We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place, super clean and friendly owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed there three nights recently with my husband. We both appreciated the amenities, the confortable bed, the friendliness of the owners. This is a four star motel and when I go back to Rotorua this is where we'll be staying again for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tennisgirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,000)
There are newer reviews for Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

Silver Fern great place to stay.
The king size spa suite was well appointed
the room was made up each day.
Allan and Shirley were both very friendly and helpful.
The question is would we stay there again,for sure it is lovely. Close to everything, shops attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo-Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was the second time I have stayed at Silver Fern, last time as a family and this time just as a couple. The owners are genuinely friendly and helpful. The rooms comfortable, well equipped and clean. Seperate spa in outdoor area and plenty of towells provided. All reasons why we returned and would definitely consider staying again in the future as a couple or family.
The only remark in an otherwise pleasant stay - We ordered in a meal from a local resturant and had it delivered and charged back. Got a suprise fee (more than I felt was reasonable) at checkout that I wasnt anticipating for the chargeback. The resturant gave me a choice of paying by credit card over the phone or chargeback. I chose chargeback simply because it seemed marginally easier to tally it altogether in one transaction. I have never been charged a fee for meal charge back in the past and now I'll know for next time!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aidsnang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My partner and I stayed in the honeymoon suite over the Christmas period. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it to any young couple looking for a lovely weekend away!

We bought the romance package which include a beautiful bouquet of roses, a chocolate and cheese platter and a lovely gift box. All of this was very exciting and exceeded our expectations.

The room was excellent. It had beautiful bedding and a large TV. The bathroom was perfect with large shower. There was also a kitchen area - sink and cupboard space with small fridge.

However the best part was the spa bath! Extra large with seating areas and in direct view of the TV and right next to the bed. What more could you ask for and at such a great price.

I cannot say too much about the owners as we did not see them much as it was over the Christmas period although when we did meet them they were friendly and offered us their dvd collection.

The breakfast was good also.

In summary I would recommend this place to anyone who would like a bit of luxury while in Rotorua.

Room Tip: Choose the honeymoon suite with romance package as the price difference is not much and worth every...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the Silver Fern Rotorua a number of times and struggle to find fault.We have also travelled with another couple who have also stayed a couple of times at Silver Fern.
Quite frankly we have no reason to stay anywhere else. We have always found the team to be friendly and the accommodation to be first class. Our most recent stay we tried the cooked breakfasts for the first time and were blown away. The quality and taste was fantastic, not to mention that they were very affordable.
We are due to be back in Rotorua again in the next few months and you guessed it ----- Silver Fern here we come.

Room Tip: We like upstairs as they have the provision for you to sit outside on the patio and enjoy a drink or...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 623Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This motel is set on the main road on the outskirts of Rotorua. We had a corner room on the first floor (No. 16). It was a good size, lovely and bright with a good sized bathroom and spa bath. The managers were very knowledgeable and helpful and offered us discount vouchers for Wai-o-Tapu. They also did an excellent cooked breakfast.

We went to the Tamaki Mauri village feast (picked us up outside the motel) and were very impressed with the quality and quantity of the food included. We were joined by our son and young family so went to the Skyline and enjoyed taking the children on the luge.

We ate at Ciccio in Rotorua. There is a good selection of places to eat in the centre in an area renamed 'Eat Street'.

On our way to Taupo.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

GOOD: 1. Free car parking and free wi-fi internet in room with good speed. 2. Owners are very friendly and helpful, we had a free upgrade. 3. Rooms are big, with kitchen and teapot, microwave, electric range etc. 4. Late check-out at 11 a.m. 5. Located near main places of interest in town.

BAD: 1. Breakfast is a-la carte and a little expensive, e.g. omlet is 14 NZ dollars. 2. Reception hours are 7.30 a.m. - 9.30 p.m. 3. Shower is not convenient, when you take it, a lot of water flows on the floor.

Room Tip: Better take rooms on the 2nd floor
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyEstray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Address: 326 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £82 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star motel accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. The Silver Fern offers free wi-fi, free parking, free DVD hire,free bicycle hire and an on site Day Spa. Spa bath or spa pool in every room, and high quality fittings and furnishings make Silver Fern the best choice for accommodation in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Silver Fern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing