We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rotorua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay
Ranked #76 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 9 December 2006

This hotel is a 10 minute drive from cental Rotorua, but is in a great location. It is lovely and quiet, and has lovely views over the lake. The staff were friendly and helpful (we found this every where we went in New Zealand) and the hotel itself was very quiet. We ate in the restaurant and this was very quiet too - the only negative I would have is that the restaurant lacked a bit of "atmosphere". The food was good though.

The room itself was clean and not a bad size.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Vicky-Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2006

What a fantastic hotel!
Everything about this hotel is "top notch". Beutiful setting, Elegant room, Food to die for and staff that are commited to there guests!
With very few rooms this hotel is as though you are in a private luxury lodge at half the price!! Definitely recommend there new gymnasium and there restaurant "The Grill". You can even hire a bike or pedal boat to enjoy the attractive area around you. Only let down is the main entrance to the hotel which is a little run down although it does look as though they are working on it. Driveway ha bit old and you may get a bit lost as to where to park as the paint is fading a bit! But once you step inside there beutiful lobby your immediately in a new place!! Good on ya Duxton!!!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Toby05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2006

After reading the rave reviews of fellow travellers, I had great expectations regarding this hotel.
It is true: the location is unbeatable. Staff is friendly, and I liked the little extras like bedtime candy. However, for a better class hotel, the bedding and especially the linen were substandard. The mattress was worn and soft like a hammock. The linen was so thin, you could see right through to the striped mattress liner.

Another point of disappointment – though a common denominator in many hotels – were the non-existent internal noise reduction measures. Every time someone walked along the corridor, I could hear the entire conversation. In a word: a nice hotel by day, but nothing for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ubus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2006

Just returned from one night stay at this hotel. Although this is about 15 minutes out of Rotorua, it is in a gorgeous location beside Lake Rotoiti. Rooms are smallish, but luxuriously furnished - even get a lake view from the bathtub! Lots of extra amenities and the most comfortable beds ever - fantastic. Only minuses - the hotel pool is not in a very good location (right by reception and the bar) and is only barely lukewarm. Was not tempted to use it. Staff professional but not overly friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kiweka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2006

Stayed in this hotel for three nights during our NZ tour. It was terrific, lovely room which was well kept, delicious meals including a cracking breakfast plus taff who were attentive and friendly at all times. Our trip included some excellent hotels which were credit to NZ but the Duxton was special for us because of the location, quaility and level of service. Well done Duxton.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2006

Great place to say. Very relaxing. Rooms were very tidy. Hotel is 15 k's out of Rotorua town but dont let that put you off. Great restaurent. The food is beautiful. Great desserts, and service with a smile.

Stayed one night in a King room with lake view and then upgraded to a Suite for the next night. The King room is a bit small but no complaints really. heated floors. Great french doors between the bath and the room, so you can soak in the tub and open the screen doors and have a nice view of the lake from inside the bathroom - its brilliant.

The suites are on the ground floor. Very spacious. Nice lounge with dining table and 4 chairs, coffee and tea making facilities. Bit bathroom with spa bath and heated floors, seperate bedroom with king size bed and walk in closet to store your luggage. The suites have doors out to their own little patio area with a couple of chairs and table where you can sit and enjoy the views and have a drink and relax.

Definitely recommend this place. Nice and clean and private. Nice people and great food.

Stayed: May 2006
3  Thank Jeeviz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2006

This is a great hotel! Very quiet even when full. Definitely get the package with breakfast at the hotel, its wonderful. So is dinner, plan to eat at the hotel at least one night of your stay.

The view of the lake is brilliant and the staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Only drawback, must be known, is that the hotel is a good 15 minutes drive from the town center. Its worth the drive!!

5  Thank traveler888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
15 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#37 of 91 in Rotorua
190 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#50 of 91 in Rotorua
263 reviews
7.2 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#16 of 91 in Rotorua
938 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
7.1 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 91 in Rotorua
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay

Address: 366 State Highway 33, Mourea, Rotorua 3074, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £95 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing