We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lucky find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a lucky find!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We travel quite a bit and stay in 4 or 5 star hotels. Nothing ever seems to be 100%. BUT HERE IT IS! We were booked one night but liked the place and it's owners so much we extended our stay to 3 days and took a vacation from our vacation, just kicked back and used this as our base to explore the region. The owners, Allan and Shirley, were very accommodating and gave us all the info about Rotorua and the surrounding area. Allan's a kick and Shirley's a doll.
The room was a king size studio that was very roomy with a balcony that overlooked a park (Room 12). The kitchen was well equipped. The only thing lacking was a stove but we learned to cook eggs in a microwave! It had a fridge, electric teapot, French coffee press, corkscrew, etc. The whole place was SPOTLESS! The bed was comfy and the linens nice. And then there was the in-room spa bath.....it was HUGE! The shower head was a large rain one with good pressure. And again, SPOTLESS!
All over New Zealand they have a very annoying habit of being stingy with the internet. This code, that code, available for free but only for a half hour and only in the lobby, etc. etc. This place had FREE INTERNET THAT WAS ON THE ENTIRE TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!! The whole country could take a lesson here, it's good for all businesses to share the resource.
This was such a good find in a town with countless motels and hotels.

Room Tip: Book room 12 with king bed, good cross breeze and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padredecasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    242
    44
    8
    3
See reviews for
240
544
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My partner and I spent 2 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. After reading several reviews on Trip Advisor of many hotels and motels in Rotorua, we were convinced from what we read about Silver Fern, it was the place for us. We were not disappointed. We had a one bedroom suite which consisted of a living area, separate bedroom and a bathroom, which led to a private outdoor spa area. It was immaculately clean and well appointed. The owners, Shirley and Allan were delightful, and went out of their way to make our stay a wonderful experience. A cooked breakfast was brought to our room each morning. A DVD library was available to us at the main desk. Of course the spa was used both nights. Our daughter joined us on the second night, as she had finished a tour around the North Island. Although we had not previously booked for her (we were not able to split the booking online) without any fuss, the sofa was converted and made up into a bed. I am delighted to be able to recommend Silver Fern Rotorua to other travellers and believe that you will enjoy the stay as much as us.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzBods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stopped here after a long day at Waitomo Caves where we did a caving tour. The drive from Waitomo Caves area was over 3 hours and my brilliant husband suggested I call the hotel on our drive to confirm we are still checking in since it was 8:30pm. Good thing we did call since The owners of the hotel close up the front desk at 9pm and we would have been SOL with our reservation.

Paul and his wife waited 15 min past close for us to arrive and showed us to a quaint room. Paul and his wife were super friendly and full of great suggestions. The room was comfortable, a little dated but clean and had an awesome huge jacuzzi spa tub in the bathroom. Unfortunately, we were only staying the night and then heading to Wellington so we couldn't take advantage of all the great suggestions Paul had or the fabulous spa tub.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mankoosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, VA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Very nice and clean accommodation. Big room with a large spa tub to relax in. The kitchenette made it convenient to prepare a simple breakfast with supplies bought at the Pak N Save up the street. In addition, the front desk staff was VERY warm and friendly. They were helpful on providing advice on local attractions and some discount coupons.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SagunaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Per booked sight unseen 8 months ago I wanted two bedrooms a lounge area and a big bath. Well I got everything I wished for even better the second bedroom had a queen sized bed so great for friends travelling together. The bath was a huge spa bath, did not need it after all but great in case we did. The kitchenette had everything you needed to either cook something or reheat. Beds very comfortable. One bathroom between three adults is acceptable and the price was very reasonable. The caretaker managers were absolutely lovely and took a great deal of pride in the place. Overall very recommended.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank african_aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We only spent two days at this motel as part of our 3 week New Zealand tour. This was one of the nicest motels we stayed in during our time there and we did stay in lots of motels. The Spa bath was used on more than one occasion. The Owners were helpful beyond required booking excursions to make our stay easier and cheaper with the discount they obtained. I would undoubtedly recommend this Motel to anybody looking for good clean roomy accommodation.
The bed was massive and linen excellent. Great thought had gone into every detail of the accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Just what we needed - friendly knowledgeable staff, lovely comfortable bed, great room - clean neat modern - and nice touches - microwave, fridge and a good selection of teas and plunger coffee. Only slight criticism - room was very hot in the late afternoon when we arrived and the air blowing on "cool air' was pretty warm too. A small fan helped and I realise it is rarely hot in Rotorua. I'm sure if I asked they would have moved us - the people on the desk were certainly very friendly. Maybe the units facing the road (west) should be used last if its a hot day - really only a small issue.

Room Tip: Further back and not west facing if its a hot sunny afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacky_M0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
697 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
841 reviews
1.0 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Property: Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Address: 326 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star motel accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. The Silver Fern offers free wi-fi, free parking, free DVD hire,free bicycle hire and an on site Day Spa. Spa bath or spa pool in every room, and high quality fittings and furnishings make Silver Fern the best choice for accommodation in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Silver Fern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing