We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Location, remote, average facilities & service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay
Ranked #80 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Location, remote, average facilities & service”
Reviewed 3 January 2010

With our family and a large group of friends to spend the new year's eve in Rotorua. A 15-20 drive to the main area of Rotorua. The hotel is set right on the lake front and it is a lovely setting. There are limited water sports, 1 restaurant/bar, pool (heat pump broken so it was freezing), spa and garden areas.
We found the bar/restaurant area very disappointing for choice for food and lack of service was the general opinion in our group. There was no new year eves functions planned. When we arrived at the bar - there was no service and when we did get the staff to get a drink they dissappeared just a quickly - leaving us feeling like an intrusion.
There is no air conditioning in the small rooms. They are well designed though and most rooms have a view of the lake. The rooms are clean & quiet - no overally modern but adequate.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemizfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    18
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
8
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

A spur of the moment getaway with my husband saw us book two nights at the Duxton and we were absolutely delighted with our choice. Lovely, serene setting (even in the middle of NZ winter) on the shores of Lake Rotoiti. The rooms were extremely clean, well appointed and warm. Loved the bathroom with cosy underfloor heating, deep bath for luxuriating in piping hot water whilst sipping a lovely chilled glass of wine. We eat at the restaurant for dinner and were pleasantly surprised at the value for money (comparable to Auckland prices) and the food was exquisite. After dinner we relaxed on large leather sofas in front of a roaring fire set in a riverstone wall. Breakfast was also great and although seemly expensive (at NZD27) for a cooked breakfast, this did include the continental selection of cereals, fruits, pastries, yoghurts, cheeses and small goods as well which my husband was delighted with. The staff were friendly, helpful and unintrusive. I would thoroughly recommend coming here if you dont' mind being 15mins out of the 'hustle and bustle' of downtown Rotorua.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benson45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2009

We had a lovely night at the Duxton. The room was great, we were upgraded on arrival which was a fantastic. Staff were friendly. The meal that we had booked as part of the package was excellent, the view over the lake very pretty, the open fire in the restaurant welcoming, breakfast the follwoing morning also part of the package was great. The hotel was very quiet, we were there on a Sunday night. Being a little out of Rotorua it escapes the distictive smells of the area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lea63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Do not stay here if you want to sleep. The rooms are ok food overpriced view very pretty too. However the room was so so noisy you could not sleep. I tried calling to get help a midnight and no one answered I went to reception and the night manager was ASLEEP. I was moved to another room which was quiet but the bloody hotel was empty. Why put so many people on top of each other??? Also restaurant service was extremely poor.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andyj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

pferg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2009

I only stayed for 1 night here but I thought it was beautifully situated in between lakes Rotorua and Rotoiti. The garden view room was amazing, enormous bed and I loved the flow with the bathroom. The fact they have a plunger in full view and charge for $4 for plunger coffee was a bit mean but amenities were nice. One of the front desk staff was particularly unfriendly, to the point where he looked at us as if we were out of place but the others were very nice.

The hotel is in a picturesque location and aside from the duck poo all over the lawn it is a nice place to walk around. One thing lacking is a games room - ie. pool table. But overall a lovely place to stay. We did not eat here so can't comment on the value of meals etc.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2008

We did not stay at the Duxton but dined there one evening and I can safely say I have never had such poor service.

The person that greeted us was grumpy - and we had to wait 40 mins before we were even offered a drink. At one point the service was so bad that my husband had to get up and go and get a jug of water himself and offer it to other guests. Food was very average .

Very unpleasant experience - I am not usually one to complain either!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FraterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2008

Stayed one night recently at the Duxton, purchasing a 'Romeo and Juliet' package. This was around the $450 NZ value, so not cheap. This included Dinner, Breakfast and a welcoming bottle of Champagne and chocolates. The hotel is tired and needs a thorough dry cleaning. The musty smell was overpowering throughout the hotel. The service as poor. The bar was unattended when I went to purchase a drink, I had to go to reception to summon a bartender. She being busy in the empty dining room, I was given my drink and told to take bill to reception. This was an omen for dinner. Dinner was included for 2 and I was later to find out it was limited to $100 value. Only 3 courses were stated in the package. Desert was served first followed by disgraceful entree and main. Worst meal ever eaten in a hotel. Champage was delivered warm, when asked for a cold bottle - they had none. One mistake after another. Breakfast was average at best with limited choices. Grounds are satisfactory and setting is pleasant on the lake. This is a 3 star hotel at best, choose elsewhere.

  • Liked — Lake views
  • Disliked — Service, food and accommodation.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Porkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
7.2 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
6.1 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#44 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#15 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
9.1 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#22 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay

Property: Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay
Address: 366 State Highway 33, Mourea, Rotorua 3074, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing