We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Ranked #40 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Russell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
249 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Cheap and good location”
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We stayed here 2 nights with my parents in a two bedroom Motel Unit. The unit was clean and well heated with the kitchen well equipped - though the Microwave was not working propperly and a lightbulb in the bedroom seem to flicker even when turned off.. rather disturbing...there where a few other bits and pieces not quite up to scratch (the TV had a very red picture and the remote did not work at all - some of the utensils in the kitchen did not work - can opener for one) - but overall not bad at all.

However, the location is convenient and the use of the on site hot pools is free. So if you don't mind a basic stay but good value for money you can most certainly stay here for a few nights - even with more than two people. We have not seen the other rooms though...

Oh - they have a room with internet use - but quite expensive from memory... so best to go into Rotorua and seek a internet cafe or the Tourist Information perhaps...

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_G_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    88
    35
    17
    12
See reviews for
97
96
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

Due to unexpected circumstances we could not visit Rotorua on the day we had planned. So we phoned to cancel our booking at the Cosy Cottage, well in advance of the 24 hours usually required by other establishments.

When we phoned to cancel our reservation, and to apologise, we were told that their booking conditions stated that any cancellation made within 30 DAYS of the visit was chargeable at full rate - unless they managed to fill the room. Even then, there would be a $25 cancellation fee. When I questioned this with the proprietor, I was told that this was 'standard terms and conditions across New Zealand'.

To any NZ visitors out there, NO - this is NOT standard. We have stayed in many holiday parks and motels in the last two and a half years. Many ask for a credit card number to confirm the booking, many ask for nothing. Without exception, they would accept a cancellation with 24 hours notice.

So, if you are considering staying at the Cosy Cottage International Holiday Park in Rotorua, think again. This type of place gives the rest a bad name….

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TopCatPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waitakere, Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

I understand for what we were paying it would not be flash or anything.
But we had the tap in the toilet leaking, the tap in the kitchen fell off, the tv volume would only go up not down with any button pushed, (i will say the did swap, but the one that swapped had the same volume problem and then black and white on channel 2), the aerial then broke.
The showers in the toilet/shower block dont seem very clean at all, and not big either, one was out-of-order for most of the easter weekend
The oven in the kitchen was out-of-order for Easter. To me it added up to lack of maintenance.
The staff member sent to fix, had no ID, not even a T-Shirt so it looked like he worked there, he had no shoes on and smelt of BO, not someone that i wanted left in our room or professional!
The Owner, well really dont know where to start, he needs to go and have a HUGE lesson in Customer Service, he was rude to my mother on several occasions and had from 8.30am one morning to go in and fix our TV, on our return at 4.30pm he had not been into the room, when going to the office to talk to him, he was rude again and said he was too busy cleaning rooms and he made out that was more important that his current guests, us!
ALso the owner said he doesnt expect his staff to work on Public Holidays! Something that puzzled me, all i could think was that he didnt want to pay time and a half.
On firstly refusing to give our money back, he then refunded our money, for our last night and we went and stayed at the Top 10 Holiday Park, to anyone that reads this, go there! It is cleaner, the staff know customer service and the facilites are miles ahead and there is next to no price difference!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BezKnees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ccrotorua, Manager at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua, responded to this review, 2 June 2009
Cosy Cottage provides in excess of 40,000 guest bed nights each year. There are occasions when things do go wrong. Guest surveys and customer feedback generally show that we have got it right! Aggrieved customers like to let us know when we have got it wrong! Whilst there are two sides to every story, we have noted our customer’s unhappiness and make every effort to rectify the identified problems.
Cosy Cottage continues to strive to provide customers with an excellent experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2008

We booked what they call a "self-contained tourist flat" to sleep four adults (two couples). It was self-catering, and has two small bedrooms, along with a bathroom and an open-plan living room/kitchen. We paid NZD$121 per night. We found it to be basic but very adequate. We were able to park our rental car right outside the motel unit. There is a lakeside beach very close by (easy walk), which was nice. Also heated pools available at no extra cost. We used the motel as a base for seeing Rotorua, and would recommend it to anyone on a budget who wants a convenient base.

  • Liked — Good value
  • Disliked — Nothing really, just quite basic
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earthwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2006

Stayed in this campsite for 4 nights whilst traveling in N.Z I really enjoyed the hot pools which were all free and thought the hungi cooker was a really good idea . This campsite had a nice location but i found the 1 member of staff i ever saw to be quite rude . To all people in camper vans i will say be very careful whilst leaving the van for a night as we got broken into whilst staying on this campsite while we went to a maori evening it did kind of spoil roturoa for us . we found staff to be unhelpful in dealing with this matter so please be careful I know we were not the only ones to be broken into so watch your belongings .

other than that It was relativly cheap and close to most things hope this helps anyone tthinking of going there .

  • Liked — free hot pools and the location
  • Disliked — unsecure , staff was rude , unsafe , dated amenities
  • Tips/Secrets — please be careful about being broken into at this campsite
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jetsetter06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
1.5 mi away
Fairy Springs Motel
Fairy Springs Motel
#45 of 92 in Rotorua
93 reviews
2.4 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#67 of 92 in Rotorua
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
New Castle Motor Lodge
New Castle Motor Lodge
#41 of 92 in Rotorua
193 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fenton Court Motel
Fenton Court Motel
#38 of 92 in Rotorua
213 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua

Property: Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Address: 67 Whittaker Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We specialize in providing affordable accommodation in Rotorua, like our “world famous” heated camping sites, powered campervan sites, and of course our namesake, cosy cottages. While you’re here we have plenty to keep you relaxed, soak in our geothermal hot pools, cook from our Thermal Steam Cooker to walks to the Rotorua lakeshore, where you can dig your own hotpools at the beach. Explore the natural geothermal area around and within the holiday park and meet some of the friendly wildlife that share these grounds with us. All without hearing traffic noise or sulphur smell but within a 20 minute walk to the city. Our staff are all well versed in the local attractions and can help you get the most out of your stay in with us while in Rotorua. Cosy Cottage is now under new Ownership and Management. We welcome you to come and Stay, from the team at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosy Cottage International Holiday Park Hotel Rotorua
Cosy Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing