We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Made to feel welcome as soon as I stepped out of the car. Nothing was a problem for the owners, even did a walk through of the room to ensure all was ok.
Rooms were quite large & super clean with everything you could need for a short stay.
Will definitely be my first choice when I next return, hopefully for leisure rather than business.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    236
    43
    8
    2
See reviews for
229
532
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We arrived to a very welcome reception, our room wasn't quite ready so the owner went through a lot of leaflets of attractions around Rotorua (I think she was trying to keep us there for a week)
Very nice staff and very helpful with directions.
The room was very clean and the bath was great. It is a little out of town but a very easy drive would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairebooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint James, New York, Usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

If you plan on staying in Rotorua, choose the Silver Fern as your hotel. We only stayed for one night, but if we didn't have a tight schedule, I would gladly have stayed another night or two. The hotel is a little outside of the town center, but it is easy to either drive or walk there (we walked). The room we had (on the ground floor) was very attractively furnished, with a little kitchen/dining area just next to a window. It was very quiet, despite being one of the units closest to the road. The sliding door (=the entrance door to the room) and the other window had sheer curtains, which provided privacy, yet let light in. In the evening, one could close the 2nd set of curtains for complete privacy. The bathroom was surprising by its size (huge) and the jacuzzi bathtub was a nice plus. The separate shower was roomy, the towels fluffy and plentiful and the toiletries quite nice. Another plus was the free internet connection, rare in hotels in this part of the world.
All in all, one of our better hotel choices in New Zealand.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank queenstandingwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

This motel is very attractive from the outside and very welcoming in reception. We had an executive room on ground floor which was spacious with a nice personal spa to the rear of the room. A very comfortable bed but was let down by pillowcases on the pillows that were too small thus giving you very dense pillows and a bullet to sleep on! The room did not have a table upon which to eat your meals which I thought rather strange and only a microwave to cook with, so not giving you the versatility to cook anything other than a ready made meal. Its star rating I think is rather generous and I have stayed in better 4 star motels. Location is in the main street near to most amenities and good continental breakfast.

Room Tip: A room on first floor maybe preferable then you do not have noisy guests above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1811027Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

only stayed one night. Extremely helpful owners, who kindly offered to run me into town. Only a 30 min walk on a nice day, so happy enough to take in the sights on foot. Very clean, quiet and warm studio unit. Plentiful utilities, and linen. Very comfortable bed. I didn't use the spa, however it looked very enticing. I didn't chose the room service breakfast, only because I like my three cups of strong espresso coffee and there wasn't coffee on menu, and the one cup of plunger coffee and satchel wasn't enough for me. Maybe one thing they could better accommodate on menu, however I acknowledge that maybe I need to reduce my reliance on caffeine in the morning!!! Well positioned near thermal attractions. I would have no hesitation bringing the wife & kids to stay here, as it lends itself well toward family accommodation. Good old fashioned Kiwi service, smiles and accommodation. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We only had 1 night at the Silver Fern, had booked on their website the week before and the website was easy enough to use, it was a little difficult to see what type of room had what but when we checked in Shirley had upgraded us free of charge to an Executive Studio - had a spa right next to the bed - was fantastic!!!!
The room was spacious, clean and had a very cute but useful kitchenette. The bed was comfortable and warm.
The bathroom was light (perfect light for make up), fresh and the toiletries were far from budget. Plus they had a make up towelette - a wonderful and thoughtful touch!
From the moment we checked in to the morning we left, we had very helpful assistance.
We were given brochures for things to do in Rotorua and with that discount vouchers, which came in perfect. We saved a lot and did so much more!
The location was good, and very easy to find.
the parking was the only thing that became in issue as we went out for a late night and didn't come back til late, there were no parks left and had to park on the grass but with how amazing this place was i wasn't surprised that it was booked out.
Will definitely stay at the Silver Fern again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber-Rose E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We were there for 3 nights with 2 bedrooms apt which overall excellent stay. The room were cleaned each day and the owner quite helpful and friendly too.full kitchenette and neat. Location is good , few minutes drive to town and Shirley was recommended a Thai 's restaurant which was great and reasonable price. Would recommend anyone to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanlua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#15 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Property: Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Address: 326 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star motel accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. The Silver Fern offers free wi-fi, free parking, free DVD hire,free bicycle hire and an on site Day Spa. Spa bath or spa pool in every room, and high quality fittings and furnishings make Silver Fern the best choice for accommodation in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Silver Fern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing