We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE VERY BEST IN ROTORUA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2010

My stay at the Silver Fern was perfect, the stylish refurbished Studio Room was beautifully presented and very functional. I was also lucky enough to have a very relaxing massage with Louise. The hosts Shirley and Allan are exceptional at making your stay a very pleasurable experience, and know all the best spots....especially where to go shoe shopping!!!!

Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
Thank shoeshopper01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

936 - 942 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2010

Nice and comfortable rooms. Good location, friendly hosts, good breakfast menu.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jurgen53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

This motel looks a bit dated from the outside but don't let that fool you. The rooms inside have been renovated and are really modern and clean. The best thing about Silver Fern though is the couple that own it - really friendly and accommodating. They even offered to drive us into town for dinner, and greeted us on arrival by congratulating us on getting married. My only quibble would be the shower - we were in a room with a spa, and the spa doubles as a shower. This would be fine, except the water pressure was really weak, so water just went all over the floor instead of getting me clean. It's a minor point though and certainly not worth avoiding this great motel over.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alku83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dassRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Silver Fern Accommodation & Spa, and judging by your other reviews, your honeymoon / vacation in New Zealand. Shirley and I really appreciate any feed back we get, especially when it helps us make our future guests stay even more comfortable.
I wish I had been aware of the problem you were having with your shower, it would have enabled me to show you how to adjust it to make the most of our amazing water pressure.
In future I will try and remember to advise our guests that they can alter the pressure as required.
Regards Allan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We stayed two-nights at the Silver Fern and had a great stay. Traveling with another couple we did extensive research on where to stay in Rotorua. The Silver Fern was a great spot on a street packed with hotels it was comfortable and clean and had a huge bathtub in every room. The innkeepers are friendly and charming and our room was clean and comfy. We had TV, free wireless internet (a rare find in NZ) and were within walking distance to a great bistro nearby. The Silver Fern is in a convenient spot and we made a day trip to Waimangu where we went on a hike through the breathtaking volcanic/geothermal landscape. There's lots to do in the area and we couldn't do it all in the few short days we stayed but would definitely stay at the Silver Fern again if we make it back. We also had an incredible meal at Bistro 1284 in downtown Rotorua, excellent service and incredible food were a great treat in a small town. Oh, but be warned, with the geothermal activity and active geysers, the smell of sulphur usually hangs in the air and can be rather strong sometimes.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelot80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

I stayed here for one night in October 2010. Definitely one of the best motels I stayed in while I was in New Zealand. Staff were very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. They organised an evening excursion and went out of there way to show me the best driving route to Auckland. The room was extremely clean and had a fantastic bathtub with jets. I don't think I've been in a bigger tub!

I am asthmatic and need an allergy friendly room - they organised that without any difficult and it was all ready on arrival (unlike many places I stayed in). It is in a handy location as it is on the main road and only a minute from the town in the car. Noticed that you could borrow bikes while you where there too and they had wifi.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We were impressed with this place, we had a 1 bedroom unit - worth paying a little extra over studio to get the extra room. Was very clean & well equipped. Lovely large private spa. The staff were very friendly helpful. Not the cheapest place to stay in Rotorua, but one of the nicest, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteDeb45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

This hotel has been around for a long time and has recently undergone a refurbishment. We were thrilled with the room as soon as we entered it. It was spacious, modern, clean and had all the amenities that we needed ... incuding our own fabulous mineral hot tub enclosed in a private conservatory off the batroom area. The tub was huge and the whole family were able to share it together. We had an executive one bedroom unit that had two single beds in a room and the king bed in the lounge area. The bedroom had enough room for a portacot also and for storing the luggage.
The owner was incrediby helpful and knowledgable about the area. He was very family friendly, advising us of the places to take our 3 year old, given he has a grand child the same age. They also have an extensive range of DVD's for all ages that they share with guests. A great location, perfect accomodation and we'll be back again for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrswilliamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
747 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#8 of 92 in Rotorua
468 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
1.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
256 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Address: 326 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £83 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star motel accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. The Silver Fern offers free wi-fi, free parking, free DVD hire,free bicycle hire and an on site Day Spa. Spa bath or spa pool in every room, and high quality fittings and furnishings make Silver Fern the best choice for accommodation in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Silver Fern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing