We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arista of Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedarwood Lakeside(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$558
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$470
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,063)
Filter reviews
1,063 results
Traveller rating
739
264
49
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
739
264
49
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suiteone bedroom suitenew zealandsmall kitchenettegreat place to stayte puiathe ground floorfree wififenton streetwater pressurewai o tapucomfortable bedroad noisetown centreshort drivewould definitely stay here againhot tub
Filter
Updating list...
686 - 691 of 1,063 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The accommodation was absolutely brilliant and really good value for money. We stayed one night at short notice, and the owners were really friendly on arrival and personally showed us to the room. The room was great, really clean with a lovely spa bath which was great for relaxing after a long trip on the road. The room was great as it had a fully equipped kitchenette and a set of table and chairs which worked out really well as we then decided to just have a take away and eat in the room. The owners were also really helpful with recommending things to go and do in the local area which was brilliant and the reception had a great variety of leaflets for the attractions. Overall, it was a brilliant stay and I wouldn't hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller4679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Had a very nice stay at Silver Fern. The place was much nicer than we expected. In a town filled with motels, this one really stood out as being much classier looking than the rest (if there is such a thing as a posh motel, this would be it). The rooms was very impressive, we booked the one bedroom suite and it was very nicely decorated, cosy, clean, spacious and comfortable; perfect for 3 people. Loved the bathroom; and the toiletries and bedding were 5 star hotel standard. You can borrow dvd's from the front office, and they were very helpful with arranging a last minute spa session for us when we called them really late and asked if we could do it past opening hours because we were driving from Auckland in the rain and arriving at the hotel late.
We did not have breakfast at Silver Fern as we went out to eat at Third Place Cafe instead which I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

We are pleased you had a great time with us at The Silver Fern and really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you to stay again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We couldn't fault the accommodation - clean, spacious and perfect for 4 people staying together. 2 bedrooms and a living area. The friendly, helpful service we received from Shirley and Allan. was above and beyond the call of duty. Found us a bottle of wine when we arrived later at night and helped when we split up. Three of us went and did the Canopy tour (fanfastic!) and my mother went to the cultural centre. Shirley very kindly pick her up as she didn't have a car. We had a great couple of days.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Hi Jenny,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay at the Silver Fern. It is great to hear our rooms worked so well for your group, and that you enjoyed the service on offer. We would love to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Hi, we stayed at the Silver Fern last weekend, two couples. Lovely clean rooms, with two king size beds. Some times it is hard to get two rooms with two kings! Alan the owner was very friendly and accommodating, even giving us a ride to town when we asked to order a taxi!
Service above and beyond!
Thanks again Fiona, Chris, Steve and Pauline, Unit 23

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fefifo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Hi Fiona, Chris, Steve and Pauline,
We are so pleased how happy you were with your stay and the availability of a room with two king beds. We look forward to seeing you back at the Silver Fern, and thank you for your review.
Kind regards,
Allan & Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were upgraded to an Executive Studio with Spa on the ground floor, which was a treat. Our room was very spacious and clean with a lovely shower room and a large private spa. Free wi-fi. Didn't notice any sulphur smell particularly. No problems overnight with noise from the room above or from the road, slept well in the comfortable bed. Didn't want to drive out to restaurant for dinner so ordered pizza in and it was very tasty. Very helpful owners and a delicious breakfast delivered to our room. Smart place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

It is wonderful to hear your positive feedback about your stay at the Silver Fern while in Rotorua. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate it as this feedback helps us to grow and develop. We look forward to being able to welcome you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews