We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to Stay in Rotorua”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Springs Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 53 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Rotorua was the second stop on an intensive 3-week tour of New Zealand and Australia. Our nine accommodations ranged from city hotels, small B&Bs to boutique hotels, but only two were impressive enough for us to write about. The Springs Luxury Bed and Breakfast is one of them. It is truly a five-star urban lodge.

One’s first impression is that our inn-keepers, Colleen and Murray Ward, spared no expense in designing and accessorizing The Springs. Every little touch has been thought of – from the handsome common spaces to the bedroom, sparkling bath and lovely garden terrace. This is a comfortable and inviting place that exceeds the description on their website (http://www.thesprings.co.nz).

What we learned to appreciate about the Kiwis of New Zealand is their openness and friendliness. Colleen and Murray are a most helpful and interesting couple who put their guests at ease with gracious hospitality. Add to that the extensive and delicious breakfasts, we were sorry not to have more time to spend in Rotorua!

Room Tip: They are all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2013

Our hosts were really friendly and helpful. The decor is beautiful. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Substantial breakfast. This was a home away from home experience. Would certainly recommend this bed and breakfast place to anyone I know who are planning to visit New Zealand

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaym46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Colleen and Murray were an absolute pleasure as hosts at the homely and relaxing Springs. Luxury Bed and Breakfast ain't wrong, with ultra comfy beds and all the mod cons in the room it was very pleasant to sit and chat with the pair about the region, New Zealand and while away the hours with food and wine. The B&B itself is gorgeous and lavish, while maintaining humble and quaint living areas. I also couldn't smell of sulphur from the natural springs there at all. I look forward to staying at The Springs next time I'm rolling through Rotorua!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McSomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

From the moment we arrived Collen and Murray did everything they could to make our stay memorable. An excellent room and some lovely touches. These included a weather forecast for next day each evening, wll cooked breakasts and a very welcome hot water bottle on our retrun from the Hangi, which they had booked for us following an email from the UK before our vist. Our stay was marked by much laughter and good conversaion.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

From the moment we arrived at The Springs to the morning we left we were made to feel incredibly welcome guests. There was nothing Colleen and Murray could not do to help us - restaurant advice and booking, town hints, massage bookings - even to telling us we could fit in a gondola trip before the Maori evening tour pick up ! Our room was immaculate, as was the lounge - and tea on the terrace when we arrived was an unexpected bonus. With free WiFi access and a guest PC we were able to book ahead for all we needed. Breakfast was a treat. A truly memorable start to our NZ holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark-atTheDownHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

This is a very good and purpose-built B and B but it is a couple of miles out of the centre of the city. It's unlikely that you would have arrived here on foot though and you will need to drive to the various attractions of Rotorua. We stayed for 2 nights and were fully occupied - a week would probably be too long for most people. We enjoyed the Polynesian Spa, the Mitai Maori Cultural Experience including a post-dinner trip to look at Kiwis in the adjacent Rainbow Springs and there is some excellent walking in the nearby Redwood Forest and Blue Lake.

The rooms themselves are on a corridor with some fascinating pictures of old Rotorua on display and to the side of the owners' home. Contrary to some other reviews, we found that this meant that we were not always tripping over them but on arrival and at meal times they were very keen to ensure we made the most of our time here. Murray, who is retired from the travel industry, is a little quieter than Colleen but both are very hospitable and an excellent source of information about local and national tourist destinations.

Rooms are modern, functional and spotlessly clean with some distinctive touches: large walk-in closets so that luggage is not under foot; switchless bedside lights so that you don't have to fumble to turn them on and off; an over-head fan; free Wi-Fi. There is a good residents' lounge with free sherry and port and Internet access as well as the usual newspapers, magazines, books and games. Breakfasts are freshly cooked from a good selection by Colleen and I can recommend the blueberry pancakes which were probably the best I've eaten anywhere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaDolceVita27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We were enjoying a very nice couple of days in Rotorua and Collin and Murray were our kind hosts in The Spings luxury B&B. The rooms are very comfortable but the best of our stay there was, by far , the excellent hospitality and sympathy we received. They were taking care of all we needed all the time. It was also remarcable the very tasty pancakes that Collin cooked for us every morning.Unforgetable stay!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jordimasides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
767 reviews
7.3 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Country Villa
Country Villa
#5 of 53 in Rotorua
169 reviews
3.3 mi away
City Lights Boutique Lodge
7.9 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#7 of 53 in Rotorua
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Springs Luxury Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Address: 16 Devon Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: £230 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Springs Luxury Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Springs Luxury Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing