We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“N Island tour 6”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This motel is set on the main road on the outskirts of Rotorua. We had a corner room on the first floor (No. 16). It was a good size, lovely and bright with a good sized bathroom and spa bath. The managers were very knowledgeable and helpful and offered us discount vouchers for Wai-o-Tapu. They also did an excellent cooked breakfast.

We went to the Tamaki Mauri village feast (picked us up outside the motel) and were very impressed with the quality and quantity of the food included. We were joined by our son and young family so went to the Skyline and enjoyed taking the children on the luge.

We ate at Ciccio in Rotorua. There is a good selection of places to eat in the centre in an area renamed 'Eat Street'.

On our way to Taupo.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,006)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

522 - 528 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

GOOD: 1. Free car parking and free wi-fi internet in room with good speed. 2. Owners are very friendly and helpful, we had a free upgrade. 3. Rooms are big, with kitchen and teapot, microwave, electric range etc. 4. Late check-out at 11 a.m. 5. Located near main places of interest in town.

BAD: 1. Breakfast is a-la carte and a little expensive, e.g. omlet is 14 NZ dollars. 2. Reception hours are 7.30 a.m. - 9.30 p.m. 3. Shower is not convenient, when you take it, a lot of water flows on the floor.

Room Tip: Better take rooms on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyEstray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I travel around New Zealand with work, and the Silver Fern is by far my favourite place to stay! The rooms are always spotlessly clean, I love that they are all slightly different, I have stayed in most of them, and would find it hard to pick just one as my favourite, as they are all modern and comfortable! It's an easy walk into town, the location is perfect! As you get closer to town it can get noisy, so the Silver Fern is perfect if you want to relax and not worry about street noise!! They also have a day spa, and the facials are incredible!! There's also nothing better in the morning than having your breakfast delivered with freshly brewed coffee!! Thank you Allen and Shirley, you really are the best!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

As a sales rep finding good and affordable accommodation is hard to come by these days, and when I am in Rotorua there could only be the one for me The Silver Fern!!! Great customer service friendly couple, very welcoming and always have a smile of their faces. I would recommend this place to friends, families and co workers every time they mention they are going to Rotorua. Bless The Silver Fern xx

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missmandichow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The owners are very nice and funny! The appartment was very cosy and gave me an immediate feeling of "I'm home!". Clean, quiet, perfect!
After a call to my room "are you ready for breakfast?" the owner brought me his self-made delicious breakfast.
My stay was only 15 hours, but definitely the best 15 hours in hotels during my trip!

And pelase see the pic what they do for marketing ;-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We selected Silver Fern at Rotorua after reading other reviews and we're not disappointed. The welcome was friendly, the rooms very well appointed with everything of a high standard. The location was good near restaurants. We were able to use a guest laundry. Would recommend to other travellers looking for a spot in Rotorua.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We arrived at Silver Fern having driven straight from Auckland and the flight from Hong Kong, so were not in the best shape. We were checked in quickly, given some milk and shown to our suite. This was just wonderful - attractive, clean, well furnished and equipped, with a wonderful spa bath which was just what I needed, with a cup of tea on the side. Shirley suggested the Polynesian Spa for a warm soak and advised us when to go for it to be quietest; she lent us some towels when we went the following day. She also recommended local attractions and eating places. It was a great introduction to New Zealand hospitality. Looking back at the other places we stayed in over our 3 week holiday, I think Silver Fern offered good value for money, though it seemed expensive at the time.

Room Tip: Our corner suite on the ground floor, no 5, had windows on two sides so was lovely and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#11 of 92 in Rotorua
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Address: 326 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £83 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star motel accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. The Silver Fern offers free wi-fi, free parking, free DVD hire,free bicycle hire and an on site Day Spa. Spa bath or spa pool in every room, and high quality fittings and furnishings make Silver Fern the best choice for accommodation in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Silver Fern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing