We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay
Nearby Hotels
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$557
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$471
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedarwood Lakeside(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
14
18
8
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
18
8
4
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2007

Ten minutes from Rotorua Airport, and 20 minutes from downtown Rotorua is the most gorgeous lake in the area and the Duxton has the primo spot on the lakes edge! It's a small hotel, and the second (top) storey has particularly great views. The rooms are small, but nicely furnished and perhaps even over-full, but the bathroom opening up to the room and then on the view of this magic lake setting are worth putting up with tripping over the furniture. Restaurant food is excellent, but service is slow. When the bar was not staffed, a common occurrence, a quick word to the receptionist seemed to work! The grounds are beautiful, and the location is just magic. Overall, we think it's well worth the price, even though it's more expensive than the mostly run-down other hotels in Rotorua, that seem to only be interested in bulk tour-bus business.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mozza47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2007

This hotel is in a beautiful location out of town, past the airport. For those (like us) who were travelling to Rotorua to see the sights but not keen on staying in the bustling (somewhat smelly) town, this is ideal.
The hotel has an air of superiority without pretentiousness. Yes the entrance isn't showy, but it has beautiful stained glass entrance doors depicting a Maori story.
We ate both breakfast and dinner at the hotel and if I had one complaint it would be that the food is a bit overpriced (25$NZ for cooked breakfast), perhaps that is why the dining area was so quiet, as the food was excellent.
Our room was fantastic, on the ground floor, with french windows opening up onto the beautiful lakeside gardens. We were staying in a triple room and there was certainly room to spare for our 2 queen beds and put-you-up bed. As for the bathroom (well, pretty spectacular), with folding shutters opening up into the room, over the deep wide bath, under floor toasty heating, spacious shower, etc.
Every night we stayed we had easter chocolates brought to our room, which was a bonus to my children who were already won over by the giant chess set, trampoline, swimming pool and tennis court in the grounds.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rutilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2007

This is a really lovely hotel for a short break in Rotorua, especially if you have been there before. It is about a 15 minute drive from Rotorua itself.

Yes, the entry way is very understated but it fits in with the environment.

We didn't realise but in the bar/restaurant there was a lovely big fire with some couches around it which would be perfect to enjoy a drink in.

The rooms were on the small side and dominated by a very large wardrobe which seemed a bit un-necessary. There was a very comfortable chair with an ottoman which my husband enjoyed very much.

The bed was a king size and was very comfortable. One of the pillows I had was a bit lumpy but there were plenty in the room so it didn't really worry me.

The bathroom was clean and not very old and had a wonderful deep bath. Only issue was no bath foam or crystals but I made do with the shampoo.

We were on the second storey and our room opened up to a lovely view of a little lake. By the lake is an oversize chess set and a outdoor table and chairs with an umbrella which would be lovely to enjoy a meal at on a warm day.

We had room service for dinner and it was delicious, served quickly and was still piping hot when we received it. There is a smallish round table and two chairs to eat it at so no balancing on your knees while you are eating. The next morning we had the continental breakfast in the restaurant and it was very nice with a really good selection of fruit, cereals and pastries.

The staff were all very nice and attentive without being in your face.

Only complaint was that there was no air conditioning. There was a fan in the room which we discovered upon leaving. We slept with both windows and the door open which was fine. However in summer this wouldn't be possible due to mosquitoes and other flying insects. I know it would be a bit ugly but air-conditioning units would make it a much more pleasant experience inside the room.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lottie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2007

We stayed at the Duxton hotel for 2 nights. Overall we were very indifferent about the place; the hotel is located approximately 15 minutes drive from the centre of Rotorua which meant that the smell of Sulphur was not as strong as being based centrally in town, though sulphur can still be smelt. The hotel, sits right next to a lovely lake and the views and the setting are lovely. Our room was on the ground floor and we had double doors leading straight out to the garden, meaning that we could sit outside and take in the beautiful views.

The hotel is a very sedate place; there is a swimming pool at the front as enter reception. The main entrance to the hotel is very uninspiring, its tired, and could do with sprucing up generally. Having seen the reception we were worried about the rooms, but they were OK, the beds were comfortable, bathroom plain and simple, but the showers weren’t that great and almost dribbled out the water.

The dining room looked a bit stuffy and slightly pretentious so we never ate dinner at the hotel; instead we drove into town for dinner and were never disappointed with the food available. Breakfast at the hotel was OK, I would say stick to the continental option.

All in all an OK stay, nice location, but the hotel needs updating. .

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SheilaAndMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2006

The Duxton is ideally located--it's much quieter and more remote than everything we expected given our readings about Rotorua (or Roto-Vegas, as my friends from New Zealand call it). The setting was lovely--on a beautiful lake, about 10-15 minutes from downtown Rotorua. There is none of the sulfur-tinged smell in the air that you sometimes get in Rotorua.

The room was very clean and neat, and the bathroom was terrific (offering a huge tub for soaking). It was also a large room. Being able to walk out of our sliding glass door onto a gorgeous lake was an added benefit.

The staff was very accomodating (we could get a late lunch in the bar even though we arrived late). It is worth noting that the weekend we were there they hosted a function until quite late--this meant that the dining room was closed for the night (although the hotel was willing to deliver anything from their restaurant menu to our room) and it was a bit noisy (we were aware of the bass from the music) until almost 1 am. Nonetheless, I would certainly prefer to stay here over downtown Rotorua.

Stayed: December 2006
1  Thank nycbc98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews