We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Ranked #40 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Earls Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

This is a fantastic campsite with a very different feel to others. Not only does it have unique free-to-use features such as a Hangi for cooking and thermal spas, its also surrounded by boiling mud and a small beach.
The pitches are of a reasonable size and the owners are enthusuastic and helpful. They even supply food and utensils to use in the Hangi.
There is a nice feel to the site and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    88
    35
    17
    12
See reviews for
97
97
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I stayed in this campsite just before new years and found it very reasonably priced considering the amount of facilitys that are included . On the grounds you have three lovely hot pools which are free of charge for any guests to use a hot beach where you can dig your own hot pool on the shore lake. also this is one of the few campsites we have stayed at where there were free hot showers and nice clean toilets. the kitchen was big enough for the amount of people cooking and i just loved cooking my own hangi meal in their free steam oven. I cant reccommend this campsite more with thermaly heated tent sites . if in rotorua you should give this campsite a go

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondie345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossel Bay
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

the staff were fairly friendly and it was nice to have thermal pools next to our room. The room was very dirty though and the double bed very small and uncomfortable. It is in a good location as you could walk to town if you needed to. I liked that it was on the lake shore and you could walk down and dig your own thermal pools in the sand if you wanted to.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaAyerst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, Shropshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Spent two nights at the Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park in Rotorua. The lady in reception was very efficient, pleasant and helpful. A very popular, busy site with lots going on. The place had its own hot thermal tubs, two in a very nice covered setting, and one in the open. Also on site a largish, heated swimming pool, boiling mud hole, natural thermal reserve with steaming pond, steam ovens for Hangi cooking and hot water beach on the side of Lake Rotorua. All very pleasant and interesting to visit. The allocated, grassy, powered sites were of ample size, separated by trees and shrubs and visited by lots of birds including the strange Pukeko. Quite a long walk into the town but advised to go via a Maori village which was an excellent experience with thermal activity everywhere, and fumaroles in gardens being included as part of a garden feature. When calling at a Maori craftcentre and asking whether this was a worry to them, was told that they were used to it, and it was a part of life that they used to their advantage; that they would be more worried if the steam stopped as that meant there was a blockage somewhere which could cause an explosion. The town itself is quite a busy place, on every tourist's itinerary, so the proximity of this campsite means a more relaxing, quiet situation. Worth a two-night stay as there is lots to do and see in Rotorua.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderluster101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed in one of the rooms rather than camping or using a camper-van. The room did have everything it advertised, and the price was very affordable, but you did not get a feeling of a cosy cottage at all. Mattress quality average, small rooms, and the internet we paid for did not work (but management did give us a prompt refund when we informed them). The thermal pools we fun, but too small to accommodate the size of the camp ground and guest number.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2012

The campground is convenient located near the lakeside, just 2 minuten walk and has excellent facilities as heated pool, hot tubs and kitchen with steamoven . The centre of the town is on walking distance and the park Te Puia (a must !) just 5 minutes drive.

The staff is very helpful and gives expert advice on what to do. Excellent service.

Our recommendation: If you want go to Rotorua, stay at the Cosy Cottage!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onno_bordes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012 via mobile

This campsite isn't quite perfect but the new hosts (second generation family) are working hard to update and enhance it. Good facilities including some unique and quirky features. If staying do try the hangi style steam ovens (free to use). We put our lamb shanks and potatoes in a pot, popped them in the oven and went out for the day; came home to a perfectly cooked dinner. Didn't try the onsite naturally heated hot pools but did use the little swimming pool which was nice and clean. You can also dig your own mud pool on the lakeshore! Campsite has its own lakeside access and is walking distance from town. Hosts and staff are friendly and helpful and will offer advice on things to do locally, including discount vouchers if available.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
1.8 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
106 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fairy Springs Motel
Fairy Springs Motel
#45 of 92 in Rotorua
93 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#20 of 92 in Rotorua
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua

Property: Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Address: 67 Whittaker Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We specialize in providing affordable accommodation in Rotorua, like our “world famous” heated camping sites, powered campervan sites, and of course our namesake, cosy cottages. While you’re here we have plenty to keep you relaxed, soak in our geothermal hot pools, cook from our Thermal Steam Cooker to walks to the Rotorua lakeshore, where you can dig your own hotpools at the beach. Explore the natural geothermal area around and within the holiday park and meet some of the friendly wildlife that share these grounds with us. All without hearing traffic noise or sulphur smell but within a 20 minute walk to the city. Our staff are all well versed in the local attractions and can help you get the most out of your stay in with us while in Rotorua. Cosy Cottage is now under new Ownership and Management. We welcome you to come and Stay, from the team at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosy Cottage International Holiday Park Hotel Rotorua
Cosy Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing