We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Accommodation that thinks of everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Accommodation that thinks of everything”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed at the Silver fern in Rotorua over the weekend and was amazed at how great everything was. My room was large with a spa bath and everything I could possibly need for the two days was provided - including ground coffee and a cafetiere! The Spa bath was beautiful and I spent a lot of time relaxing in it over a good book. The location is perfect - a 20 min level walk into the centre of town and on the road out of Rotorua towards some of the main attractions.

A brilliant hotel - beautiful room and everything you need, wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44Gems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    237
    44
    8
    3
See reviews for
233
541
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington NC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

What a beautiful surprise this turned out to be! If we'd known how nice it was, we'd have organized our itinerary so that we could have stayed longer. The complex is newer, well laid out, quiet, and spotless. The rooms that we'd reserved both had large whirlpool tubs in them . . . so relaxing after a day of sightseeing! The bedroom / kitchenette area was spacious, and had everything that we needed. The bathroom was large. There's a spa onsite, however we have other commitments ahead, so we won't be able to use it. There's also a guest laundry; this is so helpful when one is traveling for weeks on end, as we are. The onsite owners/managers are friendly and helpful. The location is on one of the main streets of Rotorua, though street noise is NOT a problem. It's also minutes from the restaurant district, grocery store, drug store, and a few minutes out to the Whakarewarewa Village.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are so convenient when you're "seniors" like us & have bags to d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmax14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I am a regular business traveller and have stayed in many hotels and motels in Rotorua. Silver Fern is by far is the best of them all and is now my preferred choice when I'm there several times a year.

No matter what time of the day I arrive, Allan and Shirley are always very welcoming. If you are loking for incredible service, then this is the place to stay. The rooms are immaculate - very modern, clean and spacious - and have all the amenities you need. The kitchen is a good size for self-catering. Generous attention to small detail is always noted such as use of quality bathroom and kitchen products. The beds are extemely comfortable. Having unlimited fast speed wi-fi is extremely important for a corporate traveller and her it is always reliable. The spa baths in the room are an obvious added bonus.

Location wise, you are close to the tourist attractions in Rotorua, and also to the large shopping centre in town and supermarkets nearby. There is ample carparking, and is well sign posted so that you can find this easily.

I fully recommend the Silver Fern to any visitors to Rotorua - you truly will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wonkage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The rooms are finished to a high standard with tasteful decor and are exceptionally clean and well-equipped. The beds are comfy, the towels are big and fluffy, and the spa pools are a real treat. Te Puia geothermal park is nearby which is great, but the sulphurous smells of Rotorua are fairly strong around here. You soon get used to it. Supermarkets and restaurants are a short march away heading in the direction of the lake. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

A nicely appointed motel situated in the "motel main street" of Rotorua. Silver Fern offers spacious rooms, comfy beds and a little kitchen area which is nice if you want to sort out your own breakfast- (they also serve very nice smelling breakfasts although we didn't try them!). The owners are very knowledgeable and helpful and will be able to point you in the right direction for the local attractions.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trinketgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

The location of Silver Fern in Rotorua is excellent. You are minutes away from Te Puia and the Whaka Village. We were very happy with our room and even managed to make use of the in -room spa. The availability of guest laundry was an added bonus.

With all the geothermal activity, you will read that Rotorua does have a bit of a smell of sulphur. Interestingly, we found this scent intensified around the end of Fenton street. This did not bother us but if you are very sensitive to smells you may want to consider staying a bit further away from the geyser. Otherwise, I would not hesitate to recommend Silver Fern as a place to stay in Rotorua.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed there three nights recently with my husband. We both appreciated the amenities, the confortable bed, the friendliness of the owners. This is a four star motel and when I go back to Rotorua this is where we'll be staying again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tennisgirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Property: Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Address: 326 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star motel accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. The Silver Fern offers free wi-fi, free parking, free DVD hire,free bicycle hire and an on site Day Spa. Spa bath or spa pool in every room, and high quality fittings and furnishings make Silver Fern the best choice for accommodation in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Silver Fern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing