We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and will stay again before we leave New Zealand!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and will stay again before we leave New Zealand!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My partner and I stayed in the honeymoon suite over the Christmas period. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it to any young couple looking for a lovely weekend away!

We bought the romance package which include a beautiful bouquet of roses, a chocolate and cheese platter and a lovely gift box. All of this was very exciting and exceeded our expectations.

The room was excellent. It had beautiful bedding and a large TV. The bathroom was perfect with large shower. There was also a kitchen area - sink and cupboard space with small fridge.

However the best part was the spa bath! Extra large with seating areas and in direct view of the TV and right next to the bed. What more could you ask for and at such a great price.

I cannot say too much about the owners as we did not see them much as it was over the Christmas period although when we did meet them they were friendly and offered us their dvd collection.

The breakfast was good also.

In summary I would recommend this place to anyone who would like a bit of luxury while in Rotorua.

Room Tip: Choose the honeymoon suite with romance package as the price difference is not much and worth every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    240
    44
    8
    3
See reviews for
237
543
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the Silver Fern Rotorua a number of times and struggle to find fault.We have also travelled with another couple who have also stayed a couple of times at Silver Fern.
Quite frankly we have no reason to stay anywhere else. We have always found the team to be friendly and the accommodation to be first class. Our most recent stay we tried the cooked breakfasts for the first time and were blown away. The quality and taste was fantastic, not to mention that they were very affordable.
We are due to be back in Rotorua again in the next few months and you guessed it ----- Silver Fern here we come.

Room Tip: We like upstairs as they have the provision for you to sit outside on the patio and enjoy a drink or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 623Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This motel is set on the main road on the outskirts of Rotorua. We had a corner room on the first floor (No. 16). It was a good size, lovely and bright with a good sized bathroom and spa bath. The managers were very knowledgeable and helpful and offered us discount vouchers for Wai-o-Tapu. They also did an excellent cooked breakfast.

We went to the Tamaki Mauri village feast (picked us up outside the motel) and were very impressed with the quality and quantity of the food included. We were joined by our son and young family so went to the Skyline and enjoyed taking the children on the luge.

We ate at Ciccio in Rotorua. There is a good selection of places to eat in the centre in an area renamed 'Eat Street'.

On our way to Taupo.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

GOOD: 1. Free car parking and free wi-fi internet in room with good speed. 2. Owners are very friendly and helpful, we had a free upgrade. 3. Rooms are big, with kitchen and teapot, microwave, electric range etc. 4. Late check-out at 11 a.m. 5. Located near main places of interest in town.

BAD: 1. Breakfast is a-la carte and a little expensive, e.g. omlet is 14 NZ dollars. 2. Reception hours are 7.30 a.m. - 9.30 p.m. 3. Shower is not convenient, when you take it, a lot of water flows on the floor.

Room Tip: Better take rooms on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyEstray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I travel around New Zealand with work, and the Silver Fern is by far my favourite place to stay! The rooms are always spotlessly clean, I love that they are all slightly different, I have stayed in most of them, and would find it hard to pick just one as my favourite, as they are all modern and comfortable! It's an easy walk into town, the location is perfect! As you get closer to town it can get noisy, so the Silver Fern is perfect if you want to relax and not worry about street noise!! They also have a day spa, and the facials are incredible!! There's also nothing better in the morning than having your breakfast delivered with freshly brewed coffee!! Thank you Allen and Shirley, you really are the best!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2014

As a sales rep finding good and affordable accommodation is hard to come by these days, and when I am in Rotorua there could only be the one for me The Silver Fern!!! Great customer service friendly couple, very welcoming and always have a smile of their faces. I would recommend this place to friends, families and co workers every time they mention they are going to Rotorua. Bless The Silver Fern xx

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missmandichow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The owners are very nice and funny! The appartment was very cosy and gave me an immediate feeling of "I'm home!". Clean, quiet, perfect!
After a call to my room "are you ready for breakfast?" the owner brought me his self-made delicious breakfast.
My stay was only 15 hours, but definitely the best 15 hours in hotels during my trip!

And pelase see the pic what they do for marketing ;-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 92 in Rotorua
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
384 reviews
1.0 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Property: Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Address: 326 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star motel accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. The Silver Fern offers free wi-fi, free parking, free DVD hire,free bicycle hire and an on site Day Spa. Spa bath or spa pool in every room, and high quality fittings and furnishings make Silver Fern the best choice for accommodation in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Silver Fern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing