We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Wylie Court Motel is one of the oldest...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wylie Court Motor Lodge
Ranked #41 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Co.Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The Wylie Court Motel is one of the oldest...”
Reviewed 13 March 2010

The Wylie Court Motel is one of the oldest in Rotorua and it's certainly showing it's age. 
The furniture was on the "tacky" side and the decor was jaded.
We had a room with a mezzanine floor which housed the bed. Downstairs was the sitting room/ kitchen area which was adequately equipped. Outside was located the spa bath enclosed under a Perspex canopy in a tiny area - it was decidedly uninviting. 

The staff at reception were helpful but in a functional way and didn't give an impression that they were interested in engaging on any other level - this was in stark contrast to the wonderfully convivial interaction we've had with proprieters at many other motels in New Zealand.

Overall, The Wylie Court is poor value for money compared to that which we've had elsewhere in New Zealand. There are many other motels in the vicinity which, on the outside, look to be far superior and would certainly be worth investigating ahead of the Wylie Court.   
    

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daoshaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    86
    37
    4
    2
See reviews for
114
59
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Excellent apartment on 2 levels with a private spa room. The spa was permanently filled and could not have been easier to use. No air-conditioning but a ceiling fan kept things cool. Very nice pool. Location a little away from things.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psteph08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We are kiwis who were looking for somewhere to stay at short notice and called in to see if there were any vacancies. The motel receptionist "Loren" was busy serving an American couple and was doing such a lovely job of helping them with their queries that I was happy to wait and enjoy watching excellent service being provided. Luckily for us they still had a free unit we could take. Loren was extremely helpful to us too and we were happy with our unit. It was clean, tidy and well equipped. My son especially loved the outdoor heated pool and we all appreciated the garden and setting. The rooms were fine and had all we needed. We gave the restaurant a miss and headed into town which was more to offer in that regard. I have stayed at many many different places in Rotorua and would definitely regard this as one of the best - mostly because of the excellent service. Will definitely come again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wahinetoaAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2010

The room really had no outstanding features, the bed was OK, the kitchen was OK, the courtyard with someone else's discarded bandaid was a bit yeech (but then fine once I covered that up with a rock).

This place felt really very "average"...nothing to rave about...however, the staff were all very friendly

And - if you have an aversion to garlic, its probably best you dont eat in their restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoobyshunnybuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

We had booked our family of 5 adults into a 2 bedroom family unit for 3 nights. After one night we found the unit way too small for the 5 of us and the fold out sofabed with 2cm thick mattress left 2 of us without sleep. The lounge area and kitchenette was tiny and unable to seat 5 people comfortably. Luckily they had a vacancy, so we booked an additional unit for 2 of us- This unit, although slightly cheaper was 2 levels and had a more modern kitchen and bathroom. There was a private thermal mineral spa pool too!
The shared motel pool was beautifully thermally heated- we found it better than the Polynesian Spa which was pricey.
This accommodation is quite close to Te Puia and as a result we found it to be smellier than other parts of Rotorua.
Overall we had a comfortable stay after the first cramped night.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2010

Room was fine (although somewhat airless) with a nice mezzanine but the bed used upstairs was not made overnight.

Swimming pool and garden were absolutely beautiful but the private hot tub was surrounded by plain concrete and not appealing at all, especially as every sound could be heard from the one next door - and some of what we could hear was more than we needed to know!!

Too far (for us, anyway) to walk to town for meals unless you want to use the on-site restaurant.

This motel is fine but I've said I wouldn't recommend it - not that there is anything wrong with it but because we saw plenty of others offering lower prices with similar facilites and, as we were not in school holidays, wished we had not bothered booking ahead.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2010

Our stay was carefree and enjoyable as we stayed for 5days and participated in the world indigenous touch games,booked out 3units for our contigent,chef and management were awesome and very accomodating,thank you very much. We would happily go back there to stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pops21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#15 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#45 of 92 in Rotorua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wylie Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wylie Court Motor Lodge

Property: Wylie Court Motor Lodge
Address: 345 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wylie Court Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wylie Court is Rotorua's best know and trusted Motor Lodge, with is's Licensed Restaurant & Conference Centre, Complimentary Wireless Internet Service. Our award winning Chef has a well-deserved reputation for fine cuisine,set amongst our park-like surroundings with private spa/plunge pools (subject to availability) Large thermally heated outdoor pool, 2 x playgrounds. Guests enjoy the superb service, and our friendly staff with helpful advice will make your stay enjoyable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wylie Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wylie Court Motor Hotel Rotorua
Wylie Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing