We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
central Victoria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good motel”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed in a 2 BR unit with 3 children- 9 yr old on a rollaway. The rooms are clean and tasteful although quite small- I wouldn't want to spend much time in the unit. Luckily we didn't have to.I was surprised by the spa- dominates the bathroom. Not necessarily a bad thing. There are lots of motels in the area- good location. Also staff helpful at reception for booking tours etc

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard8108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    243
    44
    8
    3
See reviews for
240
545
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Clean, spacious, close to the main road, but very average and highly "overrated online" (our room was overpriced by approximately 30%, based on actual condition and accommodation... appears to be an old remodel?)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ineza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Thank you Allan and Shirley for a wonderful stay in Rotorua!

My husband and I learned of Silver Fern Rotorua from our "Frommer's Day-by-Day Guide to New Zealand." We stayed for three nights from January 11 - 14, 2014 on our "Dream-Honeymoon-Cross-Country-NZ-Road-Trip" and we were exceedingly happy for a clean, relaxing, enjoyable spa accommodation at Silver Fern.

Things we loved:
- Allan was exceptionally welcoming and helpful in providing us with directions, advice, travel/tourist/dining ideas.
- Clean, spacious rooms with complete kitchenette (ideal for us as we were buying groceries for lunches, snacks, breakfasts)
- Free wifi (nice to be "unplugged" on holiday, but also nice to update our family back home w/o having to search town for internet cafes)
- Lovely balcony with patio table/chairs
- Free parking available
- Peaceful suite towards the back (away from the road)
- Romantic suite spa and Manuka-made lotions and creams in washroom
- Cozy, warm bathrobes! SO nice to have these available after shower or spa
- Easy to find location

Thanks again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This is a great place to stay; probably my favourite hotel in New Zealand. We had a large, very tastefully decorated room with both spa tub and shower in the bathroom; spotlessly clean, great bed, great service, great location. Loved it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrillerBurlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverFernRotorua, Manager at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. It makes our job that much more enjoyable when we receive comments such as yours. We hope to see you again at the Silver Fern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent. Fully free wifi, not limited to a certain length of time/download cap. The spa bath in the room is a great novelty, being able to watch tv while in the tub! Very relaxing.

Lots of little extra touches which take it from very good to excellent. Fancy manuka handmade soaps in the bathroom, so much nicer than the usual cheap soaps you find at pretty much every hotel and motel in the world.
BBQ available downstairs.
Lovely grounds around the motel.
We had a corner room upstairs which had two sets of table/chairs for eating outside. All very clean. 2 dressing gowns in the wardrobe which were perfect for use after the hottub. DVDs available from reception.

Overall I can't flaw it in anyway. Will most definitely be back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MindyWar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Silver Fern and we look forward to having you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with the spa indulgence package. Allan was exceptionally welcoming with his warm service, by walking us to the room, and directing us on our needs. The room was very clean; there were free DVD's for us to watch.

We had problems with the TV initially, but Allan immediately helped resolve it. Allan was also very honest, when he corrected his wife's misunderstanding that breakfast was not included on the 2nd day, which we had decided to have it anyway, by waiving any extra charges that would have been added.

Well done, Allan and co! I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Rotorua.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheeyongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for your recommendation and taking the time to leave a review. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed the Spa Indulgence Package during your stay at the Silver Fern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stay with my wife and kid (18 months ) in The silver fern and we really enjoyed our experience.
The owner is really helpful and polite.
The room was spacious and confortable with a nice Jacuzzi.
Breakfast was delivered on time: simple but tasty at a reasonable price.
I will totally recommend this hotel .
Thanks Allan.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lundachile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
We're happy to hear that your family enjoyed their stay at the Silver Fern. We appreciate you taking your time to leave us such a great review. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
707 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
187 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
848 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#12 of 92 in Rotorua
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Property: Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Address: 326 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star motel accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. The Silver Fern offers free wi-fi, free parking, free DVD hire,free bicycle hire and an on site Day Spa. Spa bath or spa pool in every room, and high quality fittings and furnishings make Silver Fern the best choice for accommodation in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Silver Fern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing