We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and friendly hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Funky Green Voyager
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at this hostel a lot. It's very clean and the staff is extraordinarily helpful and friendly. Of course they want to sell you certain offers for Maori village, etc. but they gave me lots of advices for free stuff. The hostel is centrally located and there are supermarkets and other shops next to the hostel. There is a Borussia Dortmund flag in the hostel which is an extra plus :)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadineM_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed at Funky Green for a couple of nights to see the sights (while avoiding the tourist traps) in the area - we picked the accommodation based on the number of positive reviews.

We booked the double ensuite room, but we were were actually put in the triple ensuite room - which is MASSIVE and very comfortable. The check-in staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly the German lady (perhaps the owner?) who went out of her way to help us out with laundy and tips for the area.

We probably won't be back around Rotorua, but I would thoroughly recommend this place - the quieter building on the other side of the road is very homely and cosy, it feels just like staying at a home away from home.

Room Tip: Triple ensuite room, in the building across the road. Very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbtraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hostel is small but cosy. We didn't book in advance, just arrived during the day. The rooms are small, but clean. The kitchen is also very clean and well-equipped. The staff was very friendly and helped us with organizing trips to redwoods and a maori village.
Big supermarket very close by.
For a short stay ideal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed here for one night traveling between the Coromandel and Tongariro National Park. We booked the double room ensuite, which is situated in the building across the street. This was nice en quiet. The room was big and clean and the building had a decent, well-equipped but small kitchen. There is a nice garden to hang out with nice weather as well.

The owners were very helpful, they gave us some good advice on what to do in Rotorua (we enjoyed the wine-tasting and buffet-diner at the top of the Gondola; great experience!) and which thermal area/Maori village to visit. They also gave us some discount vouchers for Wai-O-Tapu and Whakarawera.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jochem81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

As its name, this hostel is pretty funky and green. I like the recreation room, bookshelf, wifi, and game boards. Kitchen set, laundry, communal wc/shower are available and in good condition. This hostel applies green waste mgmt very well. I had nice days in Rotorua and FGV. It's very worth-it spending for accom. Love Rotorua and FGV!
note: looks like many germans wwoofing here.

Room Tip: choose dorm with 6 beds. It's all nice. Upper or lower bed for me it's the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lammm077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. This is one the best hostels I've stayed in for a while. The staff and owners where very friendly, the hostel was really clean, had comfy beds and is not very far from town centre.

I particular the liked the logged fire and the homely feel this place has with many interesting things to read or look at it and thumbs up for caring about the environment. Will be back again, hopeful sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The owners are great fun and make u feel really welcome and are very helpful. The rooms are lovely and the facilities are great and has everything you need. You are central in town too. Although it takes a little of getting used to the rotten egg smell. (Not just at the backpackers it's rigorous in a hole.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double on suite which has everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.7 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
219 reviews
0.6 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#26 of 92 in Rotorua
807 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 58 in Rotorua
379 reviews
0.5 mi away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#5 of 58 in Rotorua
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spa Lodge
Spa Lodge
#10 of 58 in Rotorua
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funky Green Voyager? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Green Voyager

Address: 4 Union Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: £28 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Funky Green Voyager Rotorua
Funky Green Voyager Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing