pancakes for breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
707 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
187 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
848 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#12 of 92 in Rotorua
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Property: Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Address: 326 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star motel accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. The Silver Fern offers free wi-fi, free parking, free DVD hire,free bicycle hire and an on site Day Spa. Spa bath or spa pool in every room, and high quality fittings and furnishings make Silver Fern the best choice for accommodation in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Silver Fern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing