We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Ranked #29 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We loved the facilities at this campsite: its geothermal swimming pool, hot tubs and option to cook in a traditional thermal oven. The place was clean and well cared for with friendly staff who were happy to try and get the best deal for us on local tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron_Dun2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

Very nice camping with, if you're lucky, a heated campsite. The facilities are clean and good, only the kitchen is a bit small. There is a hot pool and a swimming pool, both warmed by geothermal activity. If you stay there, you MUST try the Hangi steam oven.. one of the best (and healthiest) meals you'll ever have! Close to the holiday park there's a "hot water beach", which is also nice.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jelmer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

we were going to stay one night on our travels but stayed two.Friendly staff, clean toilets and kitchen, short walk to a hot water beach,will be good in the summer. A 10 minute walk into town along the lake edge was well worth it,beautiful sites. Two hot pools, a heated swimming pool and a free hangi to cook dinner.will be going again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Ok, so Cosy Cottage isn't the most attractive of accommodation options. It is very basic and looks a little rundown. But, it has some major advantages that help to compensate for this. First of all, the location is really good. You just can't beat such an economical option so near (by car) to so many tourist attractions in Rotorua. It's also situated right next to a hot water lake with access a few metres from the park - management also provide spades so that you can dig your own hot pool in the sand. There's some bubbling sulphur fenced off near some of the tent sites to look at. There are two free thermal pools that my husband and our kids loved and the owners have set up a DIY hangi oven for guests to use that is really unique and charming. We stayed in a cottage with our two children and it was adequate for our needs, though very small. So this is a basic but economical option for your holiday in Rotorua with family with some pretty unique features.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank insertnamehere26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ccrotorua, Manager at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for your review. Cosy Cottage is listed in the Trip Advisor category of hotels, however we are a holiday park providing a range of accommodation and camp sites to those who prefer the outdoor experience. The owners have tried to build their business on the beauty and nature of this piece of land without destroying its character. We are not a modern concrete block establishment where everything is the same, but a collection of servicable buildings providing clean and value for money accommodation in a park like environment for our guests. Rooms vary in size from small Kitchen cabins to more spacious self contained 2 bedroom units with full kitchen and lounge. Guests should check carefully on our website to select appropriate accommodation for their needs. We do have a natural boiling mud hole on site, but there are no sulphur vents. Our natural geothermal features including hot mineral pools, steam cooker and hot water beach are free to our guests. Thanks for your stay, we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed in a self contained tourist flat which had 2 rooms, kitchen and bathroom. Our flat was clean and the one thermal heated radiator was more than adequate to heat the room. The thermal oven was a great way to cook a roast; the meat fell off the bone and the vegetables where lush. Good value and friendly staff.

Stayed: July 2013
2  Thank Geraint J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ccrotorua, Manager at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Hi Geraint.
Thank you for staying with us. Great to hear another customer enjoying the experience of cooking their own Hangi meal with our unique natural steam cooker. You can never burn your meal here! Did you know that the steam for this comes from our hot water bore drilled 30 metres below the ground surface. The hot water heats all our rooms and hot water supply through heat exchangers. The water is finally cooled sufficiently for our guests to soak in it our hot pools. It is the silica suspended in the water and the slightly alkaline PH water that give the skin a smooth feeling after relaxing in our hot mineral pools. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed in a cottage and it was perfect - clean and comfortable. Make a point of using the steam oven to cook a meal - it was delicious. The thermal pools were lovely and the walk to the lake edge interesting. Good value for money

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenz179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ccrotorua, Manager at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thanks for staying. We aim to provide value for money and a happy stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed in a self contained cabin and it was lovely! Lots of space and a nice big tv which could be seen anywhere in the cabin! Seperate room for the kids and a nice sized bathroom, everyone was happy! Our 2yr old loved the playground and easy access to the lake and even a friendly cat! The staff were friendly and offered great advice. I used the Hangi cooking 'box' to slow cook some lanb and veges and it worked very well thanks to the hints and tips given on site! All up a lovely place to relax after a busy day checking out the sites in Rotorua!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chrissles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ccrotorua, Manager at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for staying and we are glad that we met your expectations. Selecting the right size room is important for an enjoyable stay. We have various room sizes and customers should check descriptions on the internet, or telephone our staff for advice. We are here to help advise guests. We look forwards to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
0.4 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
252 reviews
1.8 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#56 of 92 in Rotorua
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
1.9 mi away
Apex on Fenton
Apex on Fenton
#11 of 92 in Rotorua
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#14 of 92 in Rotorua
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua

Address: 67 Whittaker Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#14 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £38 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We specialize in providing affordable accommodation in Rotorua, like our “world famous” heated camping sites, powered campervan sites, and of course our namesake, cosy cottages. While you’re here we have plenty to keep you relaxed, soak in our geothermal hot pools, cook from our Thermal Steam Cooker to walks to the Rotorua lakeshore, where you can dig your own hotpools at the beach. Explore the natural geothermal area around and within the holiday park and meet some of the friendly wildlife that share these grounds with us. All without hearing traffic noise or sulphur smell but within a 20 minute walk to the city. Our staff are all well versed in the local attractions and can help you get the most out of your stay in with us while in Rotorua. Cosy Cottage is now under new Ownership and Management. We welcome you to come and Stay, from the team at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosy Cottage International Holiday Park Hotel Rotorua
Cosy Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing