We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aywon Motel(Rotorua)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (509)
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveller rating
341
139
26
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
139
26
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini golfspa bathmilk and cookiestennis courtsheated poolunderfloor heatingstayed in a bedroom apartmentfenton streetfree dvdsdvd libraryhuge bathroommountain bikesprivate courtyardbbq areagreat facilitiesschool holidaysheat pump
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
359 - 364 of 509 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Can't fault this place, had everything. I imagine it would be an awesome place for families. We, a couple, found it just great, fantastic room, huge bathroom and really clean, Oh and the bed was wonderful.

Great hosts, very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiedreamer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed at Regal Palms for 2 nights with our two kids aged 3 and 6 and had a wonderful stay. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was lovely and spacious with a great spa bath. The apartment is lovely and modern and clean. We spent alot of time in the pool and playing mini-golf onsite which our two boys loved. Great service and would highly recommend for anyone travelling with children.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank summerdaze36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Clean, large, well equipped rooms. Excellent heated pool area with barbecues and a guest laundry. The only downside for us was that you had to pay for internet access and it is a tidy walk to the centre of town which some people might not like but we would definitely visit it again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnimalAntics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Not sure about 5 Star, but nothing to complain about and much to commend. Family suite had two bathrooms, spa bath and three TV's! Rooms are clean, plenty of towels and comfort features. Not to mention the tennis court, mini golf and sauna.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DogDayDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We travelled to Rotorua on an whim so we didn’t have a booking or knew anything about the hotels in the area. We saw Regal Palms and we thought it looked nice so we decided to stay for a couple of nights. We really enjoyed the place. Yes, as other reviewers have mentioned, it obviously used to be a motor lodge, but so what? It was very nicely polished and the rooms were of a very good standard. Far better, nicer, cleaner, etc than any motor lodge I’ve stayed at.

Some minor issues, the pool could do with a bit of a revamp – some tiles chipped/missing, and on close inspection, pool looks a bit tired. Same with the mini-golf court (would be nice if they would remove all the broken putts). Also, the woman at reception that checked us in was a bit.. bland for a lack of a better word. Not really smiling or happy that we decided to stay with them and $400 in their pocket. But the gentleman that handled our checkout was great! Very friendly and helpful.

So despite some tiny hiccups, overall still a good place. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanaGSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross M, Manager at Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Thank you for your feedback which is much appreciated. In response to the issues you mention we had the pool contractor here early summer to address the problems you have noted - we are actually going to resurface the whole pool and add new tiles where needed but because the pool will be out of action for at least two weeks we decided to book the job for mid March, hoping to inconvenience fewer guests at that time of year
As for the mini golf we have laid new outdoor carpet just 12 months ago so I presume you mean the actual putters themselves which do get a hammering during the holiday season and are replaced regularly
I have been in this industry over 15 years now and I must say the owners here at Regal Palms are more committed to maintaining/upgrading their property than anyone else we have worked for
Thanks again
Regards
Ross - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews