We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was a favourite but losing appeal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wylie Court Motor Lodge
Ranked #37 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 2 July 2014

For years we have stayed here when we come to Rotorua and have always loved it but we will never stay again. needs a big injection of money to update and refresh . It is not as clean as it could be and even the phones numbers were worn out altho' they did replace this when I asked . No curtains at the windows just thin linings which didn't keep the early light out of the room. A shame to see a well loved place get old and shabby and its not cheap to stay there either . Also the walls were paper thin and we could hear the noisy people next door word for word.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Punpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

As a family of four, we stayed for one night at the Wylie Court Motor Lodge a couple of weekends ago. The room was immaculate and very spacious. There was a big wall heater that made the room very hot, especially the mezzanine floor which became boiling. The was a fan if necessary though. The communal thermal pool was lovely and hot, and was surrounded by wonderful vegetation. There was a private spa out the back of the unit which was very private but looked very shallow though. The upstairs balcony was really nice, providing us with an outside sitting area. The only disappointing part was the soft beds. Overall it was a very nice stay with lovely rooms and pool. Highly recommended

Room Tip: The rooms with the balconies are a worthwhile bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windlefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The room we stayed in was very tidy and clean. There was a private spa outside our back door which was covered in and private. Use the outdoor hot pool which was very relaxing. Did notice that you could here noise from the next door unit now and again but all in all lovely place to stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: First time we stayed there. We had Room 1 right by the office. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smitty41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hi.
We stayed over the Easter/Anzac break. While unit 27 we stayed in was clean, spacious and excellent for kids, having one sheet of gib-board on each adjoining wall to the other units meant we could constantly hear people talking, the TV, snoring all night, and other bedroom activities from one of the two adjoining units (the other unit was not so bad). Surely there must be rules about this totally unsatisfactory setup? Management need to do something about this, i.e. install sound batts downstairs and upstairs, and add two layers of gib-board to each unit wall (which is the bare minimum building standard nowadays [and many apartment owners would complain that this is not enough]).

We complained to management about the noise. While they were understanding they had no spare rooms so we put up with it for four nights.

If you stay there make sure you do not take the units at the back - take the units with concrete party walls between them such as 12, 12a, etc. They may not have a spa pool, but they are quiet, and the outside pool is excellent.

Cheers

Room Tip: Ensure your room has concrete walls, not 1 sheet of gib-board on either side of the wall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The room was clean and tidy, we were in unit with an upstairs bedroom.
There was a private spa in a small outdoor courtyard attached - but this was very hot, and quite noisy all the time, gurgling even when not turned on.
The outdoor heated pool in the lovely surrounding gardens was very pleasant most of the time, but one lunch time swim was abandoned as the pool was particularly dirty, full of leaves and garden debris, and we left when we found a half a dead bird in it.
The restaurant was very nice, with good service, although a little pricey.
One word of caution, the walls seem very thin! Staying with kids was particularly difficult, due to our 'noisy' neighbours. We could often hear the TV in the room next door, and could hear the conversations of our neighbours - with enough detail to talk back with them. The noise issue meant my daughter was waking several times in the early part of the night, and a few times in the early part of the morning, when neighbours arrived back after a late night.

Room Tip: Ask for sound proof rooms, or a room at the end of a row. Sound seems to travel through the walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My friends and I had a really good stay at this place! We spent two nights over last weekend in Rotorua and paid a very reasonable price to stay here. We occupied units 1 and 2 which are just next to the reception and each have their own hot tub. The units are well laid out, with bathroom, living room and kitchenette on the ground floor, hot tub on the mezzanine and one spacious room on the top floor. In addition to this there was a single bed on the ground floor (not a fold out bed) which was great! I suppose my only gripe was that the water in the hot tub was clean but had some impurities in them (the area was half open air). We checked in really late (1am) but I had contacted the reception in advance so they made prior arrangements to accommodate our late check in which was really appreciated. Location wise, wylie court is a pleasant 3 minute drive from the hot springs and to the city in the opposite direction. The staff at reception were really friendly too. Overall, it was a perfect budget-friendly stay for our weekend trip to Rotorua!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuzzy0duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

A really lovely place to stay. We were in number 1 which had a private spa and upstairs bedroom.

The location was good even with the 20mins walk to the centre/lake.

We had a superb meal in their restaurant which was not overpriced. All the staff were a friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I don't know if all the rooms are the same but certainly the first row as you enter had the upst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baldricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#9 of 91 in Rotorua
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.3 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#4 of 91 in Rotorua
937 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 91 in Rotorua
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wylie Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wylie Court Motor Lodge

Address: 345 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £77 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wylie Court Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wylie Court is Rotorua's best know and trusted Motor Lodge, offering Wireless Internet Service. Set amongst our park-like surroundings with private spa/plunge pools (subject to availability) Large thermally heated outdoor pool, 2 x playgrounds. Guests enjoy the superb service, and our friendly staff with helpful advice will make your stay enjoyable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wylie Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wylie Court Motor Hotel Rotorua
Wylie Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing