We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We hadn't pre booked any accomodation in Rotorua, so after a few phone calls to various motels we finally got a suite at the Regal palms. There were 4 adults and we were very comfortable, and it was very clean. Plenty of fresh towels everyday and a wonderful spa bath. Didn't use BBQ because of rain, which was a shame. Although a bit out of town I would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

My family and I stayed one night in the Regal Palms, the last stop on our tour of NZ and the most expensive. $350 + for the night. Compared to the rest of the motels we stayed in throughout NZ this was well below par.
Average standard of house keeping, while I was looking for a lost babies pacifier I found a multitude of lost and forgotten 'THINGS' under the couch in the living room. Any of these could have choked our baby if he had swallowed them
Average standard of comfort for the beds, the main bedrooms bed was like a slab of rock, and the pillows were of equal hardness. The beds in the second room were of the same condition.
Average entertainment system, our TV and SKY combination was very temperamental. It worked only sometimes and the directions to ' turn it on' were brief and not very clear.
This accommodation was supposed to be our luxury stay for our daughters birthday, she loved the spa bath. We couldn't see where the 5 STARS were earned or the NZ Tourist Award that is painted across their fence.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross M, Manager at Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

We are sorry to hear you were not happy with your stay . Obviously you stayed in one of our large 2 bedroom apartments at $350. Firstly I must apologize for the items under the couch which is dissapointing but we do place cleanliness as a high priority and do normally get many compliments on the cleanliness of the complex.
In my 3 and 1/2 years here you are the first guest to label our beds like a slab of rock as they are
a top of the line commercial brand and we have in fact had a number of guests ask for the details
as they wish to purchase one similar. I do remember from a survey we did at an earlier motel that
one guest would say a bed was too hard and the very next day another guest would label the same bed too soft so this tells us we will not get it right for everyone.
As far as the TV and Sky are concerned , both are almost brand new and we feel we are offering
more than many others with 50+ channels to view. As for being temperamental we have had no problems since your stay and wish you had voiced your concern at the time as it seems like it could have been easily sorted.
I found your comments rather harsh and I would have to say that in my 18 years of motelling I have not seen a motel that has the facilities we have here - heated swimming pool, sauna, gym,
mini golf & tennis . The owners are very proud of their complex and spend a lot on it's upkeep and for us it is a pleasure to manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

The staff were very nice from the time we checked in and we received a free upgrade to a very nice, clean and comfortable 2 bedroom suite. We were very impressed with our stay! We were within walking distance to shops and found our room to be very quiet in the evening.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom apartment next to the tennis courts is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiandraW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Well when we went too our room, it was lovely and clean, had everything you need in there, also there was a spa pool in the room which was a nice touch. They also had underfloor heating in the bathroom which was a nice touch as well.
The place has a lovely playground for children, and also a heated pool, which was heated to 29 degrees, I would have loved too have tested it out but the were a few children in there at the time.
They are on the main drag of rotoura, but you will need a car to go into town as it is a little far for a walk.
Over all it was a lovely place too stay, putty I was only there for the night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharyn64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Could not have been a nicer spot and location.
The room was big, clean and very well appointed.
I would stay here again!
Great spot for the entire family. Nice pool and golf for the little ones.
Free Internet in the lobby and very friendly management.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed two nights and found the accommodation extremely clean and well maintained - even the communal laundry was nice. Heated pool and a playground and mini-golf course. It is on busy Fenton street and quite far from the main bit of town so you would need a car. Wireless internet service was reasonable too.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from Fenton Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SydneyFamily0fFIve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed here for just 2 days in December 2012 and booked 2 adjoining rooms as there were 7 of us travelling including teenagers and young children. The rooms were lovely and cleaned daily. Equipped with everything you need. Spa bath lovely too. It was well located to get to all the local attractions. We didn't get a chance to use the small pool or mini-golf although the little kids were keen to do so -they looked small but well maintained and had we been here for longer I imagine would have been useful to accommodate the kids for time while you were preparing a lunch or tea. I also noted when leaving that there was a lovely little lounge area in the reception if you wanted to chill out for a while away from others. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
746 reviews
1.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#9 of 92 in Rotorua
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort

Address: 350 Fenton Street | Corner Ward Avenue, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Regal Palms Motor Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#8 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#20 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £98 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REGAL PALMS AND THE ART of HOSPITALITY Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort is located in the heart of Rotorua - New Zealand's geothermal wonderland. Here you'll find a great range of high quality accommodation options, exceptional facilities and unsurpassed hospitality. Luxury Rotorua Accommodation: Our modern and well-equipped range of superior suites and apartments make an ideal Rotorua accommodation option for couples, families, corporates and groups. Every suite and apartment has a great range of features, including a luxurious spa pool - perfect to sink into at the end of the day. Superb on-site Facilities: Be sure to make the most of the exceptional on-site facilities at Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort. Whether you want to relax with a drink in the cosy Guest Lounge, or you're up for something more active on the tennis court, in our heated swimming pool or on one of our free bicycles exploring the city - there's something for everyone here! Conference Facilities: Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort is the perfect location for your upcoming business meeting or conference. We have a range of conference packages to suit all small meetings (up to 20 persons) Packages & Promotions: Check out our Rotorua accommodation packages and promotions to make sure you're getting the best deal when you stay with us! True Kiwi Hospitality At Regal Palms, we understand that hospitality is an art that embraces service, attitude and respect for the individual needs of every guest - you can expect the same high level of customer service every time you stay with us. Warm Regards, Ross, Annie and the team at Regal Palms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Palms 5 Star City Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing