We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a spa bath”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a spa bath”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Silver Fern was a very comfortable place to stay. Our room, was spacious as was the spa bath (with shower over). It was well appointed, comfortable. We had an upstairs corner room which had lots of big windows but also good black out curtains. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. Although it was out of town a bit, this did not worry us as we were able to drive to places we wanted to see and the Tamaki Maori Cultural Village sent a pick up bus to the motel for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    240
    44
    8
    3
See reviews for
237
543
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
174 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Silver Fern is a modern motel on Fenton St (the main road through the centre), though a little bit outside the main centre - there are places to eat within walking distance however.
We were upgraded to a better room on checkin without asking as the motel was quiet, which was a nice touch.
The rooms have huge spa baths (air spa baths rather than the usual water jets, which were much better). The only warning would be that the shower/bath isn't suitable for someone with limited mobility.

There is a spa on site, but do try to book in advance to get the times you want as the therapists are not always on site.
Only thing stopping the 5 stars is the lack of air con and slightly out of town location

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MayesTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We spent three nights here. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Helped us a lot with planning our time in the Rotorua area as well as making reservations for us. As stated in a previous review, the only small (very small) negatives are that it is a bit of a walk to the city centre and parking was tight. We would definitely recommend the Silver Fern.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KathyfromMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Our stopover stay in Rotorua was made real comfy at Silver Fern by Allan and Shirley who were the perfect hosts..... Would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Rotorua... The rooms were clean and well kept and the location was great too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lester D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We booked this motel on the basis of previous excellent reviews and were not disappointed. Our room was large and very well equipped including our own spa bath in a very spacious bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. Allan and Shirley, the owners were away while we were there but Carol and her husband who were looking after things were very friendly and helpful in advising on places to visit. Overall, we loved Rotorua and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Silver Fern.

Room Tip: Check out the reviews of previous guests before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaceyNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 days at the Silver Fern and it was perfect! The room was large, clean, and well appointed.

The owners were very friendly and helpful. We consulted Allan at the front desk on best things to do. His suggestions turned out very well and we really enjoyed Rotorua in part because of this. He even loaned me a screwdriver to fix a loose part on the rental :)

They definitely have earned their high ranking - highly recommended!

Zing

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zing64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Very stylish and smart apartment with large very comfortable bed, and an enormous spa bath. Plenty of space in both the main room and bathroom. Good TV. Nice toiletries and good selection of tea and coffee. Welcoming helpful host. The only (minor) negatives we're no aircon, a bit of road noise, but not a problem, limited self catering (just a microwave), limited car parking space (some we're parked on a grassed area) and too far from the centre of Rotorua to walk. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
690 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
385 reviews
1.0 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Property: Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Address: 326 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star motel accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. The Silver Fern offers free wi-fi, free parking, free DVD hire,free bicycle hire and an on site Day Spa. Spa bath or spa pool in every room, and high quality fittings and furnishings make Silver Fern the best choice for accommodation in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Silver Fern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing