We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location...hotel just OK!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay
Ranked #78 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 13 March 2007

We stayed at the Duxton hotel for 2 nights. Overall we were very indifferent about the place; the hotel is located approximately 15 minutes drive from the centre of Rotorua which meant that the smell of Sulphur was not as strong as being based centrally in town, though sulphur can still be smelt. The hotel, sits right next to a lovely lake and the views and the setting are lovely. Our room was on the ground floor and we had double doors leading straight out to the garden, meaning that we could sit outside and take in the beautiful views.

The hotel is a very sedate place; there is a swimming pool at the front as enter reception. The main entrance to the hotel is very uninspiring, its tired, and could do with sprucing up generally. Having seen the reception we were worried about the rooms, but they were OK, the beds were comfortable, bathroom plain and simple, but the showers weren’t that great and almost dribbled out the water.

The dining room looked a bit stuffy and slightly pretentious so we never ate dinner at the hotel; instead we drove into town for dinner and were never disappointed with the food available. Breakfast at the hotel was OK, I would say stick to the continental option.

All in all an OK stay, nice location, but the hotel needs updating. .

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SheilaAndMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2006

The Duxton is ideally located--it's much quieter and more remote than everything we expected given our readings about Rotorua (or Roto-Vegas, as my friends from New Zealand call it). The setting was lovely--on a beautiful lake, about 10-15 minutes from downtown Rotorua. There is none of the sulfur-tinged smell in the air that you sometimes get in Rotorua.

The room was very clean and neat, and the bathroom was terrific (offering a huge tub for soaking). It was also a large room. Being able to walk out of our sliding glass door onto a gorgeous lake was an added benefit.

The staff was very accomodating (we could get a late lunch in the bar even though we arrived late). It is worth noting that the weekend we were there they hosted a function until quite late--this meant that the dining room was closed for the night (although the hotel was willing to deliver anything from their restaurant menu to our room) and it was a bit noisy (we were aware of the bass from the music) until almost 1 am. Nonetheless, I would certainly prefer to stay here over downtown Rotorua.

Stayed: December 2006
1  Thank nycbc98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2006

This hotel is set off the beaten path about a 15-minute drive out of Rotorua. The location is tranquil, set on a small lake, and would be nice for a couple or family looking for a quiet place to spend some time in the Rotorua area.

While the hotel itself is quite lovely — beware! The standard 'Garden View' rooms (at NZ$ 199 per night) are unpleasantly located adjacent to the hotel's parking lot where tour buses and guests' vehicles are less than a stone's throw away. This meant being awoken at 6am each morning by the sounds of bus engines, car trunk doors opening and slamming shut, and suitcase rollers noisily trundling along asphalt...not what we had in mind when we booked this 'getaway'. We would have been better to stay at one of the many motels along Rotorua's Fenton Street strip for a fraction of the cost. For reference, these rooms end in the numbers 15, 17, 19, 21, 23, 25, and 27. We left a guest comment card addressed to the Manager with the front desk immediately after being awoken the first morning. We were not contacted by anyone to follow-up.

The breakfast each morning was very good, I must say.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank momiji_yuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2006

This hotel is a 10 minute drive from cental Rotorua, but is in a great location. It is lovely and quiet, and has lovely views over the lake. The staff were friendly and helpful (we found this every where we went in New Zealand) and the hotel itself was very quiet. We ate in the restaurant and this was very quiet too - the only negative I would have is that the restaurant lacked a bit of "atmosphere". The food was good though.

The room itself was clean and not a bad size.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Vicky-Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2006

What a fantastic hotel!
Everything about this hotel is "top notch". Beutiful setting, Elegant room, Food to die for and staff that are commited to there guests!
With very few rooms this hotel is as though you are in a private luxury lodge at half the price!! Definitely recommend there new gymnasium and there restaurant "The Grill". You can even hire a bike or pedal boat to enjoy the attractive area around you. Only let down is the main entrance to the hotel which is a little run down although it does look as though they are working on it. Driveway ha bit old and you may get a bit lost as to where to park as the paint is fading a bit! But once you step inside there beutiful lobby your immediately in a new place!! Good on ya Duxton!!!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Toby05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2006

After reading the rave reviews of fellow travellers, I had great expectations regarding this hotel.
It is true: the location is unbeatable. Staff is friendly, and I liked the little extras like bedtime candy. However, for a better class hotel, the bedding and especially the linen were substandard. The mattress was worn and soft like a hammock. The linen was so thin, you could see right through to the striped mattress liner.

Another point of disappointment – though a common denominator in many hotels – were the non-existent internal noise reduction measures. Every time someone walked along the corridor, I could hear the entire conversation. In a word: a nice hotel by day, but nothing for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ubus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2006

Just returned from one night stay at this hotel. Although this is about 15 minutes out of Rotorua, it is in a gorgeous location beside Lake Rotoiti. Rooms are smallish, but luxuriously furnished - even get a lake view from the bathtub! Lots of extra amenities and the most comfortable beds ever - fantastic. Only minuses - the hotel pool is not in a very good location (right by reception and the bar) and is only barely lukewarm. Was not tempted to use it. Staff professional but not overly friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kiweka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
6.0 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
408 reviews
7.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
8.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#11 of 92 in Rotorua
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Rotorua Lake Resort
VR Rotorua Lake Resort
#29 of 92 in Rotorua
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay

Address: 366 State Highway 33, Mourea, Rotorua 3074, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £55 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing