We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing place to stay when you want to see Rotorua”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Ranked #7 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2010

This is a good quality Motel that has a lovely ambience. The rooms are well appointed with modern furniture and furnishings, clean and tidy with good heating which is essential in Rotorua in winter. The rooms have a good size hot pool per unit that is filled fresh each time you use it. There is a simple TV/ DVD system in the room we stayed in but it functioned well without having to be charged to watch movies. The managers are very helpful whilst allowing you totally enjoy your private get-away.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete_VTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,034)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

956 - 962 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2010

Firstly, don't let the smell of the local attraction put you off! It was very convenient for visiting the thermal pools the morning after our stay.
The room was fully furbished for the independent traveller with kitchen/lounge area for cooking/eating own meals as we did on this occasion having provisions left over from camping, this did make it a cost effective stay. The bathroom was large with it's own spa bath which we filled and enjoyed, my thought though is that the pumps were very nosy and did this disturb others (next door/ downstairs). In the morning when showering this did flood the bathroom as the lip of the bath came over the spary of the shower. Bad design.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingNewburys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

After staying at the Silver Fern for 3 nights during a recent holiday it is definitely a place we will be using again in the future. The owners welcomed us with a smile and were more than helpful throughout our stay. Apparently this motel has recently been refurbished and it was money well spent. The rooms are great and everything is clean and fresh. The breakfasts we had were beautiful. Having previously paid more in other motels in Rotorua that were nowhere near this standard we look forward to many more stays here in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwiexport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

We would recommend the Silver Fern Motor Inn.
Allan and Shirley are wonderful hosts and heaps of fun. They will make sure your'e stay is a very memorable one. Nothing is too much trouble
Rooms are very tastefully decorated and everything is new. All amenities provided.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill080266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

The Silver Fern Motor Inn is recently renovated hotel that I'd consider more of a holiday apartment complex than a motor inn (this is for everyone who thinks of a trailer park when they hear "motor inn"). We had a studio apartment that had a kitchen, hot tub, shower and huge bed with very clean and comfortable sheets. Our room was IMMACULATE and tastefully decorated. Allan and Shirley are great hosts and really made our stay in Rotorua a memorable experience. The hotel is a good distance (about a 20-minute walk) from the city center, and there are some large grocery stores along the way we picked up some tasty NZ produce for very reasonable prices. The area is safe and quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrCrazyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

My husband and I stayed for one night while in Rotorua after find the accommodation on the internet. We booked an Executive Studio Suite with breakfast.

We found the accommodation very easily as it is on the main road. On arrival at reception, the gentleman who greated us was very helpful and told us were the nearest attractions were, and we found plenty of literiture in reception for sightseeing. He also explained there was a regae concert being held in Rotorua that evening - so there may be some noise in the early hours with guests returning (as least we were warned!). We were taken to our room - which was situated on the ground floor with car parking outside the room which was a bonus. The accommodation was brilliant - the room was very large with queensize bed, basic cooking facilities (toaster, kettle, fridge crockery etc), large screen television, stereo. The bathroom was large with great shower unit and very well designed - but the best bit was our own spa room with huge spa bath - what luxury. The accommodation was very clean, and tastfully furnished. Breakfast was served in our room with a complimentary newspaper.

We didn't hear any other guests arriving back from the concert, but their music and shouting started at 8.30am - this was the only negative part of our stay as they were quite loud, drinking alcohol with little respect for other people. We were supprised that the owner was happy to accommodate these guests, as the accommodation was of a high standard and hopefully would attract guests who would appreciate the facilties.

We would definately recommend this accommodation, and had enjoyed our stay - luckily we were almost about to leave when the noise started!!! We were warned - but expected it in the early hours!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spaniel111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

The Silver Fern is run by a very welcoming and helpful couple and is very comfortable.   We stayed in the honeymoon suite as that was the only room available.
 The room was very nice, very clean and well presented. The spa pool was a nice extra although it's a little odd having a giant bath in the bedroom!
The only slight disappointment was that the little kitchenette didn't have a hob - only a micowave and there wasn't any bowls for food preparation (we needed a bowl to mix up tuna and mayo but there wasn't one). However, these were small things, I would highly recommend this place!!! And the breakfasts!      

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MazRGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
767 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#16 of 91 in Rotorua
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#9 of 91 in Rotorua
483 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#2 of 91 in Rotorua
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Address: 326 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £80 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star motel accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. The Silver Fern offers free wi-fi, free parking, free DVD hire,free bicycle hire and an on site Day Spa. Spa bath or spa pool in every room, and high quality fittings and furnishings make Silver Fern the best choice for accommodation in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Silver Fern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing