We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silver Fern experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This motel is very attractive from the outside and very welcoming in reception. We had an executive room on ground floor which was spacious with a nice personal spa to the rear of the room. A very comfortable bed but was let down by pillowcases on the pillows that were too small thus giving you very dense pillows and a bullet to sleep on! The room did not have a table upon which to eat your meals which I thought rather strange and only a microwave to cook with, so not giving you the versatility to cook anything other than a ready made meal. Its star rating I think is rather generous and I have stayed in better 4 star motels. Location is in the main street near to most amenities and good continental breakfast.

Room Tip: A room on first floor maybe preferable then you do not have noisy guests above you.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1811027Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,000)
There are newer reviews for Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

621 - 627 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

only stayed one night. Extremely helpful owners, who kindly offered to run me into town. Only a 30 min walk on a nice day, so happy enough to take in the sights on foot. Very clean, quiet and warm studio unit. Plentiful utilities, and linen. Very comfortable bed. I didn't use the spa, however it looked very enticing. I didn't chose the room service breakfast, only because I like my three cups of strong espresso coffee and there wasn't coffee on menu, and the one cup of plunger coffee and satchel wasn't enough for me. Maybe one thing they could better accommodate on menu, however I acknowledge that maybe I need to reduce my reliance on caffeine in the morning!!! Well positioned near thermal attractions. I would have no hesitation bringing the wife & kids to stay here, as it lends itself well toward family accommodation. Good old fashioned Kiwi service, smiles and accommodation. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We only had 1 night at the Silver Fern, had booked on their website the week before and the website was easy enough to use, it was a little difficult to see what type of room had what but when we checked in Shirley had upgraded us free of charge to an Executive Studio - had a spa right next to the bed - was fantastic!!!!
The room was spacious, clean and had a very cute but useful kitchenette. The bed was comfortable and warm.
The bathroom was light (perfect light for make up), fresh and the toiletries were far from budget. Plus they had a make up towelette - a wonderful and thoughtful touch!
From the moment we checked in to the morning we left, we had very helpful assistance.
We were given brochures for things to do in Rotorua and with that discount vouchers, which came in perfect. We saved a lot and did so much more!
The location was good, and very easy to find.
the parking was the only thing that became in issue as we went out for a late night and didn't come back til late, there were no parks left and had to park on the grass but with how amazing this place was i wasn't surprised that it was booked out.
Will definitely stay at the Silver Fern again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber-Rose E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We were there for 3 nights with 2 bedrooms apt which overall excellent stay. The room were cleaned each day and the owner quite helpful and friendly too.full kitchenette and neat. Location is good , few minutes drive to town and Shirley was recommended a Thai 's restaurant which was great and reasonable price. Would recommend anyone to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanlua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We had a lovely couple of nights staying at the Silver Fern. The room was very well appointed, clean and comfortable. There was an excellent range of towels, dressing gowns and toiletries. We were delighted with the full size hot tub, which was a perfect way to relax after a busy day travelling.

The motel is within walking distance of the centre of Rotorua, and has bikes available for guests to borrow. We received a carton of fresh milk for tea and coffee when we checked in and there is also a good selection of DVDs to borrow from reception.

Clem at reception was fantastic, from the warm welcome, to giving advice on the best ways of spending our time in Rotorua and booking us on a trip with Grumpy's Tours to Wai-O-Tapu (which we also highly recommend). He even dropped us at the bus station on the day of our departure, which was much appreciated. I accidentally took the room key with us when we left, but even then Clem was understanding and just asked that I dropped them in a post box.

We had a fantastic time staying here, and highly recommend the Silver Fern. We would definitely stay here again if we visit Rotorua again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InformalAlchemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The accommodation was absolutely brilliant and really good value for money. We stayed one night at short notice, and the owners were really friendly on arrival and personally showed us to the room. The room was great, really clean with a lovely spa bath which was great for relaxing after a long trip on the road. The room was great as it had a fully equipped kitchenette and a set of table and chairs which worked out really well as we then decided to just have a take away and eat in the room. The owners were also really helpful with recommending things to go and do in the local area which was brilliant and the reception had a great variety of leaflets for the attractions. Overall, it was a brilliant stay and I wouldn't hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller4679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Had a very nice stay at Silver Fern. The place was much nicer than we expected. In a town filled with motels, this one really stood out as being much classier looking than the rest (if there is such a thing as a posh motel, this would be it). The rooms was very impressive, we booked the one bedroom suite and it was very nicely decorated, cosy, clean, spacious and comfortable; perfect for 3 people. Loved the bathroom; and the toiletries and bedding were 5 star hotel standard. You can borrow dvd's from the front office, and they were very helpful with arranging a last minute spa session for us when we called them really late and asked if we could do it past opening hours because we were driving from Auckland in the rain and arriving at the hotel late.
We did not have breakfast at Silver Fern as we went out to eat at Third Place Cafe instead which I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

We are pleased you had a great time with us at The Silver Fern and really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you to stay again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Address: 326 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £81 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star motel accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. The Silver Fern offers free wi-fi, free parking, free DVD hire,free bicycle hire and an on site Day Spa. Spa bath or spa pool in every room, and high quality fittings and furnishings make Silver Fern the best choice for accommodation in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Silver Fern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing