We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay - very clean - great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wylie Court Motor Lodge
Ranked #42 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Whangaparaoa
1 review
“Awesome place to stay - very clean - great staff”
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Cleanest motel I've ever stayed in. Fabulous pool - great setting. Very helpful, friendly staff. Great atmosphere in restaurant - excellent food and staff cater well to children.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dancers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    87
    38
    4
    2
See reviews for
115
60
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

WE stayed just one night at the Wylie Court - me, with three teenage girls, and my 4 year old grandson. It wasn't easy to find affordable accommodation to fit us all, but Wylie Court was excellent value. We had a unit with fold out couch, double bed, and 2 singles upstairs. The unit was beautifully clean, towels everywhere, including extras for the fantastic hot private spa pool that was with our unit - we made great use of it as it was a freezing night. The large swimming pool was also great.
Check in was a breeze with the ultra-friendly and helpful English couple behind the desk (maybe the owners?) , and checkout qas equally friendly, even with different staff.
Overall, could not fault the place, and we have stayed in over a dozen places in Rotorua over the years.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank debnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

We are regular visitors to Rotorua and as a mature sports team, have been visiting annually for about 15 years, and we have stayed at many different motels in the area. Our priorities may be diferent from other guests, as several of our team are married couples along with several 'single' players and our winter sport is hard on the body, so we crave the relaxing warm water.

Situated on Rotorua's main road and just a two minute drive from the town centre, it is easy to find. From the outside, it looks far more 'Kiwi' than almost any other motel, with the outdoor thermal swimming pool nicely landscaped - and at night, the poolside has a very attractive blue light.

Reception was brilliant, with a friendly and efficient check in and unusally, with two married couple sharing our unit, two cartons of milk and two keys offered without us even asking. The manageress also did an excellent job of talking us into using the house restaurant at night! That was a good move, as we thoroughly enjoyed it, as the meals were quite homely and reasonably priced.

The site has a mixture of unit configurations and personal pools and it probably pays to ask questions when booking. Several are open style, with either a double or two singles upstairs, some have two doubles, and some have the singles downstairs.

Ours (unit #5) has the two doubles and although there is a degree of visual privacy, there is no audio privacy - and the stairs squeaked a bit! The ground floor bathrooms have a shower, but no bath, (no problem for us) and of the four units we had, all bathrooms were immaculate.

Ours had a proper thermally heated spa pool (thermally heated in Rotorua, means the heat source comes from underground, and is major attraction of the area.) The pool coped with 4 adults adequately and was in a covered deck at the rear of the unit. Some other units had a small pool only - so this is one of the variations mentioned. The unit was warm (thermal heating again - though even in winter, you occasionally need to let in a bit of fresh air).

Our kitchen was well equipped and modern, but somewhat surprisingly, there was no fresh coffee, just instant. Microwave and two hobs was adequate for our needs.

Our downstairs area had a modern TV but there was no TV upstairs, yet another of our group units did have an upstairs TV. There was free internet access - but we didn't manage to connect to the internet even though we tried, even though we connected OK to the Wylie network.

Although I didn't sample the outdoor pool, those who did, loved it.

The owners (I presume) were on reception during the Saturday and Sunday morning, and were just as pleasant and friendly as the manageress. This meant that from start to finish, this was a great place to stay, with reasonable prices, and at long last we have a place we'd really like to return to, whether as part of a sports team, a couple, or a family. The lack of privacy when sharing is no problem when all know each other, or you have the kids upstairs and can hear them misbehaving, though thye might be disturbed by the TV downstairs..

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank socram13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donkeydoodle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2009

This is an excellent place to stay. We had a fabulous time. The rooms are clean and modern. The swimming pool is fantastic. We will definetely go back to this motel.

  • Liked — The modern rooms and swimming pool
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Donkeydoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

We absolutely loved this hotel. The kids loved the pool which was warm and could be used even when it was cold out. We also liked the private plunge pool in the back of the unit. The unit was large with separate beds upstairs for the kids. There was a small playground outside. The unit was clean and had everything we would want.

  • Liked — The pool.
  • Disliked — It could have used a bigger table in the kitchen.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 4cdnglobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2008

I really enjoyed my stay at Wylie Court, I was arriving later than expected and rang to let them know and they were really great everything would fine, they organised breakfast for the next morning, so when we arrived and had the spa in our unit, We had a good nights sleep after travelling all day.

The hosts were fantastic and the meals were supurb at the restaurant, Venison then Sticky Date pudding for dessert yum, makes my mouth water just thinking about it.
We will definitaly be going back and I recommend this to my family and friends

  • Liked — Spa, Restaurant, Staff, Service
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NewZealandTheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2008

We had a great experience staying at the Wylie Court for two nights! Our room was an exceptionally clean bi-level unit with one bedroom, two bathrooms, and a fully equipped kitchen (silverware, pots, glasses, plates, etc.) We also had our own hot tub. Wylie Court is about a 15 minute walk from the center of town, but the owner happily offered to drive us into town twice when we were short on time. We would stay there again!

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — Was a little far from center of town (15 minute walk)
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank amyb1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
0.3 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
860 reviews
0.4 mi away
Geneva Motor Lodge
Geneva Motor Lodge
#34 of 92 in Rotorua
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wylie Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wylie Court Motor Lodge

Property: Wylie Court Motor Lodge
Address: 345 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wylie Court Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wylie Court is Rotorua's best know and trusted Motor Lodge, with is's Licensed Restaurant & Conference Centre, Complimentary Wireless Internet Service. Our award winning Chef has a well-deserved reputation for fine cuisine,set amongst our park-like surroundings with private spa/plunge pools (subject to availability) Large thermally heated outdoor pool, 2 x playgrounds. Guests enjoy the superb service, and our friendly staff with helpful advice will make your stay enjoyable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wylie Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wylie Court Motor Hotel Rotorua
Wylie Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing