We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Funky Green Voyager
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very friendly and clean”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. This is one the best hostels I've stayed in for a while. The staff and owners where very friendly, the hostel was really clean, had comfy beds and is not very far from town centre.

I particular the liked the logged fire and the homely feel this place has with many interesting things to read or look at it and thumbs up for caring about the environment. Will be back again, hopeful sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    62
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
15
83
51
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The owners are great fun and make u feel really welcome and are very helpful. The rooms are lovely and the facilities are great and has everything you need. You are central in town too. Although it takes a little of getting used to the rotten egg smell. (Not just at the backpackers it's rigorous in a hole.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double on suite which has everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
99 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Me and a friend stayed here for two nights. We were pleasantly surprised, as the hostel consists of two buildings: the main building which is as busy and slightly chaotic as you might expect and a second one across the road which used to be a family home not too long ago and only has three double rooms, a kitchen and living room and secluded garden. It is a lot quieter than the main building, as you are not sharing with many people, but perfect if you like your privacy from time to time. The host was a German woman who was really friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome from the first minute. It is walking distance to town and close to a shopping mall with a supermarket. I really enjoyed our stay here!

Room Tip: The second house across the road from the main hostel is quieter and cleaner. It only has double roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dulin38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Excellent and clean property with nearly nothing to complain. Rooms were big and spacious. The owner was very friendly and helpful with everything you can think of. The kitchen is well stocked and clean and a excellent layout. We could bake and cook without any worries. Attractions are available directly from her with a discount!

Room Tip: Buy attraction tickets from them and save some money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngDingJiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This hostel is a great place to stay. We had private rooms which were very clean and spacious. Gerard and Annie are very nice, fun to talk to and know all about the area, and helped us to book and find activities. We walked to shops and restaurants. We hope we get an opportunity to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Lovely hostel made even better by lovely owners. Huge kitchen with loads of free herbs and spices. Great showers. Good location with countdown just across the road. Owners are fantastic and so friendly and helpful. We would highly recommend staying here!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the outside doubles which are cheaper than the inside ones, but just as nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank februaryhove2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xalapa, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

The whole place is very clean, staff is very cool, the rooms are very good as well as the bathrooms. Kitchen is very modern and with everything you need (:
Plus, you can ask them for discounts for Rotorua's main attractions.

Very recommendable!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeliPurata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 57 in Rotorua
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#14 of 57 in Rotorua
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#5 of 57 in Rotorua
381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rotorua Downtown Backpackers
0.2 mi away
Spa Lodge Backpackers
Spa Lodge Backpackers
#10 of 57 in Rotorua
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funky Green Voyager? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Green Voyager

Property: Funky Green Voyager
Address: 4 Union Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Funky Green Voyager Rotorua
Funky Green Voyager Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing