We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Colleen and Murray Show”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Springs Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The Colleen and Murray Show”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

B&Bs are all about staying with people and not corporations. You can talk with the owners, get to know them a bit, and enjoy a bit of company. The owners of this house, Colleen & Murray, are truly caring about every detail of your stay and go to some lengths to see you leave with a smile on your face.

The house is unassuming in a residential section close to many attractions. The rooms are spotless and the beds comfortable. The breakfasts are tasty. It is the quintessential B&B (and we have stayed in hundreds).

Go here for the amenities but stay for the hosts!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
67
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

A very comfortable, well-appointed B&B and our hosts, Colleen and Murray, made our stay even more pleasant with their friendly and helpful manner. Located in a quiet neighborhood a short drive from downtown Rotorua, it was a convenient venue to access all the local attractions. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos,California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

This B&B is so easy to find and so close to all of Rotorua attractions but far enough away to avoid unpleasant odors from the geysers. We arrived to welcoming juice and muffins in the garden . The hosts were extremely helpful with information about local sights. The B& B is surrounded by white roses, 39 bushes, which are as fastidiously cared for as are the rooms. The internet available in the salon was convenient. Breakfast included a song and excellent coffee ( not everywhere the case) Although 14 years old the building and grounds appear brand new because they are under constant maintenance. The only question is why the room was called a suite; it was not. However, the king single beds were great. Wish this size were the standard in the US. Much better than standard twins. The only regret is that we could not stay longer.

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LosGatostraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

This is a small gem in a town with many large tourist hotels. So many nice touches: fresh flowers from the garden in every room, a clothes line in the backyard, should you wish to hang your hand laundry. The historic photos of Rotorua in the hallway are excellent, and be sure to ask about the photo of the Beatles in New Zealand, circa 1964. My room was large, and very comfortable. I was on foot, so a ride downtown on my first night was helpful for my orientation. It was easy (and relatively inexpensive) to get a cab from downtown, or I could walk if I felt like getting some exercise. I needed it to walk off the delicious breakfasts. On my last morning, when my tour company said they could not pick me up at The Springs, Colleen took charge, phoned them, and arranged it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ariana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

While travelling from one end of the North Island to the other, my wife and I had stayed in every imaginable type of accomodation, from five star hotels to beach side motels. Having stayed in B&Bs in other countries, we had a pre-conveived idea of what to expect; basically, a place to hang your hat and lay your head until it was time to hit the road again. During our three night stay, we were both pleasantly suprised and extremely gratified to find The Spings to be the most restful and stress-free stay of our trip until that point. Colleen and Murray welcomed us into their exceptional B&B as if we were old friends. We actually felt as if we were visiting relatives back home. The beds were exceptionally comfortable, the breakfasts were delicious and our hosts were extremely helpful with advice on dining and sightseeing, even making reservations and calling taxis. As far as we are concerned, Websters dictionary could use a picture of "The Springs" as the definition of "Bed and Breakfast.!"

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryBudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We enjoyed staying at this lovely home with wonderful breakfasts. Our room had a pretty terrace with white roses. The hosts were extremely welcoming and served us tea on the patio with homemade muffins.
Our only reservation would be that Rotorua itself is somewhat shabby. The B&B is in a nice enough neighborhood a short drive from the town centre. I would look for something in the country if I were to go back to the area. We enjoyed the hot springs that were about a half an hour away.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paprikaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas USA
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2009

My wife, our son and daughter-in-law, and I stayed five marvelous nights at The Springs while at Rotorua. Beginning with the first email exchanges the entire experience was a delight. We have stayed at many B&Bs in the US and Canada, and a couple in the UK, but this lovely location has become the one by which we judge all past and future sites.
Colleen is the consumate host and not only provided us with great rooms and great meals (served with a song!) but also scheduled for us in advance all of the key events we wished to see while on the North Island: Te Puia, the Spa, our trip to White Island, and the best spots in town for dinner. We shall send our friends and we shall go again!

Gary and Suzanne Adams, The Woodlands, Texas USA

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamsatMasonPond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.5 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
0.7 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Springs Luxury Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Springs Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Address: 16 Devon Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Springs Luxury Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Springs Luxury Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing