We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thermal safari”

New Zealand Riverjet
Book In Advance
More Info
US$81.42*
and up
Waikato River Jet Boat Blast
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great combination of info and thrills. The whole family loved the thermal safari. Great way to see oraki korakei and Waikato river. Blast home was just that...an absolute blast.

Thank ausfam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squeeze1, Manager at New Zealand Riverjet, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thanks so much for your review. We're glad your family had such a blast with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"waikato river"
in 55 reviews
"jet boat"
in 110 reviews
"thermal safari"
in 29 reviews
"orakei korako"
in 32 reviews
"warm waterfall"
in 14 reviews
"degree spins"
in 8 reviews
"guide jeremy"
in 7 reviews
"fun jet"
in 6 reviews
"fast ride"
in 6 reviews
"new zealand"
in 51 reviews
"driving skills"
in 5 reviews
"great fun"
in 35 reviews
"great trip"
in 18 reviews
"life jackets"
in 5 reviews
"thrilling ride"
in 5 reviews
"unique experience"
in 17 reviews
"great guide"
in 15 reviews
Filter

409 - 413 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had a great day. Our guide, Adam, took us on the thermal safari. We went down to Orakei Korako Geothermal park on the jet boat. We had mostly a leisurely trip down with some fast bits thrown in for fun with information about the area, we then walked around the thermal park and jet boated back. Our 10 year old son loved it. I think it took about an hour to get to the thermal park, 45 mins/hour there and then we jet boated back for half an hour. The whole thing took about 2.30 - 3.00 hours.
I notice someone has said this is an expensive trip but if you do the thermal trip, the actual park fee is quite a lot. The Squeeze is cheaper than the thermal trip as you don't have to pay any entry fees. For us (English), New Zealand is very expensive. This trip was fun, good friendly guide (Adam) and we all really enjoyed it. Adam really tried to make sure that our son was having a great time and he did!

Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squeeze1, Manager at New Zealand Riverjet, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hi Karen,
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your trip down the mighty Waikato with us to Orakei Korako. Adam will be thrilled to receive this feedback. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in NZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

For this eye wateringly high fee, I would have expected more. The boat sailed slowly up the river for an hour (even the guide said this was for 'economy') before parking up at a geothermal attraction for an hour while we were left to our own devices. (Guided tour would have been nice!). After that, we had a 12 minute fast trip back which was significantly underwhelming. I have been on fast boat trips across the world, from the UK to Spain and New York - this was the slowest and least exhilarating, and also by far the most expensive.

Thank WorldTraveller25252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squeeze1, Manager at New Zealand Riverjet, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Hi James,
We're sorry you felt that way about our tour. I see that you visited us on the 18th of March. We are the only company that offers a 100% money back guarantee if you did not enjoy your trip. If you had of mentioned something at the time we could have arranged this for you. I see you booked on-line via our website. The details of our tours on our website explain our tours include a guided scenic tour down the Waikato River in our jet boat, a self guided tour through Orakei Korako and on return a thrill ride. I checked the radio records between our driver and base and it would seem we logged your return trip at 26 minutes which included 12 spins.
If you compare what you paid with us, $149pp and other jet boat companies that charge $115pp for a 35 minute tour, I would say for the extra $34 you paid which gave you an extra 115 minutes, a guided scenic tour, a geothermal experience and also a thrill ride home, you got bang for buck. If you would like to discuss this further please contact me via email on sales@riverjet.co.nz.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in our beautiful country New Zealand, land of the long white cloud.

Kind Regards

Charis Marriner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had the most amazing day!
This was our best experience whilst we were in NZ
Adam was a great host and we just loved listening to the history of the area and of course enjoyed the 'speed' of the jet boat
A MUST to do whilst visiting Rotorua

Thank 25LOU58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squeeze1, Manager at New Zealand Riverjet, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you for your review. The photo' look awesome :) Looks like you picked a perfect day to join us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

So so amazing!! If you are looking for a natural hot spring in the nature this is it plus you get a awesome jet boat ride! We are so glad that we choose this instead of the huka falls jet!!
From DK

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squeeze1, Manager at New Zealand Riverjet, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you for your review!! We're so glad you had such a great time with us. We're also happy you didn't go to Huka Falls Jet and decided to do our tour instead :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Zealand Riverjet also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to New Zealand Riverjet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing